We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real gem of a motel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sea Gem Motel and Apartments
Ranked #29 of 39 Hotels in Seaside Heights
Mount Laurel, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Real gem of a motel!”
Reviewed 13 September 2012

I travelled to Seaside during the Labor Day weekend with my friends. There was no room available, so we went for Seagem motel inspite of the bad reviews I had read. To our surprise, the rooms were very clean and comfy; facing the clear poolside. We enjoyed the barbeque by the poolside, the free beach passes and the breakfast coupons. Such a service was very well worth the price. ON questioning the manager about the kind of reviews, he explained the transition of management of the hotel and the quick responsibilities they have assumed to put things in order. Enjoyed my stay thoroughly.

Room Tip: Poolside view is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jk_2106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    13
    5
    4
    30
See reviews for
23
9
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

Well our stay didn't even last one night. We have stayed at this hotel many times before but will never stay again. First off we didn't get the correct room that we reserved, okay that happens. We get to our room right after it has been cleaned and we find food still in the oven and weed in the cabinets. Lastly some guy walked past our room and mentioned something about bed bugs, great. So we checked our beds and sure enough there were not only dead ones but live ones with larva. We asked management what they were going to do about it and they said they will give us another room. Okay whatever we looked at another room and it was worse, by this time it's almost midnight and we can't stay there (did I mention I have a one year old with me). They offered us a room at there sister motel next door, which we said no since if it's anything like this one we don't want to stay there. So I left to find a room somewhere else. In the mean time they wanted to charge is for one nights stay, really we were only in the room a few hours. So we decided to get the police involved. They agreed with us that they were truly infested with bed bugs, they got management to give us a full refund. Also they called an exterminator and the ocean county health department. We have contacted the New Jersey and have begun whatever is needed to make sure no one else has this problem. Please don't stay here. We found a great place a few blocks away, the desert palm inn (see my review). The sea gem was filthy, management was rude, and this place almost ruined our vacation after a 6 hour drive.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank C7SAIL4EA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Seaside Heights hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Rutherford
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

My fiance and I were supposed to spend a couple of nights at this motel. We had stayed there about 3 years or so ago and the rooms were clean and not expensive when it was family owned and operated. They now have a new owner and it is disgusting and filthy. I'm glad we asked to see the rooms before paying because we saw about 5 different rooms and they were equally dirty and disgusting. I felt like I needed to jump into a shower after leaving there. Also, the guy at the front desk said the rate was $169 a night plus tax but once he saw I was hesitant to stay he kept dropping the price down. His last offer was $150 including tax, however, if he gave us the room for free I wouldn't have stayed there. It's a shame a place like this is allowed to be in business.

Room Tip: Run don't even walk away from this dump!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Randi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sewell, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

This place is absoulutely RANCID, HORRID, DISGUSTING. We stayed in the appartnemnts....and its said when the two bedroom rooms are CLEANER than the APARTMENTS. Worst 2 days of my entire life, We were greeted by a smelly room, with Wet floors, and counters, a Fridge not cold, a front door with a broken door without a lock, dents in the walls, stains everywhere, and MOLDY PIZZA IN THE MICROWAVE from the LAST people who stayed theyre who knows when?!?! We had to check for bed bugs, and we waited 4 hours for the room to be ready, i guess the creepy maitnance man was lazy on the boards. We came to have fun, and left in a hurry, dont walk away from this gem...RUN. This place is below terrible.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jratta777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

This place was terrible to look at. When we arrived the outside looked very runned down. The rooms were disgusting to look at, could not even imagine sleeping in them. The rooms smelled terrible. Stay away as far as possible from this place. We asked for our money back and left to find another motel. See the Colony motel comment.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank MS7026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sewell, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

In all my years of travel, this is by far the worst hotel/motel I have ever stayed at. We had booked the 3 bedroom apartment, and it was filthy.
No doors on the closets, food left in the microwave. I have seen better furniture at the dump. The swimming pool was small, and dirty.
I cannot emphasize enough what a terrible experience this was.

Room Tip: There is no such thing as a good room here.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank frasor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Booked online at the Sea Gem Motel and let me tell u what u see is not what u get. As soon as we got there we saw the matresses outside of the rooms the outside looked disgusting but we checked in and once I went to the room it smelled like urine the furniture was disgusting and I wont mention the bathroom. Also, three rooms were condemed by the health securites(that said it all for me. I turned around and went back to the reception and asked for my money back. Two words for this place STAYYYYYYY AWAYYYY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! It is truly a health hassard!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lina020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seaside Heights hotels
0.3 mi away
Sea Palace Motel
Sea Palace Motel
#12 of 39 in Seaside Heights
32 reviews
0.4 mi away
Anchor Motel
Anchor Motel
#11 of 39 in Seaside Heights
86 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sea Garden Motel
Sea Garden Motel
#18 of 39 in Seaside Heights
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Palm Villa Suites Hotel
Palm Villa Suites Hotel
#17 of 39 in Seaside Heights
89 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sky View Manor Motel
Sky View Manor Motel
#13 of 39 in Seaside Heights
203 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bay Breeze Motel
Bay Breeze Motel
#6 of 39 in Seaside Heights
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Gem Motel and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Gem Motel and Apartments

Property: Sea Gem Motel and Apartments
Address: 55 Dupont Ave, Seaside Heights, NJ 08751-2525
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Seaside Heights
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 39 Hotels in Seaside Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sea Gem Motel and Apartments 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME to the Sea Gem Motel and Apartments! We are located just a half block from the famed Boardwalk and Beaches of Seaside Heights. We offer a wide variety of motel rooms and apartments for you to choose from. Just steps from the Seaside Heights clubs and nightlife helps make your vacation convenient and fun. As one of the best Seaside Heights motels, we offer the finest amenities on the Jersey Shore! Let our new manager show you what Jersey Shore hospitality is all about. Allow us to ensure you an enjoyable stay at our motel on the Jersey Shore. We welcome you and hope you have a safe and healthy vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Sea Gem Motel and Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Gem Motel & Apartments Hotel Seaside Heights
Sea Gem Motel And Apartments Seaside Heights, NJ - Jersey Shore
Sea Gem Hotel Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing