We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not much for the price...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Secaucus Meadowlands
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Secaucus
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I stayed at this hotel for twelve nights while teaching a course in New York City. This place seemed very difficult to find, even with a very good GPS. We were paying appx. $230 a night for a "standard room." The room was clean and comfortable and the rate did include free parking in their garage. Still, for that rate, I expected much more. The room did not have a microwave or fridge in it, which is standard at a Hilton Garden Inn (which is what this property should be comparable to).The room had a coffee maker, but who really enjoys hotel room coffee? Apparently they are working on such a tight profit margin at these (and much higher) rates, they couldn't even put out a large coffee carafe for their guests at any time of the day. Breakfast was available for purchase at an overpriced bistro, but the tight profit margin kept them from setting out brown-bag to-go breakfasts like one finds at Hampton Inns. The ceiling light in my bathroom started making a very high pitched, very loud sound on my second night there. I reported it to the front desk and they first asked if I wanted another room...they would upgrade me to a suite. "Oops, sorry, no suites are available right now, we'll send the engineer up tomorrow." He arrived, replaced a part in the light and assured me that it would not be making that noise again. The following night it started again and the following day I again reported it to the front desk. There was no offer of an upgrade, but they did move me to the room adjacent to my original one. Adjacent to the hotel is an Outback Steakhouse and a Carraba's and their are other places to eat a short walk away. Overall, the hotel was a decent place to eat, but it was overpriced for the amenities that they provided.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (265)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

134 - 140 of 265 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2013

This hotel is what you would expect from a Courtyard. It is clean and the rooms are good size. It has plenty of parking onsite and there are many restaurants within walking distance. It is part of a large shopping complex called Harmon Meadow. It is a little noisy from the parking garage side but not too terrible. I did try to make a change to my reservation and I was transferred several times between the front desk, reservations, and the front desk again. They need to work on that part of customer service but overall I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tek1025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

We had a very good experience with the Courtyard. The room was spacious, comfortable and very clean. I was very appreciative of a special check in request that was easily accommodated. This is a great NJ hotel for easily visiting NYC. The only negative was that there was only one elevator for 7 floors working.

Stayed: October 2013
Thank kym72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

My sons and I spent three nights at this hotel, using it solely as a place to sleep while visiting NYC. The location was ideal, being right across the street from the bus that takes you right into Times Square. The room was clean, although a bit small. No breakfast was included, but then again that's the case in all Courtyard hotels by Marriott so I'm not sure why people are surprised by this. We brought our own beverages for the mini fridge as well as Pop Tarts and snacks, which was all we needed. The elevators were very slow but since we were on the second floor, we just used the steps. We stayed here because I had enough Marriott points to stay for free, so it was well worth it. Not sure I would choose this hotel if I actually had to pay for it, though.

Room Tip: Stay on lower floor in case elevators are slow or not working.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SBGAL2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Would go back and convenient to visit NYC. Bus stop is 1 minute walking distance. Restaurants and shops near by. Hotel is clean but lack free breakfast and pool. Free parking is nice and friendly staff.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank BigBrofactory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

The hotel offers a great first impression - nice building in an area with many services, free level parking, gorgeous lobby!!

But then...incredibly slow elevators leading to average rooms. No pool whatsoever. No breakfast included, not even free coffee in the lobby, just an overpriced bistro. No free toiletries available at front desk if you forgot something at home.

It was not a bad place...but I expected more from a Marriott. I've travelled a lot this past year and most hotels just offer a lot more for this rate.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank meemsikins99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Stayed here at this Marriott property for 2 nights this past weekend. The best asset of the hotel is its location. With that said, I would definately pay a little more and return to the Embassy Suites (Hilton property) or the Hyatt Place. Both are excellent properties. Marriott recently put a great amount of money into remodeling the lobby of this hotel. Added a real nice bistro cafe for breakfast. Unfortunately, the prices reflect the money that was spent! Considering the neighboring hotels offer free breakfasts, I had difficulty paying $10pp for an average breakfast. The front desk staff were trained, but offered no smiles or personality at all. Definately did not give a warm reception or go out of their way at all. Did however, do what was requested of them. Our room was very average, nothing outstanding. Amenities and towels were budget quality. Too many choices in Secaucus to return to a property that left no positive impression. The worst part of the hotel were the elevators. We rode up 86 floors faster at the Empire State Building than we did 2 floors at the Courtyard! Sorry Marriott, but you need to improve this property to meet Courtyard standards.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank loveisbliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Secaucus hotels
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Secaucus / Meadowlands
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Secaucus/Meadowlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Secaucus Meadowlands
0.1 mi away
Meadowlands River Inn
Meadowlands River Inn
#2 of 15 in Secaucus
723 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Secaucus Meadowlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Secaucus Meadowlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Secaucus Meadowlands

Address: 455 Harmon Meadow Boulevard, Secaucus, NJ 07094
Region: United States > New Jersey > Secaucus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Secaucus
Price Range: £113 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Secaucus Meadowlands 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Secaucus Meadowlands is conveniently located near many popular area destinations, including the MetLife Stadium (formerly Meadowlands Stadium) and the Newark Liberty International Airport (EWR). As one of the top hotels in Secaucus, NJ, our lobby offers multifunctional common areas, complimentary high-speed Internet and more for guests to easily flow from work to relaxation. Unique among Secaucus hotels, our GoBoard(R) enables guests to stay current with the latest in news, entertainment, weather, and airport conditions. The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect.(R) - serves freshly-prepared meals in a café environment where guests can wine and dine with friends, family, or colleagues. Our Meadowlands hotel offers spacious rooms with luxury bedding, large work desks, free Wi-Fi, and well-lit bathroom vanities featuring Paul Mitchell(R) products. From arrival to departure, the hardworking staff at our hotel in Secaucus works to ensure guests enjoy all of the comforts of home and quality of a Marriott hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Kognitiv US Corp, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Secaucus Meadowlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Secaucus Meadowlands Hotel Secaucus
Secaucus Courtyard
Secaucus Marriott
Courtyard Secaucus Meadowlands New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing