We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great rooms, nice view, friendly service!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boardwalk Hotel Charlee & Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Boardwalk Hotel Charlee & Apartments
Ranked #23 of 39 Hotels in Seaside Heights
Jersey City, New Jersey
1 review
“Great rooms, nice view, friendly service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

Just stayed here last weekend with my daughter for Clownfest. For the previous 4 years, we stayed at a different motel but wanted to be closer to the boardwalk this time. Their website looked so good, I decided to try them a try. The outside of the motel could use some work, but I was pleasantly surprised to say that the room looked just as pictured on their website. Very clean bug-free room and clean bathroom as well! Nice new modern paint-job and *NOT* your usual tacky motel flower printed bedspreads and old grimey wall to wall carpet... the bedspreads were much nicer, solid color brown to match the walls and floor was tiled with a simple runner rug. Looked almost as if I walked into a higher end motel. I was very impressed with this motel and we are glad we chose stay here! We definitely want to stay here next year as well!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-Relations08751, Guest Relations Manager at Boardwalk Hotel Charlee & Apartments, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your excellent review of our hotel. We were very happy to have you enjoy your vacation with us. Your comments will motivate us to continue our efforts for our guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    13
    12
    6
    21
See reviews for
24
19
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Binghamton, New York, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

We booked on-line, a room with 2double beds for $85/night in September. We arrived to be told they actually did not have a room available but they booked us at their other hotel, Cranberry Inn, which was 5 blocks away. We expressed displeasure since we booked this hotel to be at the beach since we had our 7year old granddaughter with us. We were told we could look at the room but would not be obligated to take it. We drove the 5blocks away from the boardwalk and looked at the room. It was awful, cinder block walls, narrow dark hallways so we said we would not take the room. To me this was a classic "bait and switch". I am sure we were switched because it was a beautiful weekend and they could get more $ for the hotel on the beach than the $85 we were going to pay. We went to another, lovely, hotel in Seaside Park which was directly on the beach, clean and quiet.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-Relations08751, Guest Relations Manager at Boardwalk Hotel Charlee & Apartments, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Dear Traveller,

We understand that our overbooking at the hotel caused you a major inconvenience. Due to our excellent staff, location, and hotel rooms, we could not prevent the overbooking. We did offer the other hotel as a resolution and we take pride in trying to help our guests, never anything else. Good luck in your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Seaside Heights hotels

Alexandria, Al Iskandariyah, Egypt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

It was really nice vacation in the hotel. Everything was amazing the staff , the room & amazing view. Its near everything. I stayed at single room. it was really nice. Nice restaurant &Very Delicoius food.

Room Tip: Rooms at south side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-Relations08751, Guest Relations Manager at Boardwalk Hotel Charlee & Apartments, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Our hardworking staff are very glad you enjoyed your stay. We will continue our efforts of great service, in part to your kind words! See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

for a beach front motel it was great. the beach is right there. parking was always available. the manager was on site as were the motel owners. they were extremely friendly and answered all our questions. we stayed in a double bed room on the 3rd floor. wish there was an elevator (lol). this is our motel at seaside. located near everything!
thank you boardwalk seaport.
the gencarelli family

Room Tip: if you have alot of luggage or just outta shape ask for a 1st or 2nd floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gencarelli4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-Relations08751, Guest Relations Manager at Boardwalk Hotel Charlee & Apartments, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Dear the gencarelli family,

We are your hotel at the shore! Thank you so much for your kind words. We hope to continue our great service and help you enjoy with your family! See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

We did not get what we thought we paid for. I feel we were misled in the booking process. When I called to book a room with one double bed for $99 a night (as advertised on their website) they said they only had rooms with two beds left for the dates we wanted to stay and it was going to be $129 a night. Since the location seemed nice we decided to go ahead and book the room with two beds for more money and just enjoy the extra space. When we arrived at the hotel we checked in ( at which time they didn't even ask for ID of any sort) and we went to our room which was only a single room with one double bed......which was only supposed to be $99 a night and they said would have been unavailable. We went back down to the check in desk to see if we could just be reimbursed the $30 a night since we were told we were going to have a larger room. The man at the check in counter told us we had actually been "up-graded" and the room was actually supposed to be way more expensive and that we were being given a "deal", because it had a "view" of the Jersey Shore tanning deck. When I tried to explain what I had been told over the phone (about the single rooms being booked and having to book the more expensive room) they just kept insisting we had been upgraded. They offered to move us to another hotel for $99 a night but it was further away from the beach and you had to pay for parking. Parking was a whole other nightmare. The parking has 9 spots, VERY SMALL spots, and 3 of them require parallel parking. We found out you usually at most times completely blocked in because of the amount of cars trying to fir in the TINY lot. Hope you don't have to go anywhere fast...... We were told check out was at 10 AM, (but I'm pretty sure it depended on who you asked) and we packed up the car and went to the office at 9:30 to check out and no one was there. Absolutely no one, door was locked. We called but got no answer so we ended up leaving the keys in the room and just leaving a voice mail, and getting out of there as fast as possible. The room was okay at best, right on the boardwalk and well lit at night. But there are plenty of other places to stay on the boardwalk, don't waste your money here.

Room Tip: Don't get automatically upgraded at your own cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TMMUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-Relations08751, Guest Relations Manager at Boardwalk Hotel Charlee & Apartments, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Dear Guest,

It seems that you did enjoy our clean, comfortable rooms with the amazing location of our hotel. We understand you had some issues with booking. We will investigate the confusion and earn a better rating on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

I just went over this weekend (8/17-8/19/12) and I think that beacuse I read other reviews my expectations were really low. The motel is not horrible, I've slept in harder beds and the room was clean. We stayed in a one bedroom suite on the first floor so luckliy I didn't have to haul my stuff up the stairs. We were right under the stairs so at times it did sound like people were going to invade the room but maybe because I'm from the city those sounds don't abslutely bug me. The room and bathroom were clean and had no problem there. The TV had no remote which was no biggie as most of the time I was out of the room. The hotel has a great location on the boardwalk which made it super convienent as parking can be a pain there. All in all the location was really good, the room was decent and it was good for a weekend trip with friends. I didn't directly deal with the front office staff but the person who did - did not complain about them.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Xgarcia16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-Relations08751, Guest Relations Manager at Boardwalk Hotel Charlee & Apartments, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We will earn a better rating on you next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

I want to start by saying I wasn't expecting the Ritz Carlton or the 4 Seasons. This is a solid beach motel, in a great location, right on the boardwalk. Our room was clean, serviced each day we were there, and Ziko, the manager, deserves every phenomenal review he has been given. He is constantly on-site, and truly embodies "service with a smile". He loves his job and it shows. He is knowledgeable about the area, and was helpful about finding another friend a room at the last minute when she showed up on Saturday night, after the power blew in Atlantic City & she needed a place to stay with her kids.

Security was also good in the evening at the motel, which made us feel comfortable, with some of the "randoms" that may have been wandering the area late night around the MTV "Jersey Shore House" (even though we felt good about their extra security too).

Overall, if you're going to spend a weekend at the beach, this is a great, clean, central location to stay. If you're going because you're planning to "Jersey Turnpike" with Pauly D, The Situation, Snookie, Dina & the MTV crew, you might be out of luck -- I think this past weekend was their last weekend of filming for the summer.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sunworshiprskibum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CranburyInn, Public Relations Manager at Boardwalk Hotel Charlee & Apartments, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Dear Satisfied Guest,

Thank you very much for writing a review for our property. Our team works tirelessly (as you saw with just one member) to make sure our hotel guests really enjoy their stay. We do keep security to make sure our guests have peace of mind and relaxed to recover energy for another day at the Jersey Shore. We want to thank you for visiting and hope to see you again!

Best Regards,
Your staff at the Boardwalk Seaport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seaside Heights hotels
0.4 mi away
Franklin Terrace Motel
Franklin Terrace Motel
#3 of 39 in Seaside Heights
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palm Villa Suites Hotel
Palm Villa Suites Hotel
#20 of 39 in Seaside Heights
3.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.2 mi away
Buoy 16 Motel
Buoy 16 Motel
#9 of 39 in Seaside Heights
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sand & Surf Motel
Sand & Surf Motel
#25 of 39 in Seaside Heights
3.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hershey Motel
Hershey Motel
#5 of 39 in Seaside Heights
3.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River
Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / ...
#19 of 39 in Seaside Heights
3.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boardwalk Hotel Charlee & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boardwalk Hotel Charlee & Apartments

Property: Boardwalk Hotel Charlee & Apartments
Address: 1119 Ocean Terrace, Seaside Heights, NJ 08751-2141 (Formerly Boardwalk Sea Gull Motel)
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Seaside Heights
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Seaside Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Boardwalk Hotel Charlee & Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is located on the boardwalk of Seaside Heights at the New Jersey Shore. The hotel offers stunning ocean and boardwalk views with a private feel with 10 rooms and 2 suites while still being only steps to the beach and boardwalk. Apartment rentals are also available near the hotel for groups of all sizes. A feature amenity is the sun deck on the 3rd floor which gives a wide view of the beach, ocean, pier, and boardwalk. For those who enjoy the famous MTV show, Jersey Shore, we are only a 1/2 block from the house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Boardwalk Hotel Charlee & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boardwalk Seaport Hotel Seaside Heights
Boardwalk Seaport Motel
Boardwalk Hotel Charlee & Apartments Seaside Heights, NJ - Jersey Shore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing