We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small but clean”
Review of Sand & Surf Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sand & Surf Motel
Ranked #25 of 39 Hotels in Seaside Heights
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Small but clean”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

No disappointment here! Room was small but clean and the rooftop deck is a great place to hang out. Being just steps from the boardwalk is awesome! The owner Kimo was very attentive. Will be going back here in the next few weeks!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank KdsGrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    26
    14
    15
    26
See reviews for
63
17
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

I just stayed there for 3 days with 10 people 4 adults and 6 children . It was horrible.the toilet didn't work .we had to keep asking to use the one downstairs because they couldn't fix it. Only gave us 7!towels at a time with. 2 beach passes. . Me and ken talked about how bad business had been and how they are losing money . So when I checked out I got my $100 refund after they viewed the room which I signed .5 days later I got billed for $50 for one dirty pot .$30 for checking out @10;15.and $6 for parking till 12 cause we went to the beach for a few hours. But they never told me the secretly charged my card. I spend $926 for 3 days and they couldn't tell me before I left that I owe them for it but to secretly do it. That's like me making the bed before u leave.room service

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dcmargil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
slimjim62, Owner at Sand & Surf Motel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for your review. The reservation that you made by phone was for 4 Adults and 2 Children. Upon arrival, you brought an additional 4 persons. I asked if I could provide you another room for your additional guests but you declined stating that it would cost too much. The cost of the room was $822 + 12% state taxes for 3 nights in a double room efficiency apartment ocean view. The state of New jersey receives the 12% state tax and this is out of my control. The Sand and Surf Motel provides 2 free beach passes for the beach. Children 11 and under are free. You had 4 children who were free and were given 2 additional passes. The fact that Seaside Heights charges for the beach has no bearing on the fact that you brought 10 persons and had to pay additionally to the town. We provide half price additional badges and I am not sure if you purchased any. The Sand and Surf Motel pays full price from the town for its beach passes. On the morning of check out a young women from your apartment asked to use a bathroom. She stated that hers was not working since late the previous night. I asked her why you did not tell us. She said I don't know. You then asked to use a bathroom. You stated that someone was in your bathroom. Ken stated that the bathrooms in the lobby were closed at the moment. You then stated that it did not work. Ken went to the room and fixed it within 5 minutes. It was clogged with toilet tissue and paper napkins from your guests. Either way it was easily fixed and promptly corrected based on notification. Upon check out which was at 1045 you left your car in the paid parking lot with an expired sticker till after 1PM. It clearly stated on your parking map that 10AM was the allotted time for the car. Additionally, there were posted signs about $6.00 paid parking. When Ken, the owner checked the room he found the kitchen to be in bad shape. There were multiple pots and pans and dishes with food all over the pots and the stove had to be cleaned for over 2 hours of maid time. It clearly states in our agreement that you signed that kitchen areas must be left clean. Unfortunately for us that was not the case. I am sorry that you felt caught off guard by the charges for a late check out, paid parking, and a very messy kitchen totaling $86.00. The 100 security deposit provided by you at check in is clearly explained in the check in procedures. The Sand and Surf Motel prides itself in maintaining a very clean establishment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Seaside Heights hotels

Edison, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Went to the Jersey Shore on a whim and came across the Sand and Surf Motel. The rooms very comfortable and very clean. The views of the beach were amazing. You would have never known that this area had been hit by Sandy.

Room Tip: 2nd floor have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dade City, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Stayed here for summer and enjoyed it. Staff was great. When i needed something had no problem going to office to get it. Read thru some of neg comments and people wanting shampoo and what not people it is not the Ritz Carlton. However it is right on the boardwalk next door to the Shore store and Jersey Shore house.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Will7854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I booked a room at the Sand and Surf Motel which is on the ocean. The room was very clean and had everything in the room that I needed. I had an efficiency with a small kitchen. The view from the second floor was excellent. I could watch the boardwalk and the ocean. There were plenty of activities to on the boardwalk when I wasn't in my room. All in all a great stay and reasonable rates.

Room Tip: for a good view take the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Francisco F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paramus, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

If you are going to take a trip down the shore this is a great place to stay! I visited in August 2013. The location is perfect as you're right on the boardwalk and only steps from the beach and the view is SPECTACULAR! There's always the sweet, salty smell of the ocean and the sound of the waves. There are many activities nearby and the kids always love the arcade and rides! If you need any assistance in finding a restaurant or somewhere to visit while you are in Seaside the staff at the front desk is extremely helpful and knowledgeable of the area. You should absolutely check out the Sand and Surf Motel, you won't be disappointed!!

Room Tip: Rooms with a kitchen are great if you are looking to save money on food! The rooms upstairs have a g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kiera K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Plainfield, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

The Sand and Surf Motel is a perfect place to bring your family for some fun and relaxation. The people in the office were very organized and helpful in checking you in. The room itself was immaculate and clean. You get two separate rooms with your accommodation. This is a real advantage when you are bringing children with you. This particular room was equipped with a kitchen which is real plus. You can save money by not buying all meals out. The kitchen was
equipped with the necessary things needed for a meal for your family. The views from the deck are outstanding. one can see the boardwalk and water from an upstairs room. I would definitely recommend this hotel for a vacation.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have better views of the water and boardwalk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bob s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seaside Heights hotels
0.4 mi away
Sunset Motel
Sunset Motel
#5 of 39 in Seaside Heights
3.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.0 mi away
Boardwalk Hotel Charlee & Apartments
Boardwalk Hotel Charlee & Apartm...
#22 of 39 in Seaside Heights
3.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.2 mi away
Buoy 16 Motel
Buoy 16 Motel
#9 of 39 in Seaside Heights
3.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Franklin Terrace Motel
Franklin Terrace Motel
#3 of 39 in Seaside Heights
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.2 mi away
Anchor Motel
Anchor Motel
#11 of 39 in Seaside Heights
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palm Villa Suites Hotel
Palm Villa Suites Hotel
#19 of 39 in Seaside Heights
3.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sand & Surf Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand & Surf Motel

Property: Sand & Surf Motel
Address: 1201 Ocean Ter, Seaside Heights, NJ 08751-1923
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Seaside Heights
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Seaside Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family owned motel located on the Boardwalk in Seaside Heights, NJ. We offer Ocean front and ocean view rooms. We have rooms with Kitchettes and others with microwaves. All rooms have refrigerators, Air Conditioners,Televisions, and phones. Parking is included for 1 vehicle and 2 Beach Badges are provided for free beach access. Additional paid parking is available.Are rooms are very clean and spacious. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sand & Surf Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sand And Surf Motel
Sand & Surf Hotel Seaside Heights
Sand & Surf Motel Seaside Heights, NJ - Jersey Shore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing