We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GOING BACK AGAIN!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Luna-Mar Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Luna-Mar Motel
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Seaside Park
Walden
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“GOING BACK AGAIN!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

We truly enjoyed our stay. The owner and staff were very friendly. Rooms are very clean, free wifi, and complimentary bagels and coffee every morning. The pool is clean and towels are provided.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank April Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    16
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
31
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Arlington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

Came down the shore for 4 nights, drove around looking for a good motel, most motels we stopped at had a lot of teenagers outside partying. We stopped at the Luna Mar and the first thing I noticed was a sign in the window that said 25 years old and older. This caught my eye so we went in to see if rooms were available. The gentleman working the front office was extrmely pleasant, friendly and helpful. He even took us to the room to show it to us before we agreed to stay. No motel does this. I am a Chief Engineer for Marriott so I know a bit about the industry and I am very picky when chossing a place to stay. The room was very clean and definitely a good size to fit our needs. Each room has it own parking spot so you never have to worry about finding a place to park, they offer free coffee and bagels every morning which I found to be a very nice touch, the pool area was very clean and the pool also was very clean and well kept. I can not say enough about the staff, a few words that come to mind are, friendly, helpful, caring. Location is perfect, just cross the street and your on the beach and less then a 10 minute walk to the boardwalk. They also give yu a beach pass to use while you stay there which saves you from paying the daily beach fee. The only small minor issue I saw was, no "Do Not Disturb " signs for the doors so we did get woken up everyday by housekeeping knocking on the door. They will clean your room everyday if you like which is rare for most motels these days. No doubt that this will be the place that we stay everytime we come down the jersey shore.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Domenick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warwick ny
Level Contributor
63 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

The northeast had a rough weather fall We caught a break in early October and headed straight for the Luna Mar, a favorite of ours. The staff is more than accommodating and will help you with all local info. The pace is clean, has wifi, bagels and coffee service every morn, free pizza on Wednesdays and the long boardwalk has free fireworks too. Bring your walking shoes for the boardwalk- all kinds of rides and entertainment. Enjoy their clean pool.
Be sure to visit Island Beach State Park, a few miles away, fishing, great beaches, and nature reserves.
The motel offers a short walk to the beach and and a casual atmosphere that lends to talks and making friends.
Have a great time.
ps: they gave us their cell phone when we had a need to communicate with family.

Room Tip: Get a 2nd floor room with ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank justthefaxmam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westchester County, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2011

Oceanview is what it's all about for us. But, we didn't expect to also get such nice accommodations too! Everything was just right at the Lun Mart!! An appealing, clean and comfortable Queen size room with a view in a quiet area of Seaside Park....about 4 blocks from boardwalk. Nice size pool, complimentary coffee and bagels in the morning and a very friendly, helpful staff. We'll be back!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank martina55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York area
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

I go to Seaside a few times each summer, and the Luna Mar is definitely the best place to stay. The rooms are clean, the beds are made and the rooms cleaned daily (which you can't assume in other motels in Seaside). Free breakfast of bagels & cream cheese & coffee by the pool is nice.We had a motel room and an efficiency. The efficiency had 2 burners, a small frig, a coffeepot, plates, silverware, and a pan but no spatula or other cooking utensils. I've stayed in their apartments before, which were better equipped for cooking than the efficiency. The only other problem I ran into this time was that the front desk didn't let us keep our beach badges for the day when we checked out and return them in the afternoon, which they've always let me do in the past. For what we're paying for the room, I don't understand why they've changed this policy. This hotel is definitely nicer than the Desert Palm (I stayed in both of these hotels in July 2011 on different weekends) in terms of room quality, cleaning of the rooms, and quiet.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sha03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
98 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2011

My husband and I decided to go to Seaside Park, NJ to keep an eye on our 18 year old who rented a house in Seaside Heights with friends so we really didn't expect much from the motel or the area knowing that it is a huge teenager hangout especially on Memorial Day Weekend. Well, we were pleasantly surprised. When I booked the motel they were so pleasant over the phone I started to become excited about the trip. We were going to be spending more time with my 14 year old and 10 year old son because with an 18 yr old and a 20 yr old we always seem to be running around and not enjoying our younger boys. We drove my 18 yr old then drove to our motel. As we were approaching I loved the location. Near the boardwalk but far enough that the noise was not going to bother us at night. The motel was right across the street from the beach and the pool was spotless. After we checked in we walked into our room with a little hesitation but again were surprised. We ended up getting the apartment (all that was left) and there were two seperate bedrooms plus a nice size kitchen with full refrigerator, microwave and a large table for all of us to sit around. The bathroom was small but perfect for us and very clean. They also had bagels and coffee out all morning well into the early afternoon which was perfect for a quick breakfast. I recommend this motel to anyone wanting to have a Jersey Shore/boardwalk experience. There were mostly families in this motel which was great for us and an easy walk to a great boardwalk!! I enjoyed myself so much that we decided to make it a tradition!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank amtrak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston MA
Level Contributor
149 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2010

The motel rooms are very basic and have small fridges. The owners are pleasant and helpful. It's in a quiet part of town. The pool is nice and they keep it clean. The best part is that it is across the street from the ocean beach and they give you beach passes. It's a short walk on the boardwalk to the amusements.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BostonTraveler62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seaside Park
10.3 mi away
Point Pleasant Manor
Point Pleasant Manor
#6 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
5.8 mi away
Days Hotel Toms River Jersey Shore
9.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center Toms River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Windjammer Motor Inn
Windjammer Motor Inn
#2 of 7 in Seaside Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.2 mi away
Desert Palm Inn
Desert Palm Inn
#7 of 7 in Seaside Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.2 mi away
Charlroy Motel
Charlroy Motel
#4 of 7 in Seaside Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luna-Mar Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna-Mar Motel

Property: Luna-Mar Motel
Address: 1201 N Ocean Ave, Corner of North Ocean & L. Street, Seaside Park, NJ 08752-1434
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Seaside Park
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Seaside Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Luna-Mar Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront 2 story motel catering specifically to families and couples. Family owned and operated. Complimentary coffee & bagels daily, free WiFi throughout property, heated pool, parking for 1 auto per unit, free beach badges w/security deposit, 24 hour front desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Luna-Mar Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna-Mar Hotel Seaside Park
Luna Mar Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing