We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Clean” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River
Ranked #19 of 39 Hotels in Seaside Heights
GreenLeadersSilver level
Falling Waters, West Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very Clean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

We rented the "family room" that sleeps 6. It was very clean and good for a family. The staff was friendly and it is just a short walk to the beach/boardwalk. My only complaint is that the shower was very small and the shower head wouldn't adjust.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank ABillman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-Relations08751, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your great experience at our hotel. We are so happy that you found the hotel to be comfortable and enjoyable for the entire family. We will look into the shower head issue so your visit will be more enjoyable in the future. Our team are looking forward to seeing your family again very soon!

Best Regards,
Guest Relations - Econo Lodge Seaside Heights / Toms River
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    18
    7
    5
    17
See reviews for
21
19
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

The hotel is a 4min walk to the boardwalk. They let us check in earlier which was perfect because we really wanted to enjoy the beach as most as possible. The room was extremely tiny. We had a double bed and we could barely walk inside the room. Its true that you don't spend much time in the room but in reality the few times we actually were in the room it was extremely uncomfortable to move around. The pool has a decent size and its clean. Also, the parking and the WiFi are both free. The staff was very nice and helpful. No breakfast whatsoever. It has quiet and pleasant atmosphere. Good value for your money. No elevators.

Room Tip: 1st or 2nd floor because it doesn't have an elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PinkTravelSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-Relations08751, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We want to thank you for sharing your great experience at our hotel. We certainly are very close to the beach and have a lovely pool as well as free Wifi and parking! The breakfast part, we are working on developing this in the coming weeks as we are still undergoing upgrades to our operation (changing to a brand). We look forward to your next visit and we can place in you a larger room for better comfort. See you again soon!

Best Regards,
Guest Relations - Econo Lodge Seaside Heights / Toms River
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here so we could see a different part of New Jersey for on night - was a little hesitant after reading some previous reviews. Checkin was smooth and easy and yes the room was tiny, but we don't come on holidays to stay in our room. The location was great a quick walk to the boardwalk but well enough away so you can't hear it. The only one problem was we did have paper thin towels and our hand towel was looked dirty (marks and even was plastering on it), small little things like that make a difference.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dash T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-Relations08751, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience at our hotel. We appreciate that you enjoyed the area and the room for the most part. We do understand that you had an issue with the size of the room and we hope we can provide a larger room for you during your next visit. As per the hand towel, we apologize for the issue with marks on it. We have already spoke to housekeeping about verifying that the hand towels are not damaged. We look forward to your next visit!

Best Regards,
Guest Relations - EconoLodge Seaside Heights / Toms River
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

This Hotel was absolutely a tremendous surprise. Great rooms, the place was updated to the fullest! Like a modern boutique, I truly enjoyed the vibe. If you get a chance check this place out! My stay in Seaside Heights was great, will be traveling there again as soon as I can!

Oh yeah let me add, Housekeeping was phenomenal.

I was very pleasantly surprised with entire experience.

Room Tip: My family really enjoyed the spacious 2 bedroom suite, it was HUGE!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank supiverson2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-Relations08751, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful experience. We appreciate you sharing and look forward to your future visit!

Best Regards,
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jc
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

Everything was updated - room wise
Outside still had construction going on
Comfortable beds
Not far from boardwalk or food places
Few blocks from seven eleven
Clean pool
Friendly manager
New TV
Free wifi
Air condition
Decent size bathroom
Enjoyable stay

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jess r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-Relations08751, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Satisfied Guest,

Thank you for sharing about your wonderful experience at our great hotel! Our staff work hard to keep all the wonderful amenities available for our guests and to help guests have how you so well described as an enjoyable stay. We sincerely appreciate your sharing of a great experience, as so many have, but few will write about!

Best Regards,
Guest Relations - Hotel Charlee Seaside Heights
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaside Heights, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

I stay here at least a few times a month all year round when I go to visit family. I am always taken care of by the very attentive and polite manager during my stay. They are very reasonably priced and provide fresh tea and coffee which is very convenient. I recommend that anyone going to Seaside should stay here and take advantage of the great value and service provided.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iluvursmiles24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-Relations08751, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We are so happy your enjoyed your stay with us. Though we do host so many guests, few take the time to share their great experience. So bravo to you for this, we sincerely appreciate you!

Best Regards,
Guest Relations - Hotel Charlee Seaside Heights
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Boston, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

We Stay here pretty much every year or every time we visit seaside , i love the renovations every thing looks pretty new i highly recommend this place , friendly staff and nice management made feel like home

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kareem B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-Relations08751, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to highlight our excellent stay at our great hotel. Our staff really appreciate your support and look forward to having you stay with us again very soon!

We are dedicated to continually improving our hotel so we may always be an excellent hotel for your stay!

-Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Charlee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seaside Heights hotels
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Seaside Heights/Toms River
Days Inn Seaside Heights/Toms Ri...
#22 of 39 in Seaside Heights
3.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sea Palace Motel
Sea Palace Motel
#12 of 39 in Seaside Heights
3.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.5 mi away
Franklin Terrace Motel
Franklin Terrace Motel
#3 of 39 in Seaside Heights
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bay Breeze Motel
Bay Breeze Motel
#8 of 39 in Seaside Heights
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.2 mi away
Boardwalk Hotel Charlee & Apartments
Boardwalk Hotel Charlee & Apartm...
#23 of 39 in Seaside Heights
3.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.2 mi away
Belmont Motel
Belmont Motel
#14 of 39 in Seaside Heights
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River

Property: Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River
Address: 1402 Boulevard, One block from the Beach / Boardwalk, Seaside Heights, NJ 08751-1914 (Formerly Hotel Charlee)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Seaside Heights
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Seaside Heights
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Seaside Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River, is supported by a staff of people interested in one objective: a great experience. The hotel's guest-rooms are designed to feel modern, comfortable, and functional. Simply Easy to Relax. The Jersey Shore can be enjoyed in many ways. Whether you decide to stroll a short block to the boardwalk and beach, or use the hotel's pool and iCenter, you will enjoy your relaxing time. Parking on-site or nearby? Yep, limited amount. Wi-Fi? Of course! Restaurants and Stores nearby? Gotcha covered. Nightlife? Closeby, but won't disturb your sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River NJ - Jersey Shore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing