We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“25th Reunion Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunburst Motels I & II

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Seaside Heights
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sunburst Motels I & II
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Seaside Heights
Certificate of Excellence
Toms River, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“25th Reunion Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

We enjoyed our overnight Stay for our 25th HS reunion. They offered us Discounted Rates. The room was clean. We did not require a security deposit for the room as another post states. The location was perfect within walking distance of our venue. The staff was courteous and friendly they ran out of parking spaces but allowed us to park in their secondary lot a block up.

Room Tip: They do not supply amenities such as hair dryer, shampoo or soap - but if ask at the front desk and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rjlocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    48
    9
    4
    5
See reviews for
99
18
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waterbury
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

We enjoyed our three nights at the Sunburst. It was clean, good shower and quiet at night. The location is great...just 2 blocks from the boardwalk and beach and just a few steps from Breakwater water park. There is a 7-11 next door. Parking is on the premises, but they did run out of spaces one night but they had another lot a block away. There is no security deposit so ignore the reviews that say that and we did not have to wear a wrist band (perhaps these are prom season rules?). The owners were very accommodating and friendly. you need to bring your own shampoo, hair dryer and iron (if you need one at the beach) although I didn't ask if they had those things at the desk. We ended up in a smoking suite which had the stale smoke smell...but this is the old school type of motel that may not have nonsmoking rooms--that is my only complaint.

Room Tip: There are no elevators and some rooms are up three flights of stairs. We stayed in room 20 which was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adamommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, UK
Level Contributor
72 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

Very clean rooms, with pleasing attention to detail and a very friendly family running the show, who are full of good local recommendations. The motel is very well located, close to the boardwalk and near to a great restaurant bar called Hemingway's. Prices aren't cheap, although they're locally competitive, and the 10am checkout time is challenging, but overall our experience was a very positive one.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richardthewanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whippany, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

Very Unethical. Beware of (obviously) unwritten security deposit policy... Owner has Motel I & II, said there was purported damage at the other hotel (we weren't staying at the other hotel/ had nothing to do with any damage) Management kept $80 of the $200 deposit. Guilty until proven innocent... owner asked if we had proof that we didn't damage the lawn chairs. And they wouldn't provide any documentation of the $80. they kept of the $200. They did this to several other people also, said "everyone needs to contribute to fixing the damage". Taking something that does not belong to you... isn't that called stealing?

Room Tip: Stay Away from Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank I T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Let's start off with the positives: The place was clean. Of the family who seemed to own the motel, the father and son were very warm and pleasant. The location was great. Room comes with the perfect fridge for stocking up on weekend supplies.

Let's finish with the negatives: You have to wear a wrist band at all times on the property. This is extremely annoying. No shampoo in the bathrooms. Beds aren't very comfortable. Very tiny tube TV. Shower head did not work very well.

Biggest issue: The person who appeared to be the wife in the family that owned this motel was EXTREMELY rude and unpleasant. It started with her reluctance to allow her husband to waive our security deposit. Then the second night I was read the riot act for losing my wrist band. She got very confrontational about it, and then lied to the husband saying that I claimed it "fell off". I did not claim it fell off. I said I lost it. I get the reason for the attitude, but it's the first weekend of the summer. You shouldn't be that annoyed and burnt out already. Try a little bit of innocent until proven guilty next time.

It you're a young adult, you may not want to stay here if you actually want to be treated like one.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TrvlMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
259 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

The room was clean as was the surrounding grounds and the people who run the place are very helpful. The only problem I had was there was a siren that went off during the night - they have a volunteer fire department. I think they should inform customers of that fact - just in case.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patsy_Toledo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

This is really a great place for a family vacation. Me and my parents had our last vacation in NJ. We stayed there for about a week and must say it was an amazing experience staying in Sunburst mote. The people are so friendly that they were like part of our family. The rooms were very clean and the services were up to the mark. Though they are a bit pricey but we don't mind because the service and the treat just worth it.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seaside Heights hotels
0.2 mi away
Sea Palace Motel
Sea Palace Motel
#12 of 39 in Seaside Heights
3.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.4 mi away
Franklin Terrace Motel
Franklin Terrace Motel
#3 of 39 in Seaside Heights
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunset Motel
Sunset Motel
#6 of 39 in Seaside Heights
3.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Belmont Motel
Belmont Motel
#14 of 39 in Seaside Heights
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hershey Motel
Hershey Motel
#5 of 39 in Seaside Heights
3.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bay Breeze Motel
Bay Breeze Motel
#8 of 39 in Seaside Heights
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunburst Motels I & II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunburst Motels I & II

Property: Sunburst Motels I & II
Address: 1020 Boulevard, Seaside Heights, NJ 08751-2130
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Seaside Heights
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Seaside Heights
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Sunburst Motels i And Ii
Sunburst Motels i & Ii Hotel Seaside Heights
Sunburst Motel Seaside Heights
Sunburst Hotel Seaside Heights
Sunburst Motels I & II Seaside Heights, NJ - Jersey Shore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing