We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Ready Yet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River
Ranked #23 of 39 Hotels in Seaside Heights
GreenLeadersSilver level
Brooklyn
Level Contributor
142 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Not Ready Yet”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

I was excited to visit Seaside Heights to support the businesses that are coming back from Super Storm Sandy, but Hotel Charlee only looks ready on the outside. When you walk up, it looks colorful and fresh and modern, but our room was in a state of mild distress. The bathroom was a DIY mess with tiles that didn't go all the way to the walls or connect to each other in all spots; the shower floor was grubby; the television didn't work. The place was very close to the beach, though, so it had that going for it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anisoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-Relations08751, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing about our hotel. We understand you had some minor issues. Our hardworking staff would have loved to assist you with those issues. We will continue improving our hotel during this off season so our guests will enjoy the hotel even more on your next visit! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    18
    7
    5
    19
See reviews for
22
20
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
jc
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

PROS;
- enjoyable stay
- we arrived a little late for check in which wasn't a problem at all
- was given the opportunity to upgrade our room to a bigger room for a few bucks extra.
- staff/front desk was friendly
- room was very modern & clean
- beds were comfortable
- walking distance to boardwalk/beach

CON;
- AC didn't blow as cold as we like, but it was okay

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jess r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-Relations08751, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review about our excellent hotel. Our staff work hard to have our guests enjoy as much as possible and we are glad you did. We will look into the issue with the weak A/C so you will have an even better stay for your next visit. See you again soon! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We weren't to sure what to expect when booking this hotel for our trip to Seaside Heights, but we were pleasantly surprised. We arrived around 11:30 which was too early to check in, but the front desk allowed us to park our vehicle in the parking lot while we went to the beach, which was very nice!
The hotel had a great location a short walk to the beach/boardwalk. It was only two blocks away which was very convenient. Also, there was a CVS a block down the road and various other stores (7-11, a bar, and a few restaurant/delis.). Everything was in walking distance another added bonus for going out at night.
The hotel room itself was very clean. It was freshly painted and had new furniture and tv. It was equipped with an AC unit, it served its purpose, but did not keep the room very cool. The refrigerator worked great and kept our things cold. The front desk staff and house cleaning workers were all very friendly and accommodating.
Overall, this was the best place to stay for the money and location. We will definitely be back next year!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristy3518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-Relations08751, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Our staff are so happy to see all their efforts appreciated by our guests such as yourself. It was a real pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again very soon! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lebanon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Charlee for several days and it was a real pleasure. The staff was friendly and helpful. Greg and Kevin printed directions to everywhere I wanted to go. The location was great, just a few steps from the boardwalk, convenience store, laundry.
The renovations gave you a real sense of fresh and clean when you entered the room. The room was real cool when we arrived, the air conditioner was so quite you could not hear it running.The housekeepers cleaned the room every day, gave us clean towels and did a wonderful job. No complaints.

The pool was really nice, cleaned everyday. Grills at pool area with picnic table was an added plus.
I will definitely be back next year.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor, and we had no noise complaints at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathy_hower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-Relations08751, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Our staff was very excited to see that you really enjoyed your stay. Their efforts are focused on our guests and we will continue to be the most excellent choice for a visit to Seaside Heights! Hope you had a safe trip home! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

From check in through check out I enjoyed it. It was way above my expectations. I would recommend this hotel to anyone going to seasides heights and would definitely stay there again. It was a great location. Walking distance to the boardwalk and convenience store. The pool was excellent. I can't find anything to complain about !

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MariaLab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-Relations08751, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind words about our hotel and staff. We have hundreds of guests who experience a similar, excellent stay at our hotel. We look forward to your next visit. Our staff are ready to help you enjoy your visit to Seaside Heights!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Salem, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

look at my review for boardwalk seaport inn over memorial day weekend. the hotel itself was very very average. it was pretty clean. the fridge was a freezer and they don't provide cleaning service until after your stay. it's well priced for teenagers looking to get away for a day or two.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank coheno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-Relations08751, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your support after the major storm. When you were visiting, many of our staff members were still assisting us in other locations to get our hotels ready for our guests. Our staff are back to their normal duties and their help in restoring the shore was much appreciated. We also appreciated your visit so early in the season! On your next visit, we will earn a better rating.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We stayed at the Sands last year, and even wrote a review recommending for everyone to stay there. Upon returning back this year, my boyfriend and I saw that it was under new management. We got to our room, "room 1", and it basically looked like a remodeled bathroom. The floor was covered in white tiles, no carpeting, and you could barely open and close the door all the way in the actual bathroom, which was smaller than the bathrooms seen on cruise ships. Not to mention, the room was set at about 100 degrees. We quickly went to complain about that because the air conditioning wasn't working no matter what we did. All we wanted to do was relax on out first day on vacation, but instead we had to sit in a 100 degree remodeled bathroom for an hour while they attempted to fix the air conditioning. After an hour, we were absolutely fed up and went to the front desk. We stated that we were upset with the condition of the room, so you know what they did? They offered us a FAN. Why would we want that? To blow the hot air around room? We're just a young couple in our twenties and they thought they could put us in a disgusting room and that we would just deal with it. I had just about had enough. The manager could tell I was beyond angry, so he finally offered us a new room, which is what any other place would've done an hour prior to that. The next room was much nicer, IT HAD CARPET, and the air conditioner worked. However, when we would go to the beach during the day, we would come back to our room smelling like cigarette smoke, specifically the bathroom. So I guess whoever cleaned it, took a smoke break in the bathroom while doing so. They didn't restock the toilet paper, we had to physically walk downstairs to the desk to ask for some. One day we got a small stain on our sheets at the top of our bed. After coming back to the room, we saw that we were not given NEW sheets, they just turned the stain to the foot of the bed thinking we may not notice. I have never been so disgusted.

We decided to come back since our stay last year was so nice. That ended up being a bad mistake. The only good thing was the close proximity to the beach/boardwalk. But that doesn't even make it a reason to stay. The poor old managers would die if they saw what was going on here.

Room Tip: Do NOT accept room one!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Casey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-Relations08751, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Dear Guest,

We understand you had some issues during your stay. Your stay was before our renovations even began with the hotel and so the rooms you are describing were not yet upgraded. The issues you mentioned about cleanliness have been forwarded to our housekeeping staff to prevent missteps such as your experience. Give us a try, we are much better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Seaside Heights hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seaside Heights hotels
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Seaside Heights/Toms River
Days Inn Seaside Heights/Toms Ri...
#21 of 39 in Seaside Heights
3.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sea Palace Motel
Sea Palace Motel
#12 of 39 in Seaside Heights
3.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunset Motel
Sunset Motel
#5 of 39 in Seaside Heights
3.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Palm Villa Suites Hotel
Palm Villa Suites Hotel
#19 of 39 in Seaside Heights
3.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.5 mi away
Franklin Terrace Motel
Franklin Terrace Motel
#3 of 39 in Seaside Heights
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.2 mi away
Boardwalk Hotel Charlee & Apartments
Boardwalk Hotel Charlee & Apartm...
#22 of 39 in Seaside Heights
3.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River

Property: Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River
Address: 1402 Boulevard, One block from the Beach / Boardwalk, Seaside Heights, NJ 08751-1914 (Formerly Hotel Charlee)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Seaside Heights
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Seaside Heights
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Seaside Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River, is supported by a staff of people interested in one objective: a great experience. The hotel's guest-rooms are designed to feel modern, comfortable, and functional. Simply Easy to Relax. The Jersey Shore can be enjoyed in many ways. Whether you decide to stroll a short block to the boardwalk and beach, or use the hotel's pool and iCenter, you will enjoy your relaxing time. Parking on-site or nearby? Yep, limited amount. Wi-Fi? Of course! Restaurants and Stores nearby? Gotcha covered. Nightlife? Closeby, but won't disturb your sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River NJ - Jersey Shore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing