We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sunrise Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sunrise Motel
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Seaside Heights
New Paltz, New York, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

The owners run a great establishment. Every staff member was super friendly and accomodating (needed extra pillows, needed a car blocking us to move) without question. The rooms were clean and comfy. It was one block from the beach/boardwalk. It had an outdoor pool. The grounds were kept clean as well. I often saw them sweeping up cigarette butts.
The only downfall is it was across the street from a night club. Although loud it didn't keep us up at night...but then again we were at the far end of the hotel. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    43
    21
    8
    30
See reviews for
129
44
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
long island, ny
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

I'll preface this by stating I am NOT a motel person. Tough if you are going to Seaside Heights. Planning a last minute getaway before a few days in AC I decided to book this for 2 nights based on TA reviews. Booked through priceline. Received a call from the motel 2 days later stating that they had overbooked and were going to "upgrade" me to a deluxe unit. How nice! Well, all I can say if this was the upgrade, thank goodness I didn't stay in the originally booked room. I find it hard to believe it was an upgrade, which THEY offered and if another originally booked room type became available, they should have still honored my "upgrade" offer or at least told me a room had become available. The rooms looked like those on the website which I don't believe were the deluxe rooms. It was outdated and absolutely NO amenities, not even a blowdryer in the room. The rust stain in the tub was big enough to have been there long enough to be reglazed. The sink cabinet door could have been refastened. There was no phone to call the front desk when I couldn't get online with free web access. Was never able to access internet from their low bar access site. The free breakfast coupon was never mentioned at check in and I had to ask and was told we could pick it up in the morning. What bothered me most, and I know this is market price for the area, is that I paid decent money ($330+ for the 2 nights) for this stay for a place that would normally be a roadside $29/night. When I left there, I stayed in a 4 star on the AC boardwalk for less money. The location was good and the staff was always around cleaning the property. Noticed the pool area being washed down at night. Horrible? no. Would I stay again? not likely.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank b00kit123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhinebeck, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

For the in and out party town of seaside heights.Its the only place i would recoomend to go with my wife and small children.The staff is nice and they really keep the place clean.They have breakfast coupons .Plus the stores in the surrounding nieborhood are all nice shops.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

We love the Sunrise Motel! Between the excellent, friendly, accommodating staff and the well-kept grounds, the Sunrise Motel is the best place to stay in seaside. The rooms are clean and comfortable. We are always greeted with a happy staff that treats us with the upmost generosity and friendliness. After staying there annually since my younger sister was a toddler, we have always been happily welcomed by the wonderful staff. The pool (and pool area) is very well-kept and we enjoy swimming from the gate's opening, often to the gate's closing. We enjoyed the pizza poolside this year as well as the free full breakfasts. The staff is very accommodating to our family and we enjoy visiting the Sunrise Crew every year.


-Kimberly Jerger and Emily Jerger

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaniceJerger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cherry Hill
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

I recently stayed at Sunrise for a brief getaway and was impressed with the rooms, pool and staff. Everyone I dealt with including the office personnel, the owner and the cleaning staff were professional, friendly and accommodating. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pammy1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florham Park, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

My son and his friends stayed there twice so far this summer and the Sunrise was really good to them. My son had to leave during his vacation to catch a bus so he could take an early morning ACT test. I spoke to the owner and he offered to drive my son to the bus station 20 minutes away since he was taking his daughter there as well. How NICE is that! Knowing my son was safe and in good hands is a great feeling and they are so nice and accomodating there. The kids had a great time and the staff is super-kind and so pleasant. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

Just by pulling up to this hotel you will notice that it is THE nicest place in seaside . The same can be said about the inside , very clean and spacious . The staff members are all very nice , accommodating and generous . I needed two rooms and was offered two rooms right next to each other and an additional parking spot by the owner free of charge . I will definitely stay here again and would recommend this place to everyone I know . I stayed for just one night in the middle of September and I wish I could have stayed longer . I rate it a 5 out of 5 !

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilovejers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seaside Heights hotels
0.2 mi away
Sea Palace Motel
Sea Palace Motel
#12 of 39 in Seaside Heights
3.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.1 mi away
Franklin Terrace Motel
Franklin Terrace Motel
#3 of 39 in Seaside Heights
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunset Motel
Sunset Motel
#6 of 39 in Seaside Heights
3.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bay Breeze Motel
Bay Breeze Motel
#9 of 39 in Seaside Heights
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.4 mi away
Anchor Motel
Anchor Motel
#11 of 39 in Seaside Heights
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.4 mi away
Belmont Motel
Belmont Motel
#14 of 39 in Seaside Heights
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Motel

Property: Sunrise Motel
Address: 202 Boulevard, Seaside Heights, NJ 08751-2506
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Seaside Heights
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Seaside Heights
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Seaside Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunrise Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sunrise Motel in Seaside Heights is owned and operated by the Loundy family, who have been welcoming vacationers to the Jersey Shore since 1932. The motel features efficiency suites and luxury suites, accommodating couples and families up to 6 people per room! Our efficiency suites have 2 double beds, a sofa-bed or futon, and a kitchenette. Our luxury suites have 2 queen beds, a full kitchen, bath with jacuzzi tub, and living room with sofa-bed or futon. We are located less than a block from the boardwalk for easy access to the beach, rides, games, and amusements. Our property features a beautiful pool, expansive 150 foot sundeck, free WI-FI, free parking, BBQ grills, and cable TV in each room. All of our rooms are non-smoking, but smoking is permitted in all outdoor areas. During the summer season we also include 2 free badges with each room and free breakfast each morning at a choice of two local restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sunrise Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Hotel Seaside Heights
Sunrise Motel Seaside Heights, NJ - Jersey Shore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing