We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We LOVED this plce!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
Review of Sunrise Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sunrise Motel
Ranked #5 of 39 Hotels in Seaside Heights
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2011

this place was great! Clean- amenities were perfect.. close to boardwalk-beach-the bamboo room..this is the place for families and teens to enjoy a great time! Owners were awesome.. they made what could have been a bad trip into a great one. the only thing we were missing was a coffee pot... but great deli across the street with great fresh food and coffee!! Strongly encourage families looking for a great deal ina clean place to book here.

Room Tip: great rooms clean amenities great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank efrushon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (236)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 236 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2011

Perfect location for the Seaside Heights experience. I took my family on a much needed vacation and we booked the Sunrise Motel. After getting a bit lost, we called the front desk and the attendant lead us right to the parking lot, on the phone with us the whole way. Extremely kind of him, but that was just the beginning. We found this Motel was in the perfect location: One block from the action, yet far enough away that we didn’t hear a peep at night. SWEET, enormous sundeck where we spent a large amount of our time when we weren’t at the beach or the Boardwalk. Very friendly guests and staff…we left our door open almost the whole time, as did most of the other tenants. Very nice, clean pool with plenty of room to get cooled off. The room itself had everything we needed and more. A refrigerator, stove and a ton of cupboard space, as well as two queen sized beds and a pull-out couch. Plenty of room for everyone to spread out. Our room was very comfortable with a large A/C, cleaned and restocked daily, and we never seen housekeeping. Free breakfast, and staff would tell us anything we wanted to know about the local businesses and area in general. Our stay cost half as much as I was planning when I first started looking at places to stay. We can’t wait to go back and hopefully it will be soon…Let the countdown begin!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor where the view is phenominal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JGtraveler_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

Just came back from a great week in Seaside. Stayed at the Sunrise Hotel Very friendly staff. Room was very spacious and in my opinion the nicest motel in Seaside . If I go back to Seaside I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gladys62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2011

For Seaside Heights you cant expect too much. A little rust in the bathroom, That mildew-sortof-beach-smell, sand in the carpet is normal. You have to blast the AC to kill the smell. All the pools are tiny and dont expect much in the way of amenities. That said I booked this place because it was rated #1 in Trip Advisor. Unfortunately this place did not distinguish itself as such. AC was broken when we checked in. Too their credit they replaced it within an hour. TV remote was broken so could not control it from bed. They advertise free full breakfast every morning and pizza by the pool on Wednesdays.. At check in very little detail was offered. I was not told about the Pizza or breakfast (like what time, where to get it etc.) The pizza arrived at the pool at 3pm, 2 boxes left on a table by the pool which everyone had their hands in, yuck. The next morning I went to the office to ask about breakfast.. The office was closed. I did not see any breakfast anywhere. My wife went to Ryan's Deli and bought bagels & coffee. At 10am I went back to the office which was now open and asked what happened to breakfast.and was handed 4 vouchers for Ryans Deli entitling me to a breakfast sandwich and coffee. Oh well. Overall this place is on par with the majority of motels in the area but I would not rate it as outstanding. Its clean enough, has a nice sun deck, good proximity to the beach and boardwalk but when it comes to details they are lacking.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2011

I called to make a reservation for a weekend in august. Old RUDE Male receptionist asked how many people would occupy the room. I told him "2 people". He stated "Its couples and families only". I told him: "We are a couple...its 2 people". His next question: "Well how old are you?!" Although I was confused by the question because I didnt see why that mattered, I responded: "26". He then replied "Couples and families only" to which I responded "What does my age have to do with whether we are a couple or not, MY HUSBAND and I would like to reserve a room". His reply "your married?!" was said in a very condescending tone as if it was unbelievable. When I responded "Yes, I am!" he stated "ok..its $189 a night."

I went through way too much TO TRY and provide business for this motel. He was very rude for absolutely no reason and discriminatory to those who want to stay at this establishment.

IF you are EXPECTING a nice simple weekend AS A COUPLE, PLEASE BOOK ELSEWHERE.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DISTRAUGHTCOUPLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jjl45loun, Owner at Sunrise Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2011

We rent in excess of 2400 room nights during the summer and in order to assure a pleasant experience we vet our customers quite thoroughly. If the prospective renter found that excessive we understand, however we ask every customer the same set of questions and that has enabled us to build the repeat business that we have.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2011

I would like to start by saying that I have never been compelled to write a trip advisor review until my recent stay at the Sunrise Motel in Seaside Heights.
After reading on Trip Advisor that Sunrise had been rated the number one place to stay in Seaside Heights, I was really looking forward to it. The comments on Trip Advisor had all been very positive, but after opening the door to our room, I am convinced that it must be the owner who was writing these comments, as the only word that I can think to describe it is disgusting.
I know that sounds very harsh, and believe me, we are not overly critical people and have stayed in everything from hostels to 4 star hotels during our travels, but I wanted to write to tell you the honest truth about this place.
The smell was probably the worst part. An over powering mouldy smell that gets into your clothes and hair. After having a short shower the bathroom was dripping with condensation for hours after wards. The ventilation was awful, and I'm still having trouble getting the mold smell out of our clothing even after multiple washes and we were only there for one night! I was actually worried about breathing in the air as I'm sure it is riddled with toxic black mold.
The towels looked like rags, and had stains all over them. The place is just really out dated and we couldn't get out of there fast enough.
We met some local people and told them where we were staying. They couldn't believe that Sunrise was rated the number one place.
On a positive note, the location is excellent and only steps from the beach. Also, the owner was very friendly and provided us with beach badges.
All that to say though, I can't believe we paid $160 per night to stay in this awful place.
Lesson learned though... you need to take Trip Advisor reviews with a grain of salt...after all, you never know who could be writing them...

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MichellefromGuelph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2011

Stay at the sunrise for 1 night and couldn't get out of it fast enough. Owners were nice and other guest were families. But, were shocked at the quality of rooms and bathrooms. Towels could be mistaked as rags with mystery lipstick stains. Paying a rate of 149.00 a night we were very disappointed and still cant believe the other reviews on trip advisor about this place. everything in the room had a stain or a hole in it. Walls had holes sheets had burn marks, bath tub had rust in it, the couch could not be sat on and thrown to the curb.

thanks to seeing J-wow at Ryans deli across the street this hotel wasn't a total disappointment. sorry no photos.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank beluga88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seaside Heights
0.2 mi away
Sea Palace Motel
Sea Palace Motel
#13 of 39 in Seaside Heights
32 reviews
0 mi away
Franklin Terrace Motel
Franklin Terrace Motel
#8 of 39 in Seaside Heights
100 reviews
1.2 mi away
Windjammer Motor Inn
Windjammer Motor Inn
#2 of 7 in Seaside Park
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bay Breeze Motel
Bay Breeze Motel
#3 of 39 in Seaside Heights
197 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hershey Motel
Hershey Motel
#10 of 39 in Seaside Heights
172 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sea Palace Inn
Sea Palace Inn
#16 of 39 in Seaside Heights
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Motel

Address: 202 Boulevard, Seaside Heights, NJ 08751-2506
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Seaside Heights
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Seaside Heights
#3 Best Value Hotel in Seaside Heights
Price Range: £45 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunrise Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sunrise Motel in Seaside Heights is owned and operated by the Loundy family, who have been welcoming vacationers to the Jersey Shore since 1932. The motel features efficiency suites and luxury suites, accommodating couples and families up to 6 people per room! Our efficiency suites have 2 double beds, a sofa-bed or futon, and a kitchenette. Our luxury suites have 2 queen beds, a full kitchen, bath with jacuzzi tub, and living room with sofa-bed or futon. We are located less than a block from the boardwalk for easy access to the beach, rides, games, and amusements. Our property features a beautiful pool, expansive 150 foot sundeck, free WI-FI, free parking, BBQ grills, and cable TV in each room. All of our rooms are non-smoking, but smoking is permitted in all outdoor areas. During the summer season we also include 2 free badges with each room and free breakfast each morning at a choice of two local restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Sunrise Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Hotel Seaside Heights
Sunrise Motel Seaside Heights, NJ - Jersey Shore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing