We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super friendly staff, great value and easy acces to NYC via the train.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Secaucus
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Secaucus
Reviewed 13 March 2013 via mobile

What a great stay for my week working in NYC. The staff was super friendly and helpful, the value was terrific and it was easy to take the train into the city each day. The hotel shuttle runs to and from the Secaucus junction station all day. NYC is one stop away so you are in Penn Station in 10 minutes.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timalnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

69 - 75 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2013

Our week-long stay at Candlewood was enhanced by the helpful staff and the amenities available at this property. They provided transportation to and from the local NJ transit train station. The connection from Secaucus Junction to Penn Station allowed us to easily visit many attractions just across the river in New York City every day. The room we occupied was very clean and well maintained. Having a kitchen allowed us to eat some of our meals in the room, which was a savings for us. This property also maintains an affiliation with the local LA Fitness, which was used daily by one of our party. Overall, I would recommend Candlewood Suites in Secaucus, and believe the we will stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

We weren't expecting to have such a good quality service here. Rooms are more like apartments - very very large, with kitchen included. Everything was clean and neat and we even had two tvs with hd channels and free internet and parking.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a view of the Manhattan skyline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vladpke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

we have stayed in this hotel 3 out the 4 yrs it has been open.each stay was about two or three months long and we couldnt have asked for better service! the manager, mehul and his whole staff catered to us for everything from faxes,shuttle rides, mail, an upgrade, info,cleaning and even shared take out lunch. we also had a problem with our truck and mehul jumped the battery twice for us which went above the call as far as were concerned and we were very grateful.we work in this area occasionally and will definately be back.we highly recommend this facility to all we know who will visit the secaucus/manhatten area, it is our home away from home.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank horsewld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2012

I stayed here for over a week and my room was okay but my room smelled like cigarettes I do not smoke, and they had no rooms to change since they were sold out. after I checked out I was charged $200 and it took me three weeks to get my money back and the manager never even apologized to me after I filed a formal complaint with Holiday inn. The staff was friendly when I checked and it was my after I check out I was very disappointed in the way they handled it, I would not stay at this hotel again because of the treatment that I got from the manager, otherwise it's a decent hotel in a decent location with plenty of parking that they don't charge for. Make sure you bring your own food with you even though the cupboard is stocked there's no restaurants that are within walking distance except for the gentleman's club down the street.

Stayed: October 2012
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Secaucus, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2012

Dear KClevenger71,

Thank you for posting a review of our property. I apologize you were not fully satisfied with the room and the service you received during your stay. We just want to assure you that our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. We apologize that we fell below your expectations on this particular day. We have taken note of your valuable comments regarding the staff and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future, and hopefully on such occasion we can start to rebuild your trust in our hotel.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We chose this place as a base to explore NYC because we couldn't stomach the thought of paying crazy NYC hotel prices for small, unsatisfactory rooms. We spent the money we saved on renting a small car and drove into the city everyday.. while it's only a 15 minute drive, do note that the toll is $12 to get into the city everytime!! Once in, though, it's pretty close to the Broadway area, which was pretty great!! Our favourite part of our stay was the facilities.. they have a fully equipped pantry -yeah, pans, induction stove, fridge, right in the room! Neighbourhood was quiet and seemed pretty safe.. and there was free access to the gym and complimentary laundry room! We would've paid alot more in the city and gotten much less, so overall, we were pretty satisfied!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KuDeborah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Room and beds were comfortable, hotel uninspiring. However the attitude of staff, including telephone receptionist Tatyana, was outstanding. Shuttle to railway to NYC is a blessing, but be aware that it only runs at certain times, and not in rain! You need a car to eat in the neighbourhood, hotel facility will only keep you from starving (toast, chocolates, cereals, sodas, etc.)
The way kitchen is incorporated in the 'suite' is not very pleasing.

Room Tip: away from main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mosolygo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Secaucus, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2012

Dear mosolygo,

Thank you for taking the time to relay your comments regarding our property during your recent stay. It's nice to see that you liked the beds. I also appreciate the compliments on the staff and the level of service provided. We are sorry the kitchen area in the room fell below your expectations. Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

To better assist you on your next stay, please do not hesitate to approach the manager on duty.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Secaucus hotels
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Secaucus / Meadowlands
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Secaucus Meadowlands
1.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Secaucus Meadowlands
1.3 mi away
Meadowlands River Inn
Meadowlands River Inn
#2 of 15 in Secaucus
735 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Secaucus/Meadowlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Secaucus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Secaucus

Address: 279 Secaucus Rd, Secaucus, NJ 07094-2117
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Secaucus
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Secaucus
Price Range: £90 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Secaucus 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Candlewood Suites Extended Stay Hotel Secaucus Jersey City New York City Area. The Candlewood Suites Secaucus - Jersey City hotel is a member of Priority Club and the IHG family of brands which includes InterContinental, Crowne Plaza, Hotel Indigo, Holiday Inn and Staybridge Suites hotels. Specialized in extended stay, the Candlewood Suites is perfect for government (per diem), project teams, training, relocation, temporary and corporate housing needs. The Candlewood Suites hotel is centrally located near NJ TNPK exit 15X, I-95 & Route 3. Our location offers near access to Newark, Jersey City and New York City. The Candlewood Suites extended stay hotel is minutes from Harborside Financial Center, Exchange Place, Newport Financial Center, Harmon Meadows Outlet Shopping, Panasonic, Meadowlands Xanadu, Izod Center, MLB Networks, UPS, Javits Center, Newark EWR Airport (15 miles) and Secaucus Train Station (5 minutes).The Candlewood Suites offers apartment like suites with all of the conveniences of home to suit your extended stay or short term real estate needs. Our pet friendly hotel (fee) offers studio and one bedroom apartment like suites featuring fully-equipped kitchens, spacious living and work area, 32' LCD TVs with DVD player and free Internet. Other features include meeting room, 24-hour business center, free laundry facilities, fitness center, courtyard with grills and our signature Candlewood Cupboard convenience store. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Candlewood Suites Secaucus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Secaucus Hotel Secaucus
Secaucus Candlewood Suites
Candlewood Suites Secaucus New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing