We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice hotel but no thanks”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Secaucus
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Overall this is a very nice hotel with clean modern rooms and very pleasant staff. We had to stay at the hotel for a week and we ran into a issue that there was no cold water in the room. If you turned on the tap in the kitchenette sink or in the washroom sink to full cold all that came out was hot water which would only run for about 30 seconds and then stop, leaving only the sound of gurgling air.

The desk was made aware of the problem but although they said they were working on it nothing changed during the whole week we were there.

If you do decide to stay there several other reviews suggest requesting a room on a higher floor. This hotel has an open center area that goes from the ground floor to the roof. Noise from the common area on the ground floor easily travels upwards and the higher you are the quieter the room will be, especially in the morning during breakfast and at night during the evening reception period.



There was no explanation given as to why the cold water was coming out hot so we don't know if the two systems were intermixed or if something was backing up into the cold water system. All we can say is that we only used bottled water to brush our teeth etc as we had no idea where that hot water was coming from.

Surprisingly we ran into the exact same problem twice before when we stayed at the Embassy Suites in Ashburn, VA except that both times it would keep running hot. Both hotels seem to have the same building design so I suspect it is a common fault.

The desk did offer to move us but with no explanation as to why we were getting hot water from the cold tap and with our previous experience in Ashburn we decided to stay where we were and just use bottled water.

I do a lot of traveling and prefer the Hilton chain but I think we will cross Embassy Suites of the list as a possible hotel to stay at, three times at two different hotels is enough.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rm447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinalfrank, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Thank you for staying at the Embassy Suites Hotel Secaucus during your recent visit to the area. We appreciate your feedback as it helps us in bettering ourselves. Our apologies for the issues you encountered with the lack of hot water during your stay with us. Please rest assured we have shared your comments with the team and are addressing the concerns.

We hope you will give us an opportunity to right the wrong.

Best Regards,

Pinal Frank
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,386)
There are newer reviews for Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

900 - 906 of 1,386 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2013

i had a group at this hotel 11/28-12/1/13
Thanksgiving nite had a buffet and it was wonderful. evelyn the food manager was amazing.
the staff was so nice and my group had no complaints at all.
the new jersey transit bus was accross the street and took us to manhattan in less than 20 minutes for $3.95.
when going to new york will use this hotel for sure.
the breakfast cook was also amazing. the best breakfast ever in an embassy suites.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinalfrank, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Thank you for selecting the Embassy Suites Hotel Secaucus for your group during your recent visit to the area. We are very pleased you enjoyed our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Best Regards,

Pinal Frank
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Great hotel at a very reasonable price. NJ Transit bus picks you up right in front of hotel - gets you into New York in less than 20 minutes. Great cook to order breakfast and free parking. Staff was very friendly and professional.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinalfrank, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Thank you for the feedback from your recent stay at the Embassy Suites Hotel Secaucus. We are very pleased you enjoyed our hotel and all we have to offer.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Best Regards,

Pinal Frank
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Not your best Embassy, but very clean, pleasant service from check in on. Breakfast is included as all Embassy, lots of room to spread out and eat. Very helpful in getting you moved around, courtesy, don't stick it to you. Little pricey, but what isn't in New York area. I would recommend above most in the Secaucus area.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinalfrank, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Thank you for your recent patronage. We hope to have the pleasure of your company again in the future.

Best Regards,

Pinal Frank
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Well worth the stay if you are going into NYC. The hotel itself has great rooms. We stayed in the Presidential suite and my family was completely happy with the accomodations. My girtlfriend had never been in a presidential suite so it was a good early Christmas present for her. Transportation into NYC was close by and easier then driving and looking for parking.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinalfrank, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Thank you for selecting the Embassy Suites Hotel Secaucus during your recent visit to the NYC area. We are very pleased you and your family enjoyed the accommodations in our Presidential Suite. Have a happy and healthy holiday.

Best Regards,

Pinal Frank
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

2 rooms with a tv in each room. I took the room with the couch and the desk since I had work to do. Complete privacy for each of us. Everything was extremely comfortable and in excellent working order. Bathroom was great. HVAC worked well and we could control it. Breakfast was very good although crowded and the line for omelettes was long but since it was included in the price I can't really complain. It was much more than any other complimentary breakfast in any other hotel I have been to. We took the bus into NYC. The bus stop was right across the street and it took about 15 minutes to get to Port Authority. I love staying at the Embassy Suites hotels.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Templemaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinalfrank, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Thank you for staying at the Embassy Suites Hotel Secaucus. We appreciate your business and are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the future.

Best Regards,

Pinal Frank

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Richmond, Virginia
11
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Four of us stayed in this hotel three nights last weekend. Price for hotel is excellent comparing to Manhattan hotels where prices are doubled. There is a bus station in front of hotel and for $7.90 round trip it take you in the hearth of Manhattan, couple blocks from Time Square. Ride is around 20-30 min long depend on traffic. Suites/ rooms are big, elevators are and not crowded like in Manhattan hotels where you have to wait in line to get to your room.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinalfrank, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Thank you for selecting the Embassy Suites Hotel Secaucus during your recent visit to the New York City area. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Best Regards,

Pinal Frank
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Secaucus hotels
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Secaucus/Meadowlands
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Secaucus / Meadowlands
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Secaucus Meadowlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Meadowlands River Inn
Meadowlands River Inn
#2 of 15 in Secaucus
705 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Secaucus Meadowlands
1.4 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Secaucus/Meadowlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands

Address: 455 Plaza Dr, Secaucus, NJ 07094-3631
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Secaucus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Secaucus
Price Range: £119 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands 3.5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embassy Suites Hotel Secaucus - Meadowlands Hotel is located just 4 miles from New York City with easy transportation access outside the hotel. This Secaucs, NJ all-suite hotel is the perfect location for your business or leisure travel. It is centrally located in the Harmon Meadow Plaza in Secaucus, NJ, with easy access to the Meadowlands, the Izod Center, East Rutherford, NJ, Teterboro Airport and Newark Airport(EWR.Book your room stay online direct with the hotel and get our best rate guranteed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Meadowlands
Embassy Suites Secaucus
Secaucus Embassy Suites
Embassy Suites By Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing