We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun with grandchildren” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Field Station: Dinosaurs - MOVED

Field Station: Dinosaurs
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Field Station: Dinosaurs is a thrilling dinosaur expedition featuring 30 life-sized animatronic dinosaurs (including the ninety foot long Argentinosaurus). Meet a 15-foot T-Rex puppet, enjoy our new 3D movie and see the park come to life with dinosaur wranglers and troubadors at this interactive outdoor adventure in New Jersey's Overpeck Park.
Hackensack, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun with grandchildren”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Took our 3 & 6 year old grandchildren and we all had a great time. Did not know what to expect so there were no let-downs. Bought reduced price tickets on Goldstar so thought the entry price was fair but $10 for parking steep. Went first weekend in Nov so not crowded or hot. Kids thought dinosaurs were very life like and more fun to see than Natural History "bones only" dinosaurs. They loved the shows at the Outback Theatre. Didn't have time for all the workshops or movie. Kids want to return which says it all. Helena P

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank helena p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    43
    32
    10
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Milford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great for young children”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

My grandson has been wanting to go since it opened in 2012, but at $40 a person I just couldn't justify it. From now until the end of October on Friday & Saturday nights, they are doing Dinosaures after Dark. It's from 7 to 9 pm. I got an email from a members only group for 1/2 price tickets ($20) & decided for that price we would go. This unique family experience includes an eerie presentation on the ghosts of Snake Hill to set the mood, a special nighttime edition of our family Olympics style T-Rex games, a dinosaur sing-a-long with a spectacular view of the New York City skyline and, of course, a campfire complete with roasted marshmallows and s’mores.We were split uP into groups of about 20 & were given a guide & flashlights. It was interesting, but my 13 year old grandson thought some of it was lame even though he is autistic. In addition thed seeing the dinosaurs & learning about them, we also learned about the area it was built on which was pretty interesting. This is good for small children (probably ages 3 to 7 or 8). It was interesting, but not enough for a rt=eturn trip

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank PatB0912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edison, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't waste your time or money.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

While the size of the dinosaur models is in itself educational, the rest of the "park" is totally lacking. From the dusty parking lot to the makeshift play stations, rude staff, and the other attractions are rather pathetic. A visitor is left with the impression that the dinosaurs were so costly that the remaining programs and shows were created with petty cash. The total experience does not justify the rather large price of admission.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montvale, New Jersey
Level Contributor
37 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Trip back in time, if your a kid”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

We took a trip to Field Station Dinosaur with our Grandson. The drive was surprisingly pleasant and easy. We arrived shortly after it opened and were the third vehicle in the parking lot. We had accessed our tickets on line and they were cheaper than if we had purchased them on site. The staff was friendly and helpful to everyone. The shows were presented with great enthusiasm and the children seemed to enjoy the presentation. The park was clean and safe for the young children. Each child could name most of the dinosaurs at the establishment. Our grandson is five and he thoroughly enjoyed the models . I would say that was a perfect age as older children would see the projects as big stuffed animations. There were limited venues to eat and only available items were hamburgers and pretzels as the other stations were not in operation. All in all , it was a fun activity , but not worth a school field trip as there was little factual information

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Kess5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City, New Jersey
2 reviews
“Jurassic Park”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

It was a fun place with multiple activities, It was a unique and a fun experience for kids. Would be much better if kids are allowed to touch and feel the dinosaurs

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Raj R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Field Station: Dinosaurs also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing