We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good shore motel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Island Beach Motor Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Seaside Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Island Beach Motor Lodge
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Seaside Park
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good shore motel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

If you are looking for new modern chain motel keep going. If you are looking for a typical shore motel this is the place. Right on the beach, in fact they have their own private beach aka own lifeguards and free beach pass. Beach is at the end of Seaside Park right before Island Beach State Park. Staff was very friendly and accommodating (allowed us to leave a 2nd car for a couple of days after we checked out). A couple of good restaurants, sandwich shops and breakfast places within walking distance. Restaurant on site is good but expensive. Efficiency unit was spacious and clean with basic kitchenette. Rooms were typically dated but clean. Only one air conditioner in the main room so we had to keep bedroom door open but bedroom did have a ceiling fan and we were comfortable. Bedding was serviceable not great.

Friendly staff, clean rooms, nice beach and location to dining make it worth the stay for family trip to the beach.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JScarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    33
    13
    5
    3
See reviews for
33
24
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

my husband and i had a wedding to go to and rather then staying with friends we decided to stay here. my mother always stays here when visiting the beach and it was just what we needed. the location was great and growing up in seaside park it was nice to be back in town. the people were so nice and helpful with anything we needed. would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

We just got back from our stay at the Island Beach Motor Lodge. The motel is located right on a very clean beach and it just is a short walk over the dunes to get there. Our room was a one room efficiency that had a mini kitchen (cooktop, microwave, fridge and sink)
Good Points: Very clean, great beach location that also had a variety of places to eat, very quiet location right at the gates of the state park, beautiful beach that wasn't too crowded, nice to have a small kitchen. For a small deposit they gave you beach passes. Parked right out front of our room, so it was very convenient.
Bad points: There wasn't anywhere to put anything, no hooks in bathroom to hang a robe. There was a very small rod with a few hangers, but I had to use one of the kitchen chairs to set my suitcase on. The mattress was very uncomfortable, by the 2nd night my sister's hip was really bothering her, I would also bring my own pillows next time, the ones they had were so thin.
All in all we enjoyed our stay and probably would go back, just don't expect the Ritz Carlton and maybe bring some pillows and an over the door hook for the bathroom!

Room Tip: If you don't want to carry things upstairs ask for a first floor room, if you would prefer to ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spcohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopedale, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

We just returned from three nights at Island Beach Motor Lodge and completely enjoye d our stay. The location is perfect, at the quiet end of Seaside next to the state park. Easy beach access with a short walk to the end of the parking lot -- beach tags are provided to guests after payment of a small, refundable deposit. There is a small but adequate heated pool too. The property is within walking distance of several restaurants and a deli where we ate breakfast each morning. Attached to the motel (on the beach end of the building) is Atlantic Bar and Grill--a Zagat-rated restaurant that should not be missed...even if only for a drink and appetizer at the bar. You could easily park your car upon arrival and not move it until check out. Dawn, who sits at the front desk on most days, is a very special lady who took very good care of us. The housekeeping staff did a super job. Our room was "basic beach" accommodations -- it had a queen bed (very comfortable), large dresser, very nice counter-height refrigerator, and good air conditioning. The true test is whether we would stay here again --- Most definitely YES.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BTravelin47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baldwinville
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

We just returned tonight and we are planning to visit again next summer. The location was PERFECT! A fairly isolated beach away from the boardwalk. It was an easy walk to the beach from our room through a small dune. Even though it was a hot, busy beach day we were able to find a good spot and weren't disturbed. The rooms were clean and safe and our parking was literaly right out our door. It was close to a few restaraunts and a short drive to the boardwalk. It is definietly dated...we used real keys and the bathroom fixtures were blue...but that didn't bother us at all. The only problem was the bed was horrific! The first night I slept ok...the 2nd night neither of us slept. I think housekeeping misunderstood us when they knocked around 11AM when we asked them to go away and they never came back. However, within 2-3 minutes of calling the front desk around 3:30 we had fresh towels and an apology. We plan to head back there next summer.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kym G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

The place has a great location, right on the beach and right next to island beach state park. Gorgeous beach, quiet location, pretty good restaurant or two in walking distance. However, the beds were so uncomfortable none of us could sleep a wink all night. For the price, which was upwards of $250 per night for the Penthouse 5 room, we expect a comfortable bed. Also, the mattresses were both very dirty and old and torn with a lot of stains. Kind of disgusting. For what they get for the night, they should upgrade the mattresses and box springs, which are really unacceptable. The restaurant and outside decks were awesome, really great so overall its a good choice but they really need to upgrade their mattresses, especially in the penthouse rooms.

Room Tip: Penthouse rooms above restaurant have awesome decks, nice kitchens...pretty good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Augustine55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paterson, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

What a fabulous place.....the motor lodge may be a bit outdated,but clean as can be.The employees are friendly and hard workers.The woman at the front desk,Dawn......what a wonderful,kind,welcoming woman.She made me feel at home and comfortable.I wouldn't hesitate to go back.And if you're looking for a place to stay,just a tiny bit off the beaten path Island Beach Motor Lodge is the place to go!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimmis59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seaside Park
6.3 mi away
Days Hotel Toms River Jersey Shore
12.1 mi away
Point Pleasant Manor
Point Pleasant Manor
#6 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
4.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Toms River
Comfort Inn Toms River
#4 of 11 in Toms River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Windjammer Motor Inn
Windjammer Motor Inn
#2 of 7 in Seaside Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
2.0 mi away
Desert Palm Inn
Desert Palm Inn
#7 of 7 in Seaside Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
2.0 mi away
Charlroy Motel
Charlroy Motel
#4 of 7 in Seaside Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Beach Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Beach Motor Lodge

Property: Island Beach Motor Lodge
Address: 24th and Central Avenue, Seaside Park, NJ 08752
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Seaside Park
Amenities:
Beach Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Seaside Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 75
Also Known As:
Island Beach Motor Hotel Seaside Park
Island Beach Hotel
Island Beach Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing