We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Charlee Villas by the Beach (Former Palm Villa)
Ranked #19 of 39 Hotels in Seaside Heights
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Do NOT stay here”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2011

This hotel was awful. Dirty, smelly, outdated and barely furnished. No phone to call the front office. Mini fridge wasn't plugged in when we got there. Power went out approx 9pm and no one from the front desk checked on us or gave us any information. When I walked down to check on the situation (power was out in the whole hotel) the manager/front desk person informed me, through puffs of his cigarette, that he didn't know what was going on and wouldn't be calling anyone to find out. There were no hooks or shelves in the bathroom, so when changing/ brushing teeth/ etc you have to put all of your things on the floor!

Here's the real kicker...when leaving I found men's beard/moustache trimmings on the edge of the sink. I was staying in the room with my sister-so this bathroom was clearly not cleaned. I can only imagine what other disgusting things lie in this room. DO NOT STAY HERE! Do not waste your money- it's a dirty dump.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cyndi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    21
    9
    10
    17
See reviews for
35
22
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scranton, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

The staff at the hotel was amazing!!!! room was clean and comfortable enough for 7 of us.... 3 adults and 4 kids for 2 nights..there was a store in the hotel with very good prices (kids loved the $1.20 slushies they sold same ones 1/2 block away on the boardwalk for $4.) very close to casino pier and the beach never a worry in my mind walking around with the children at night . We will be staying for a week next summer =)

Room Tip: Wi-fi does not reach all the rooms call before you stay if it is important also the pool is small bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurene32426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

I traveled for two nights with my husband and 3 yo daughter. Room was ready @ 2:00pm check in as promised. The Staff was friendly and knew what they were doing. We were promised a queen bed (I am 110% sure it was only a Full size) and a pull out couch bed for my Daughter. Room was efficient and clean. There were no extra frills (closets, phone, hair dryers) but this is a party town and can understand how these items can go missing. The air conditioner was AWESOMELY COLD (hottest weekend of the year at 100+ degrees) There was a VERY small pool.. It was cold and Clean and worked well for my 3 year old who does not swim on her own yet. We only have two complaints about the room. (1) There was a large sky light in the middle of our room and that DOES NOT work in trying to get a 3 yo nap or sleep in. Our solution: The couch cushions that are taken off the couch for the pull out bed wedge PERFECTLY in the skylight to block any unwanted light. (2) complaint was the WIFI that was promised for our room did not reach/work in our room. I needed to get some work done and was relying on this feature. You had to sit in the stale hallway to get any kind of weak signal and when it is over 95 degrees at 9:00pm it really does not make for a good evening.

Room Tip: The couch cushions fit perfectally in the skylight to block out sun!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank syoung0413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ontario
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2011

We visited Seaside Heights from June 24 to june 27. This is a very small hotel which made us feel comfortable there quickly. I had some problems checking in due to expedia's failure to do their job. I was really nervous when this happened but the 2 ladys who work the fron desk were amazing and made it a smooth process. The hotel doesnt have a phone or a blow dryer so expect this when you go. The reason is that it is a party town and people damage these things very frequently. The hotel was a 5 minute walk from the boardwalk and the beach. It is also a 3 minute walk from a 24 hour 7-11 which was convenient for us. If you want to go out, you are about 6 blocks from the two big clubs Karma and Bamboo. The people at this hotelmwere so amazing. We couldnt ask for a better experience! Expect what you are getting. This is a beach motel. It is not the hilton. If you go with an open mind you will have a fantastic experience! Thanks to the staff at the Palm Villa Suites! We willnsee you next summer !!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lindsayarmstrong1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2011

So to start, non smoking room, reeked of old cigs. Every surface had a burn mark from a cigarette. The best was the toe or fingernail on the rug that wasn't ours. The were no curtains and right side our window was the lit motel sign. Therefore, even when it was dark it wasn't. The room was super dated. It was just gross. The front desk psrson didn't know about the wifi or the beach passes. And I just got my credit card bill and was charged, adter the fact a weird 8.00, for what, I have no idea.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Treerich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Seaside Heights hotels

Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2010

Recently returned from a two night stay here, after reading many reviews of Seaside's motels. It greatly exceeded my expectations!

First, let me say- you are going to a beach, party-oriented town that's a lot of fun even if you're not a teenager or an MTV guido freak (I'm not.) But DON'T EXPECT THE RITZ AND YOU WON'T BE DISAPPOINTED! Beach motels offer a certain product and Palm delivers.

My room was comfortable and super clean, with a nice flatscreen TV and air conditioning that worked overtime. The bathroom was small but clean and functional. The smaller front room had a pullout bed, small fridge and microwave.

The front desk people were very nice and there's a deli/convenience store on premises. Beach passes were included with my stay.

The location was excellent! Two minute walk to the boardwalk (and the MTV house) or to the bars and restaurants on boulevard.

The only drawback is that our linens were not changed, although I think I missed maid service, and they didn't come back. So that's my fault too.

Overall it was a great stay in Seaside Heights and I'd definitely come back here.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank johnciii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2009

awesome time spent with family and friends at a family reunion that we have done here for 10 years. We set up a tent in the parking lot and party all weekend long! Clean, very friendly, and loyal to their returning customers. Close to all nearby attractions.... Would highly recommend this establishment!!

  • Stayed October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ramrascal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seaside Heights hotels
0.3 mi away
Sea Palace Motel
Sea Palace Motel
#12 of 39 in Seaside Heights
3.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.4 mi away
Franklin Terrace Motel
Franklin Terrace Motel
#3 of 39 in Seaside Heights
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River
Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / ...
#23 of 39 in Seaside Heights
3.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Boardwalk Hotel Charlee & Apartments
Boardwalk Hotel Charlee & Apartm...
#22 of 39 in Seaside Heights
3.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunset Motel
Sunset Motel
#6 of 39 in Seaside Heights
3.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belmont Motel
Belmont Motel
#14 of 39 in Seaside Heights
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Charlee Villas by the Beach (Former Palm Villa)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Charlee Villas by the Beach (Former Palm Villa)

Property: Hotel Charlee Villas by the Beach (Former Palm Villa)
Address: 1211 Boulevard, Seaside Heights, NJ 08751-1909
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Seaside Heights
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 39 Hotels in Seaside Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Charlee Villas by the Beach (Former Palm Villa) 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just one block to the Jersey Shore's Boardwalk and Beach, This hotel is the place to start any visit to the area. We're centrally located to all of Seaside Heights' great attractions, especially if you are looking for large, spacious accommodations for your visit to Seaside Heights. See you here soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Expedia, Evoline ltd, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Charlee Villas by the Beach (Former Palm Villa) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Villa Hotel Seaside Heights
Palm Hotel Seaside Heights
Palm Motel Seaside Heights
Hotel Charlee Villas By The Beach (Former Palm Villa) Seaside Heights, NJ - Jersey Shore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing