We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River
Ranked #28 of 39 Hotels in Seaside Heights
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 12 August 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Charlee for several days and it was a real pleasure. The staff was friendly and helpful. Greg and Kevin printed directions to everywhere I wanted to go. The location was great, just a few steps from the boardwalk, convenience store, laundry.
The renovations gave you a real sense of fresh and clean when you entered the room. The room was real cool when we arrived, the air conditioner was so quite you could not hear it running.The housekeepers cleaned the room every day, gave us clean towels and did a wonderful job. No complaints.

The pool was really nice, cleaned everyday. Grills at pool area with picnic table was an added plus.
I will definitely be back next year.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor, and we had no noise complaints at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathy_hower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-Relations08751, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Our staff was very excited to see that you really enjoyed your stay. Their efforts are focused on our guests and we will continue to be the most excellent choice for a visit to Seaside Heights! Hope you had a safe trip home! :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2013

From check in through check out I enjoyed it. It was way above my expectations. I would recommend this hotel to anyone going to seasides heights and would definitely stay there again. It was a great location. Walking distance to the boardwalk and convenience store. The pool was excellent. I can't find anything to complain about !

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MariaLab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-Relations08751, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind words about our hotel and staff. We have hundreds of guests who experience a similar, excellent stay at our hotel. We look forward to your next visit. Our staff are ready to help you enjoy your visit to Seaside Heights!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

look at my review for boardwalk seaport inn over memorial day weekend. the hotel itself was very very average. it was pretty clean. the fridge was a freezer and they don't provide cleaning service until after your stay. it's well priced for teenagers looking to get away for a day or two.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
Thank coheno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-Relations08751, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your support after the major storm. When you were visiting, many of our staff members were still assisting us in other locations to get our hotels ready for our guests. Our staff are back to their normal duties and their help in restoring the shore was much appreciated. We also appreciated your visit so early in the season! On your next visit, we will earn a better rating.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We stayed at the Sands last year, and even wrote a review recommending for everyone to stay there. Upon returning back this year, my boyfriend and I saw that it was under new management. We got to our room, "room 1", and it basically looked like a remodeled bathroom. The floor was covered in white tiles, no carpeting, and you could barely open and close the door all the way in the actual bathroom, which was smaller than the bathrooms seen on cruise ships. Not to mention, the room was set at about 100 degrees. We quickly went to complain about that because the air conditioning wasn't working no matter what we did. All we wanted to do was relax on out first day on vacation, but instead we had to sit in a 100 degree remodeled bathroom for an hour while they attempted to fix the air conditioning. After an hour, we were absolutely fed up and went to the front desk. We stated that we were upset with the condition of the room, so you know what they did? They offered us a FAN. Why would we want that? To blow the hot air around room? We're just a young couple in our twenties and they thought they could put us in a disgusting room and that we would just deal with it. I had just about had enough. The manager could tell I was beyond angry, so he finally offered us a new room, which is what any other place would've done an hour prior to that. The next room was much nicer, IT HAD CARPET, and the air conditioner worked. However, when we would go to the beach during the day, we would come back to our room smelling like cigarette smoke, specifically the bathroom. So I guess whoever cleaned it, took a smoke break in the bathroom while doing so. They didn't restock the toilet paper, we had to physically walk downstairs to the desk to ask for some. One day we got a small stain on our sheets at the top of our bed. After coming back to the room, we saw that we were not given NEW sheets, they just turned the stain to the foot of the bed thinking we may not notice. I have never been so disgusted.

We decided to come back since our stay last year was so nice. That ended up being a bad mistake. The only good thing was the close proximity to the beach/boardwalk. But that doesn't even make it a reason to stay. The poor old managers would die if they saw what was going on here.

Room Tip: Do NOT accept room one!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Casey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-Relations08751, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2013

Dear Guest,

We understand you had some issues during your stay. Your stay was before our renovations even began with the hotel and so the rooms you are describing were not yet upgraded. The issues you mentioned about cleanliness have been forwarded to our housekeeping staff to prevent missteps such as your experience. Give us a try, we are much better!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

My family and I were looking for lodge on memorial day weekend- and were happy to find something two short blocks from the Seaside Boardwalk and a fair price (considering the time). It's basically a remodoled home. Clean, I guess (but arent they supposed to be?) - but so small you can't breathe and time and time again the owners would warn that "if we didnt like noise, we came the wrong weekend". I just didn't appreciate the way we were treated, almost as if they were doing us a favor. Maybe they're nice to locals, but it was a bad experience all together. Would never stay there again.

Room Tip: Two beds are really one Full size, there's really no difference in the rooms, they are all tiny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goldenbluize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-Relations08751, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2013

Dear Guest,

We are glad you found your accommodations very clean (and yes we put in great efforts to maintain that). As far as the noise and visitors, Memorial Day Weekend is the official start of summer for most people, and their energy really shows. We do hope you do feel much more welcome on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

I booked this place with not much research because it was a last minute get away. Big mistake! (should have known because they didnt even have a portable crib for our 10month old) We got to our room and there was no toilet paper (not even the empty roll) so I go down to the office (cause there's no phone in the room) and the staff do not even apologize. I return and then notice there's no wash cloths or hand towels. The floor didn't look vacuumed and the bed made my husband's and my body hurt so bad that we would have probably had a better night sleeping in our car! The second day we come back to the room, they didnt take our towels off the floor, didnt give us back the same number of towels (one wash cloth and towel) and the same dirt and debris was on the floor so obviously they didnt vacuum! and to add, the wifi didn't work!

We were supposed to stay 3 nights but the second night there was such a rediculous party with screaming girls, marijuana and underage drinking, that my husband went out to tell them to be quiet and go to the office to complain. After hours of the cameras watching, nothing was done until my husband went down. That is finally when the 6 police cars and ambulance showed and were there for an hour and a half! Then when they were gone the party started again and nothing else was done (probably why there's no phones in the room) I went out to yell at them too...what happened to security?

I complained and tol them i would not be staying another night endangering my son with pot smoke. We went right across the street. They had MUCH better accommodations! Better pool, kiddie pool, sand box, game room, free breakfast, portable cribs, comfy beds, in room phones, a vacuumed floor, etc.....stay at this motel, not the Sands motel!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sambas1018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-Relations08751, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2013

Dear Traveller,

We understand that your stay was interrupted by other guests and visitors. We contacted local authorities after our efforts and courteous staff were not able to resolve the issues you stated. Our new staff are excellent with their efforts. Give us a try, we will be much better!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Stayed here last year labor day and came back this year. Hotel is under new management and it is TERRIBLE. We checked in to our room... hair in drain, wet towels from previous guest and stained old sheets. We complained and were moved for the night and told we would have to move back to the original room the next night. Rechecked in the following day and the room was still never cleaned from the previous guest. We complained and said we would like a refund. Was told that the best they could do was credit half our stay and would clean the room. There is no cleaning crew except a bunch of kids who take out the trash and vacuum. Completely unsanitary and a party motel. Guests were all partying and using drugs in the common areas throughout the night. Felt unsafe and uncomfortable the entire time. DO NOT STAY HERE! This place should be put out of business. New management is a complete disgrace.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jennifer d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-Relations08751, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2013

Dear Guest,

We understand that our cleaning staff did not deliver on our high standards. We have since made changes to the cleaning staff to ensure this experience is not repeated. We will love to earn a better rating on a future visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seaside Heights hotels
0.4 mi away
Sea Palace Motel
Sea Palace Motel
#14 of 39 in Seaside Heights
32 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunset Motel
Sunset Motel
#8 of 39 in Seaside Heights
60 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palm Villa Suites Hotel
Palm Villa Suites Hotel
#22 of 39 in Seaside Heights
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sea Palace Inn
Sea Palace Inn
#17 of 39 in Seaside Heights
63 reviews
0.2 mi away
Belmont Motel
Belmont Motel
#20 of 39 in Seaside Heights
332 reviews
0.2 mi away
Boardwalk Hotel Charlee & Apartments
Boardwalk Hotel Charlee & Apartm...
#25 of 39 in Seaside Heights
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River

Address: 1402 Boulevard, One block from the Beach / Boardwalk, Seaside Heights, NJ 08751-1914 (Formerly Hotel Charlee)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Seaside Heights
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Seaside Heights
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Seaside Heights
Price Range: £47 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River, is supported by a staff of people interested in one objective: a great experience. The hotel's guest-rooms are designed to feel modern, comfortable, and functional. Simply Easy to Relax. The Jersey Shore can be enjoyed in many ways. Whether you decide to stroll a short block to the boardwalk and beach, or use the hotel's pool and iCenter, you will enjoy your relaxing time. Parking on-site or nearby? Yep, limited amount. Wi-Fi? Of course! Restaurants and Stores nearby? Gotcha covered. Nightlife? Closeby, but won't disturb your sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River NJ - Jersey Shore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing