We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad place to stay”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Seaside Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Island Beach Motor Lodge
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Seaside Park
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We just got back from our stay at the Island Beach Motor Lodge. The motel is located right on a very clean beach and it just is a short walk over the dunes to get there. Our room was a one room efficiency that had a mini kitchen (cooktop, microwave, fridge and sink)
Good Points: Very clean, great beach location that also had a variety of places to eat, very quiet location right at the gates of the state park, beautiful beach that wasn't too crowded, nice to have a small kitchen. For a small deposit they gave you beach passes. Parked right out front of our room, so it was very convenient.
Bad points: There wasn't anywhere to put anything, no hooks in bathroom to hang a robe. There was a very small rod with a few hangers, but I had to use one of the kitchen chairs to set my suitcase on. The mattress was very uncomfortable, by the 2nd night my sister's hip was really bothering her, I would also bring my own pillows next time, the ones they had were so thin.
All in all we enjoyed our stay and probably would go back, just don't expect the Ritz Carlton and maybe bring some pillows and an over the door hook for the bathroom!

Room Tip: If you don't want to carry things upstairs ask for a first floor room, if you would prefer to ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank spcohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2012

We just returned from three nights at Island Beach Motor Lodge and completely enjoye d our stay. The location is perfect, at the quiet end of Seaside next to the state park. Easy beach access with a short walk to the end of the parking lot -- beach tags are provided to guests after payment of a small, refundable deposit. There is a small but adequate heated pool too. The property is within walking distance of several restaurants and a deli where we ate breakfast each morning. Attached to the motel (on the beach end of the building) is Atlantic Bar and Grill--a Zagat-rated restaurant that should not be missed...even if only for a drink and appetizer at the bar. You could easily park your car upon arrival and not move it until check out. Dawn, who sits at the front desk on most days, is a very special lady who took very good care of us. The housekeeping staff did a super job. Our room was "basic beach" accommodations -- it had a queen bed (very comfortable), large dresser, very nice counter-height refrigerator, and good air conditioning. The true test is whether we would stay here again --- Most definitely YES.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BTravelin47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We just returned tonight and we are planning to visit again next summer. The location was PERFECT! A fairly isolated beach away from the boardwalk. It was an easy walk to the beach from our room through a small dune. Even though it was a hot, busy beach day we were able to find a good spot and weren't disturbed. The rooms were clean and safe and our parking was literaly right out our door. It was close to a few restaraunts and a short drive to the boardwalk. It is definietly dated...we used real keys and the bathroom fixtures were blue...but that didn't bother us at all. The only problem was the bed was horrific! The first night I slept ok...the 2nd night neither of us slept. I think housekeeping misunderstood us when they knocked around 11AM when we asked them to go away and they never came back. However, within 2-3 minutes of calling the front desk around 3:30 we had fresh towels and an apology. We plan to head back there next summer.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kym G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

The place has a great location, right on the beach and right next to island beach state park. Gorgeous beach, quiet location, pretty good restaurant or two in walking distance. However, the beds were so uncomfortable none of us could sleep a wink all night. For the price, which was upwards of $250 per night for the Penthouse 5 room, we expect a comfortable bed. Also, the mattresses were both very dirty and old and torn with a lot of stains. Kind of disgusting. For what they get for the night, they should upgrade the mattresses and box springs, which are really unacceptable. The restaurant and outside decks were awesome, really great so overall its a good choice but they really need to upgrade their mattresses, especially in the penthouse rooms.

Room Tip: Penthouse rooms above restaurant have awesome decks, nice kitchens...pretty good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Augustine55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

What a fabulous place.....the motor lodge may be a bit outdated,but clean as can be.The employees are friendly and hard workers.The woman at the front desk,Dawn......what a wonderful,kind,welcoming woman.She made me feel at home and comfortable.I wouldn't hesitate to go back.And if you're looking for a place to stay,just a tiny bit off the beaten path Island Beach Motor Lodge is the place to go!!!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kimmis59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Just stayed here for Memorial Day weekend in an efficiency room. The hotel is dated, but very clean. It is not glamourous or luxurious but compared to the other places to stay in the area, it is one of the nicest. There was a bit of a mildew smell when we first opened the doors, but it went away with the windows open for a while.
The room itself was nice-- with a well equipped kitchenette. The couch bed was really uncomfortable, but would be fine for kids to sleep on. (by day 3 my back was starting to feel it!)
You cannot beat the location for this hotel . It is a short drive to Seaside/The Boardwalk, but you are not in the center of the noise and "interesting people" that the shore attracts. The beach was beautiful, quiet and was mostly families. Very convenient to the room.
Didn't get a chance to try the restaurant but my father said it was really nice and so did the locals.
I would definitely stay here again...as long as i don't have to sleep on the couchbed! ;)

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ccg2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

It is an average motel in a great location. Maybe even a little above average for the Jersey Shore. The beach is right next to the motel and the park is just down the road. The restaurants in the area are mainly so-so, but the restaurant attached to the motel is excellent...and expensive. It is dated and the cleanliness varies. Once when we stayed in the penthouse (great view of the ocean), our daughter stayed on the pull-out couch. She smelled something that we later found to be a baby bottle wedged into the couch. The last time we wanted to stay there one night they had a two-night minimum. We went by there and saw that they had vacancies. They could be a bit more flexible.

Room Tip: There are a number of rooms that have a great view. Ask for them. Once we didn't ask and ended u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LoriCrisster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seaside Park
1.8 mi away
Seaside Best Rentals
Seaside Best Rentals
#1 of 7 in Seaside Park
215 reviews
0.8 mi away
Windjammer Motor Inn
Windjammer Motor Inn
#2 of 7 in Seaside Park
142 reviews
1.6 mi away
Desert Palm Inn
Desert Palm Inn
#7 of 7 in Seaside Park
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Luna-Mar Motel
Luna-Mar Motel
#4 of 7 in Seaside Park
57 reviews
1.7 mi away
Charlroy Motel
Charlroy Motel
#5 of 7 in Seaside Park
119 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bay Breeze Motel
Bay Breeze Motel
#3 of 39 in Seaside Heights
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Beach Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Beach Motor Lodge

Address: 24th and Central Avenue, Seaside Park, NJ 08752
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Seaside Park
Amenities:
Beach Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Seaside Park
Price Range: £27 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 75
Also Known As:
Island Beach Motor Hotel Seaside Park
Island Beach Hotel
Island Beach Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing