We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rowdy drunken idiots keep you up half the night” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Desert Palm Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Desert Palm Inn
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Seaside Park
Rutherford, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rowdy drunken idiots keep you up half the night”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Rooms small, floors covered with silt of sand despite maid service, cable TV gets maybe ten or twelve stations, two of them HBO. Toilet mechanism kept going on blink. Showers functional but very cramped. But the real kicker is a bunch of rowdy, drunken revelers, many of whom gather outside the rental office at a table all day and well into the night, making enough noise to raise the dead. I brought this to management's attention, indeed had to address some of these idiots myself, and management just smiled -- "oh, the security guard was here." Yeah, right. Also, the parking lot is crammed with SUVs and you can enter nose first, but you have to back into the main road to get out. Recommendation: avoid Seaside Heights and Seaside Park hotels altogether. Tradewinds Motor Lodge in Lavallette is much nicer, and it's got wonderful bakery on the corner, Italian restaurant right across the street, and is a very short block from the ocean.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron4Sure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    30
    15
    7
    29
See reviews for
47
34
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Great location. Directly across the street from Beach. Within walking distance to beach and boardwalk. But far enough away from noise. Pool was decent size and heated. Room was dated but clean. Disappointed that room was not what was quoted on the phone. Paid extra for deluxe room with 2 queen beds and private deck. Room had 2 double beds and deck was not private.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macungie, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

My hubby and I just returned from our little stay in Seaside Park. We enjoyed our accommodations at the Desert Palm Inn. We had room 148 the king room with the large tub. We had plenty of hot water and our view of the ocean was just amazing. We had our morning coffees and ate our picnic lunch on the deck-- overlooking the ocean. The staff was very friendly. The other guests were quiet and lots of well behaved kids made for a sweet stay. This hotel is in a super location. And the GM always had a smile. Yes , there were some details that could have been addressed within the room but they certainly were minor. For this area , this hotel is great and the four circle rating does not equate to a four or five star rating of properties I have stayed at around the country. I am pleased with the nicer, cleaner, quieter Seaside heights boardwalk and the beautiful beach of Seaside Park-- we have stayed in so many hotels / rentals in Seaside and this is one we would certainly return to next year.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelswithhubby2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dspinseaside1, General Manager at Desert Palm Inn, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Sir,Madam,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey. Feedback from our guests is very important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay.

Thank you so much for your business and we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Sincerely
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I travel to the NJ shore just about every year hoping that this will be the year we find a nice hotel. Each year we are disappointed, and this year was no different. After reading the reviews for the Desert Palm Inn we were hopeful, but the accommodations were shabby. We requested a non-smoking room, but all the rooms are smoking. Wish I knew that before we booked. The room, the bedding, curtains, smelled like an ashtray. The manager assured us that the room was non smoking and gave us a can of air freshener. The bed spread had three cigarette burn holes in it, the lamp shades were torn, the desk and chair had cigarettes burns, the mattress had no mattress cover on it, the bath room was gross, hot water was iffy, the bath room door had a hole in it, the floor was covered with sand (we had to request housekeeping to vacuum), the window was not seated in its frame very well, the parking lot is jammed, and we spent over $500 for an uncomfortable 3 night stay. Yes there is a "breakfast", and the staff was friendly, and the pool is ok, but I wont stay there again. It's a shame because with a little work the place could be decent.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Marks1Babe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Seaside Park hotels

Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

Rooms are small but that's the beach. Ocean view fron 2nd floor. Baths are tight - shower is maybe 30"x30". Toilet paper is the thinest I have ever seen. Management is good. WiFi works fine. Only a hundred yards or so from Funtown Pier. The property is probably above average for the beach area, below average for most travelers. There are no phones in the room, 24" TV. There is a small fridge and microwave.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manlius, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Located right across the street from the beach, the Desert Palm Inn was the hotel we stayed in after we bailed out of our previous hotel which we found bed bugs in. We made our reservation at around midnight, intending to come over in a few minutes, and the manager was very hospitable despite the late hour we came in. The hotel is typical for the price range in the Seaside Heights area; it shows it's age, and the beds are a little stiff, but it's maintained well and kept quite clean. The manager was very responsive to all of our requests, and overall, we were relieved to have a reasonable hotel at such short notice in such a good location.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

Just got back from Seaside Park. Dessert Palm Inn has been our choice since it was recommended by my brother-in-law. It has a good location, steps away from the beach and boardwalk. The owner is very accommodating. If you're not looking for a fancy place to stay in, this is a an excellent place to be. You get what you pay for and a little bit more. Love the Tiki bar and the heated pool. We walk everyday at sunrise, the beach is so close, you can see it through our windows and sitting outside looking at the sunset was awesome. Joe&Joy.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Joy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seaside Park
0.5 mi away
Sea Palace Motel
Sea Palace Motel
#12 of 39 in Seaside Heights
3.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
10.1 mi away
Point Pleasant Manor
Point Pleasant Manor
#6 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
5.8 mi away
Days Hotel Toms River Jersey Shore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Windjammer Motor Inn
Windjammer Motor Inn
#2 of 7 in Seaside Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.4 mi away
Franklin Terrace Motel
Franklin Terrace Motel
#3 of 39 in Seaside Heights
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.0 mi away
Charlroy Motel
Charlroy Motel
#4 of 7 in Seaside Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Palm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Palm Inn

Property: Desert Palm Inn
Address: 1505 N Ocean Ave, Seaside Park, NJ 08752-1230
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Seaside Park
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Seaside Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Desert Palm Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Desert Palm Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Palm Hotel Seaside Park
Desert Palm Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing