We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unprofessional Staff and Gross Rooms”
Review of Charlroy Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Charlroy Motel
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Seaside Park
Reviewed 6 August 2007

The Charlroy Motel staff is incredibly unprofessional, and tries to act like they're a "family hotel." In Seaside, this is far from the truth. The rooms are gross and smell very musky. I don't think that I would stay here again....especially when there are so many better locations at the Jersey shore.
When you go to a hotel, you'd think the staff would be helpful. Charlroy has no continental breakfast, small rooms that smell, a very touristy NY crowd of white trash families, and nothing spectacular to offer.
Save your $ and go to like Spring Lake or something, or Ocean City....or pretty much ANYWHERE other than Seaside. The woman behind the counter upon check in would probably blend in better as a WalMart greeter.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank PreppyKenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
disneymom57, Sue, Front Desk Reservations at Charlroy Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2008

The title of this review and the review itself contain very bold statements, but where are the details supporting the opinions? The only comment was that the rooms smelled musty, which, when you are located right at the beach, the sea air does waft in the establishments, and can be misinterpreted as musty. Also, the comment about the lady behind the desk blending in better as a Wal-Mart greeter indicated involvng a huge amount of customer interaction. We will take that as she was indeed doing her job and providing terrific customer service. Plus, there were no specific details about what the desk clerk said or did that was unprofessional.
Our establishment provides a continental breakfast on weekends in the spring and fall, which is posted on our website and in our phone messages. During the summer, we offer two beach badges during guests' stays, so they do not have to pay to go on the beach. We have an outdoor pool for guests to enjoy, not to mention that we are located right across the street from the beach and are two blocks away from the amusement piers. We also allow guests the opportunity to come before check-in, even if the room is not ready, so they can get parking, enjoy the beach and the pool. Our guests deeply appreciate these spectacular offers.
We pride ourselves on the fact that there is such a diversity with our guest patronage. A lot of them become friends with the staff and other guests, and offer a lot of interesting perspectives. Now, that is spectacular!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2006

Establishment did not honor extended 6pm check out that was offered and confirmed upon booking. Rude, obnoxious and unprofessional ownership and staff. There are plenty of other Motels within a two block radius (the same proximity to the beach) that offer superior accommodations at a lower cost.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank circussong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
disneymom57, asst manager at Charlroy Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2008

When informed that check out time was at 11am this guest became verbally abusive with the desk clerk and then the owner in from of other guests. His reservations were made during our speing season . During this time we offer late checkouts and continental breakfast which we state on our phone message. His reservation CLEARLY stated that check out was at 11am, as did the sign in sheet that he signed when he checked in....and it is in BOLD print. There are no hotels who offer 6pm check out during the peak season. We offered free parkng for the remainder of the day as well as free beach badges to try to make him happy but he was not satisfied.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2006

I would like to start off by saying that this hotel is in a great location!!! One block to boardwalk and right accross the street from the beach.

When we first arrived at the hotel it was a bit run down but nothing that surprised me because that is what you usually get at most Jersey Shore locations. The lobby was okay but it smelled musty and the floor (carpet )was wet. Still I over-looked this and tried to stay positive. The lady at the front desk was nice enough but you never quite got a very warm feeling from her, she was often short with her answers.

We got the key to our room and I was starting to feel a bit uneasy at this point. When we opened the door the room smelled musty and the carpet in the corner by the window was wet and it smelled of mildew really bad. My daughter now has a rash all over her body that I can't say was caused by the wet carpet but it makes me wonder since she broke out with it one day after we came home.
The bedspreads were old and had a few small holes in them, one of the electrical outlets where the refrig and tv were plugged in hung out of the wall. The bathroom was clean enough but very small not much room to move around.

The pool was okay as well, it was small and took up allot of space in the front of the building where I guess it use to be parking. Parking was tight so you know why the request one car only per room.

All in all I just want to say our stay was not worth the $155.00 a night for the room. I am not sure how many people take these reviews to heart but if you want to have a great Jersey Shore experience spend the extra money and go to Ocean City or Wildwood.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Momofkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Dingmans Ferry
1
Reviewed 7 June 2006

I have been staying here since I was a kid and it has always been great. Always very clean, safe, and convienent to the boardwalk and the ocean. The staff is helpful and willing to accommodate any need. Now my kids love staying here and my family goes back every year.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2006

a place to sit on a porch...drink coffee...and read a good book. the staff is friendly and more than helpful. the heated pool with aquatic art work is adorable as are the rooms .

Thank Virginia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Easton, PA
16
Reviewed 4 October 2005

An overnight stay in a shack would have been better. This motel needs a total overhaul, mildrew smell, missing tiles in bathroom, flies/fleas etc.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2005

Proximity to beach and boardwalk is great. If they tell you the mildew smell in your room goes away once the air conditioner gets running...try to sell them a bridge in Brooklyn. Would definitely expect more for the price, I guess you are paying for the location.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NYJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
disneymom57, Sue, Front Desk Reservations at Charlroy Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2008

We are not sure when this reviewer stayed at our establishment, but the smell referred to most likely was attributed to being in such close proximity to the beach. We were pleased to see that there was mention of our location. In this area, that is worth everything to guests because they do not have to concern themselves with metered street parking if they plan to spend time at the beach and/or boardwalk. There are restaurants, convenience stores, and other places of interest that are within walking distances of our establishment. Guests also receive two beach badges to use during their stay, so they do not have to pay to go on the beach. We provide wireless internet service and allow guests to swim in the pool until 10 at night. We have been told a lot of places don't allow that much of an extended swimming time, so that is always appreciated. These should all be taken into consideration when planning a stay down by the Jersey Shore.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seaside Park
0.1 mi away
Seaside Best Rentals
Seaside Best Rentals
#1 of 7 in Seaside Park
215 reviews
0.9 mi away
Windjammer Motor Inn
Windjammer Motor Inn
#2 of 7 in Seaside Park
140 reviews
0 mi away
Desert Palm Inn
Desert Palm Inn
#7 of 7 in Seaside Park
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Luna-Mar Motel
Luna-Mar Motel
#4 of 7 in Seaside Park
57 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bay Breeze Motel
Bay Breeze Motel
#3 of 39 in Seaside Heights
197 reviews
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
Seaside Beach House
#11 of 39 in Seaside Heights
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlroy Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlroy Motel

Address: 1601 N Ocean Ave, Seaside Park, NJ 08752-1231
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Seaside Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Seaside Park
Price Range: £68 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Charlroy Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Charlroy Motel, a family owned and operated, beach front motel in the heart of Seaside Park, New Jersey. With gracious hospitality and comfortable, clean accommodations, this is the perfect setting for your seashore holiday! Here at the Charlroy, we cater to families and couples. The third generation owner and her family are always on site to welcome you and assure your stay is pleasurable. We have a variety of room types designed to suite your needs and budget. The couple size room has one queen bed and many feature hardwood floors. Our family rooms come with either two queen beds or one queen bed and a set of bunk beds with a kitchenette. All family rooms are newly redecorated and feature refrigerators, microwaves, table and chairs and hard surface flooring. The three room family suite has two bedrooms, living room, two bathrooms and a kitchenette. A sparkling pool and spectacular ocean views greet you at our beachfront motel. All rooms have TV's, personal refrigerators, heat and air conditioning. Other features include free Wi-Fi in all rooms, free beach passes for all paying adults with deposit, a sundeck overlooking the ocean and a newly renovated seasonally heated swimming pool with new lounge chairs. While staying out our hotel, we hope that you take in the beautiful surroundings that our area has to offer. We are located across the street from the beach and one block from the amusements on the famous Seaside Heights boardwalk. From everyone here at Charlroy Motel, we would love to have your family join ours at the shore! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Charlroy Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlroy Motel Seaside Park
Charlroy Hotel Seaside Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing