We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to stay for your vacation !!”
Review of Sunrise Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sunrise Motel
Ranked #7 of 39 Hotels in Seaside Heights
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I read some of these recent reviews on the Sunrise Motel and it really leaves me scratching my head, I been staying there over ten years and never had a single issue except to Hurricane Irene but the motel management made good for the days I lost, This is a wonderful vacation spot to take your family, reading some of reviews one would think your heading into a Police state at the sunrise which is totally untrue, when the night club is hopping right across the street the motel does employee an off duty armed security guard which I think is outstanding. It is close to anything you would want on a vacation and plenty of things to do if it happens to rain in and near the barrier island !! For those of you looking for the Ritz type motel or hotel your best served to stay away from the Sunrise and go to Point Pleasant and visit " White Sands " or the " Sand Pebble " at $ 250 dollars a night but those places don't have the kindness and the two outstanding men who are behind the Sunrise Jeff the Owner and Paul the manager two top notch people who know how to run a motel right !! - Thanks Sunrise for many happy past summer and more to come !!! ~ Tony Mondaro - Harrison, NJ

Room Tip: Every room is outstanding !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (236)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 236 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

As a 26 y/o, this mote was in a prime location for all amusements, attractions and nightlife. My party prioritized the beach over the bar scene, the noise did not keep us awake at all. We were about 1 block from the boardwalk amidst the carnival-style businesses with activity to both the north and the south of us. The staff was helpful, knowledgeable and cared about our stay. Bonuses: complementary breakfast at nearby restaurants, coupons for near by attractions ie waterpark, 3 propane grills for "ballers on a budget" and our room included a nice sized mini-fridge as well as a mini-stove/oven.

The staff is what sets this place aside from other motels I have been to. They are quick to respond to requests and seem to genuinely enjoy helping vacationers like myself make the most of their stay.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the corner (as opposed to the south end) are better for wifi Rooms closer to the of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Location is convenient, but I would not recommend this for families wiith small children. It is close to nightclubs and area becomes overrun with drunks and loud music on weekends. Profound police presence for a reason! Room was okay- but definitely not condusive to sleep 6 people-

Staff does not tell you what to do if parking lot is full when you come back to hotel in evening-- I received a $45 parking fine for parking on street adjacent to hotel with my hang tag for hotel. Management leaves alot to be desired. Also, had a skeevy guest try to offer my 14 yr. old son something to "smoke"-- (marijuana or crack pipe) while on the balcony outside my door! Beware-- would never rebook here-- and is ok if only for one or two days.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Janet L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We had a day to kill before heading to New York City so we thought it would be cool to check out Jersey Shore, when we arrived Kevin was Very Helpful ,the price was fair and it included parking and coupons for breakfast, the wifi was free but at times the signal was not strong ( the closer to the office the better the signal was) again it was free!!! so not a big deal.
The staff was friendly and they worked hard keeping the motel clean. the location was close to everything, we went to Johnny"s with our breakfast coupon ,nice little place.
We went to dinner at Klee"s, be warned!!! the food was good but the servers had attitude!!!! ,not to us but others close by, Our server barely cracked a smile or said a word, I still gave a $14 dollar tip on a meal for 4 around $100 , didn't realize they also included an 18% tip on the bill before i tipped so that extra money still didn't even put a smile on the severs face.

Room Tip: check before you tip!!!!! 18% tip included in some meals at restaurants .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Staying Midweek is fine - On weekends the nightclub across the street is open and you can hear the music blasting till after 2 AM. The Sunrise is one of the Cleaner motels in Seaside. The rooms are big and have a kitchen and seating area. However the kitchen is not stocked with anything so you need to bring your own plates, silverware. pots and pans, Glasses Etc. The location is fine just like one block to the Beach and Boardwalk - and in the summer its couple and family's only
Its our First choice when staying in seaside midweek..

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

why is this motel rated so high? are the other hotels that bad in this area.i dont like staying directly across from a night club that has armed security that hangs out in front of motel, the owner wont help with your problems, music blaring from the club and hotel guess all night, and the town is terrible. i traveled to wildwood, ocean city, and point pleasant and i find seaside heights to be far the worse place to stay. nobody takes credit cards, so bring cash and hope not to get robbed. the help at the motel aside from owner tried their "best". this place is not for families!

Room Tip: bring your own kitchen utensils cause there arent any. no microwave or coffee maker.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank petan8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Definately one of the better hotels in Seaside Heights.....(there aren't too many)!!! Seaside Heights itself is wonderful,,been going there for many many years,,,little bit tough to find a nice hotel...Sunrise was clean..staff were very nice and friendly...I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blackrust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seaside Heights
0.3 mi away
Seaside Best Rentals
Seaside Best Rentals
#1 of 7 in Seaside Park
215 reviews
0 mi away
Franklin Terrace Motel
Franklin Terrace Motel
#8 of 39 in Seaside Heights
100 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunset Motel
Sunset Motel
#9 of 39 in Seaside Heights
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bay Breeze Motel
Bay Breeze Motel
#3 of 39 in Seaside Heights
197 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anchor Motel
Anchor Motel
#5 of 39 in Seaside Heights
93 reviews
0.6 mi away
Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River
Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / ...
#27 of 39 in Seaside Heights
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Motel

Address: 202 Boulevard, Seaside Heights, NJ 08751-2506
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Seaside Heights
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Seaside Heights
Price Range: £44 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunrise Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sunrise Motel in Seaside Heights is owned and operated by the Loundy family, who have been welcoming vacationers to the Jersey Shore since 1932. The motel features efficiency suites and luxury suites, accommodating couples and families up to 6 people per room! Our efficiency suites have 2 double beds, a sofa-bed or futon, and a kitchenette. Our luxury suites have 2 queen beds, a full kitchen, bath with jacuzzi tub, and living room with sofa-bed or futon. We are located less than a block from the boardwalk for easy access to the beach, rides, games, and amusements. Our property features a beautiful pool, expansive 150 foot sundeck, free WI-FI, free parking, BBQ grills, and cable TV in each room. All of our rooms are non-smoking, but smoking is permitted in all outdoor areas. During the summer season we also include 2 free badges with each room and free breakfast each morning at a choice of two local restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Sunrise Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Hotel Seaside Heights
Sunrise Motel Seaside Heights, NJ - Jersey Shore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing