We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No !!!!”
Review of Royal Motel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Secaucus
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Royal Motel
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Secaucus
Reviewed 11 December 2013

I must say this hotel should not be called a hotel to begin with, because the front desk is rude, and grouchy, the rooms are ugly and not modern to fit my needs, and not to mention the un clean and cheap atmosphere of the room. I will be going somewhere else next time and telling others as well. Not making same mistake twice.

Room Tip: Do not choose any rooms here at ALL !!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Yash M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (8)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 8 of 8 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2013

We work on the road and MIGHT be home forty days a year so I have seen them all when it comes to hotels. I don't feel some of the other reviews reflect this hotel at all. We are staying in the handicapped room and the shower is where I want to go when I die--very comfortable and sizable. The base board radiator heat can be a bit much but you just turn on the air conditioner to moderate it to your taste. Our room is very comfortable, the clerks have never hesitated to tell me where to locate a store, restaurant, or service and the maid service which seems to work most of the day and night is always polite and happy to resupply anything I might need. This hotel is like an oyster, kinda beat up on the outside, a little old, kinda rough around the edges BUT inside it is all very good. Our second night here we met a local couple coming out of a room; they come here 3 nights a week to use one of the jacuzzi rooms for his back so yes they do rent rooms by the hour but it is NOT that kind of hotel so don't worry about that. Apparently, the other reviewer thought the Internet Wi-Fi was going to be his home service but it is not. However, it is not bad and overall I have had worse at much higher prices. The lobby looks a bit "sketchy" but I think it is because all the money is going into the rooms. It is a cheaper hotel so I guess the other reviewers thought they should be getting the Hilton for Motel 6 prices. I will never stay anywhere else anytime I am in the Manhattan area again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank armetisius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

As a frequent guest of the royal i would say that is the best value for your money. It is nothing fancy but clean and accomodating. Staff could be a litle nicer but hey you cant have evetything. The motel is also close to everything.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmmapeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012 via mobile

For this price $85 and location, it was great, comfortable and safe.. I will rent it again when I come back next time

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank obooor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

I stayed at the Royal Motel for a little under a week and for the most part enjoyed my stay very much. The Motel is older but the rooms and beds were CLEAN. This matters above all and I was thankful for it. The cost is very affordable and I recommend it. I will say that counter space was lacking so if you are eating your meals in your room, I recommend booking a kitchenette.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kenbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2004

Had to stay here for 3 weeks when we moved from L.A. and were looking for an apartment in NYC. This place is reasonable on a weekly rate. It's super close to NYC (a 15 minute bus ride away). Unfortunately, it's your basic skanky no-tell motel. It also charges by the hour and has free porn, so you can imagine the types of people that are drawn to it. Oh, there are also lots of permanent residents. It seemed there was always interesting characters hanging around, including pimps and hookers. As for the rooms, they're large and have hot plates and refrigerators, however you don't want to walk around without your shoes on. Especially in the bathroom. The rooms seem like they've never been cleaned and have a smell of mildew and I dread to think what else. The walls are paper thin so you can hear people having parties (which usually start at 3:00 a.m.). We were unlucky enough to get a room next to the honeymoon suite. It has mirrored walls and ceilings and a jacuzzi, which makes the acoustics seem like you're right in the room. HORRIBLE!! Keep on driving and don't stop here!!

22  Thank Disco_Supafly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Secaucus hotels
1.5 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Secaucus/Meadowlands
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands
0.5 mi away
Meadowlands River Inn
Meadowlands River Inn
#2 of 15 in Secaucus
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Secaucus/Meadowlands
0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Secaucus / Meadowlands
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Secaucus Meadowlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Motel

Address: Rt 3 West Service Road, Secaucus, NJ 07094
Region: United States > New Jersey > Secaucus
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Secaucus
Number of rooms: 50
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Secaucus
Royal Motel Secaucus, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing