We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great vacation at the desert palm inn”
Review of Desert Palm Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Desert Palm Inn
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Seaside Park
Reviewed 19 August 2013

my partner and i stayed here from 8/6 to 8/9 2013 and had another great vacation in seaside park. We just love this hotel. we went down in March to see how seaside looked and decided to stop at the desert palm inn to make a reservation for our summer vacation. the owner showed us a few different room options. We decided to book the ocean view 3rd floor . Owner said he was not sure which room we would have depending on groups coming in and needing 2 rooms next to each other but i told him I wanted room 140, best view on third floor. We left a one night deposit on our credit card and went on our way.

fast forward 5 months later to when we go to check in.

We arrived at 11 am, 3 hours before the check in time. When I walked into the office the owner was there doing paperwork. he looked up at me and said Good morning Mr. ken Ritter Rm 140 right? Nice warm welcome . He remembers me from staying there for the past 4 years and always greats me by name. What a Great personal touch.

Since we were early , I asked if it was ok to leave the car in the parking lot and get some beach badges, free with a 2 night stay but you have to leave a 50.00 deposit per badge. So budget that into the cash you bring. As long as you give the beach pass back, you get your deposit back so bring 50.00 cash for each person staying with you. It cost 10.00 per person to get on the beach directly across the street from the hotel. It saved us 80.00 dollars for the 4 days we were there.

Location- The hotel is like 2 - 3 blocks to the seaside boardwalk . I am lazy as hell and it was a short easy walk to the Mid-way to get our favorite sausage sandwich each night, and yes, we ate a sausage sandwich each night and loved every one of them. The beach was right across the street room from the hotel. I mean 2 minutes and you where at your spot on the beach.

Room- we had a 3rd floor ocean view room and it was great. We spent a lot of time out on the balcony watching the ocean, and the people walking by while drinking beers, bloody marys in the morning and Iced tea and vodka in the evening. We had 2 double beds, a mini fridge, microwave, a desk and a big chair with a foot rest in our room, along with a small flat screen tv in our room. Bathroom was small but it worked. The only negative was tv had very few channels and alot of them fuzzy reception. No Weather channel for the area was a bummer. The free WIFI was horrible this trip. In the past years I had fast and great service. This year, i think a seagull ate the router on the roof.

The reason why we return year after year- The people who run this hotel are fantastic.From the owner who greets you by name each day to Greg who always seems to be there ready to help all the time. I do not know when this man sleeps. I have been outside to smoke at 3 am and he is there, every time I looked , there he was. Every day was offered maid service but just asked for towels and trash to be removed and it was done.

Extras- Each morning they offered a serve your - self breakfast. They had coffee, OJ, mini bagels with cream cheese and butter, doughnuts, mini muffins and make your own waffles. Not really a breakfast person but had a waffle and a bagel each day along with juice and coffee. Breakfast was from 7am till 10 am everyday. This alone could save you some serious cash and really hit the spot and hold you over till lunch.

They also have a decent size heated pool that i used every morning even before the 10 am opening time. breakfast, pool, bloody marys on the balcony was not a bad way t start everyday.

Ice machine- what a godsend this was. Free ice anytime you wanted it to fill your cooler for the beach, have ice in your room, even to keep your cold items cold for the ride home.

When we got there early on our first day they let us park our car early and get beach badges before check in which saved us money. Then again on our last day, check-out was 10 am. Again they let us keep our car in the parking lot and left us use the beach badges and swim in the pool and use the showers till we left hours after check-out. Again save us alot of money.

The always YES YOU CAN attitude of the owner and staff are the reasons we keep coming back to this hotel. it is close to the action but yet far enough away to be a peaceful at night. i have stayed in seaside for the last 25 years and will always choose this hotel. the owner and staff are the best. Keep up the good work.

Ken Ritter

Room Tip: Third or second floor ocean view rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jerseyshorelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2013

If you are trying to find the perfect family hotel/motel in the Seaside area, this is it, look no further. They have make your own waffles every morning along with pasteries, coffee, tea, on, and lemonade. The pool is very clean and large enough to have your own space. The room we stayed in was a little small, but it was clean. Beds were good. Bathroom was clean. Housekeeping staff went out of their way to make sure all your needs are met. The front desk guy is awesome, so friendly and helpful. The location of this hotel makes it "prime real estate". You walk across the street and you are at seaside park beach, the quiet side of town. Yet close enough (two blocks) away from the boardwalk.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank seashellsearcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Love this motel! We stayed here for two nights with our 8 month old baby in July 2013. The location is perfect...you park your car and never need it again! You are steps away from the boardwalk and directly across from the ocean. The room was great, and accommodated the pack n play for the baby....I thought it was kept very clean and felt comfortable sleeping and showering with no issues. The staff are very professional and SO nice. The pool is fantastic, although they could have a few more chairs out there for the guests. Will always stay here when visiting Seaside Park!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelQueen3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Please don't fret previous reviews; this place has been re-mananged and renovated and has a great location on the beach. King rooms with jacuzzis and flat screens by the tub are amazing. Highly recommended - clean, affordable and friendly helpful staff! You won't regret it!

Room Tip: Large and Sunny Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Leonard V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

I have stayed at each motel in Seaside Park and this past September my cousin booked the Dessert Palm. The "Tiki Bar" appealed to her. Well.... Upon entering the room and looking in the bathroom there was long hairs in the shower, sink and on the floor. I'm guessing this bathroom wasn't cleaned at all. This prompted me to shift the mattress over a little and there it was, little dark specks along the mattress seems and also on the box spring. These are signs of BED BUGS. This place is filthy, I'm not sure how anybody can say anything nice about this place besides its location. If you do decide to try this place make sure you check the mattress before you sit on or get in the beds. We didnt stay the night

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Solaris1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

I stayed here for two nights in August and was very pleased. The motel was very clean and the owner very helpful. It is not easy to find a decent hotel on the Jersey Shore and the prices are very high. This motel was reasonable and right across from the beach......and at the end of the Seaside Heights boardwalk. We did not need our car at all...which is a real plus! The pool was sparkling clear and we enjoyed it very much. Another plus is that you are provided with beach badges. I would definitely go back to this hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ellen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Reasonable rates, very friendly staff, across the street from beach, 2 beach passes included, clean room, balcony (shared) has table & chairs for each room facing ocean, nice warm pool w/ lounge chairs (bring your own beach towels), and after checkout, you can use the amenities for the day. Everything we hoped for! Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gypsyhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seaside Park
0.1 mi away
Seaside Best Rentals
Seaside Best Rentals
#1 of 7 in Seaside Park
215 reviews
5.7 mi away
Days Hotel Toms River Jersey Shore
0.9 mi away
Windjammer Motor Inn
Windjammer Motor Inn
#2 of 7 in Seaside Park
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Charlroy Motel
Charlroy Motel
#5 of 7 in Seaside Park
119 reviews
0.2 mi away
Luna-Mar Motel
Luna-Mar Motel
#4 of 7 in Seaside Park
57 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bay Breeze Motel
Bay Breeze Motel
#3 of 39 in Seaside Heights
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Palm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Palm Inn

Address: 1505 N Ocean Ave, Seaside Park, NJ 08752-1230
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Seaside Park
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Seaside Park
Price Range: £46 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Desert Palm Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Desert Palm Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Palm Hotel Seaside Park
Desert Palm Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing