We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Secaucus
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Stayed here for 3 days on my weekend trip to NYC. Excellent place to stay away from the NYC hustle and bustle. Drove into NYC the first day, and will never do it again. Hotel advised on how to use public transportation and made the trip that much better. TV was not working first night, but was immediately fixed the next morning. A/C was a little inconsistent, but not enough to cause extreme discomfort. Excellent staff!!!! Will definitely stay again

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Firemedic38128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinalfrank, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for staying at the Embassy Suites Hotel Secaucus during your recent visit to the NYC area. We are glad you enjoyed our hotel and the convenient location. We hope to see you again in the future.

Best Regards,

Pinal Frank
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    443
    400
    222
    134
    69
See reviews for
593
183
23
301
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saraland, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

On numerous occasions I have stayed at this hotel. In most settings, I have a collegiate vocal group with me. Here's the lowdown.........
EXTREMELY COST EFFECTIVE!
VERY CLEAN!
GREAT SURROUNDINGS!
GREAT FOOD just around the corner (CHIPOTLES, etc....)
A SHORT BUS RIDE......to downtown NY in minutes!

GO FOR IT!!!

A

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlanMiller1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinalfrank, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for selecting our hotel during all your visits to the area. We are very happy that you have enjoyed our hotel and look forward to your future return.

Best Regards,

Pinal Frank
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Our main trip was to New York City. We stayed in Secaucus because it was so close to New York. It was only about a 25 min. ride by bus. The bus picked us up right in front of the hotel and dropped us off at Times sq. . Nearby resturants all within walking distance from hotel. Staff were great as was the cleanliness of the establishment. Definatley a keeper.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinalfrank, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for staying at our hotel during your recent trip the NYC. We are very pleased you enjoyed our hotel, location and the staff. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Best Regards,

Pinal Frank
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
199 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed here and commuted into NYC on the NJ Transit 320 bus. Great service, it drops off at the door of the hotel and Port Authority in NYC. The rooms and breakfast are the usual Embassy Suites fare. The rooms are getting a little dated. A number of restaurants are in walking distance and Wal Mart is across the street. The rail service to Secaucus Junction from Newark Airport was temporarily out of service so the hotel recommended a $65 cab ride. I found a number of cheaper services available and used one, I think the hotel had an interest in steering customers to the cabs. All in all, a very good place to stay if you want to be near NYC but not pay NYC prices.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinalfrank, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for selecting our hotel and the feedback from your recent stay. We appreciate your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards,

Pinal Frank
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naperville, Illinois
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

I'm an Embassy Suites fan, and even stayed here often 20 years ago on business, but I've got to tell ya, this one is below the lowest in the bunch. Used to great. Aside from the very friendly and helpful staff, this hotel needs to catch up with the times. The décor is dated, carpets, walls, flooring, furniture all dirty, or the appearance of dirty. A/C inconsistent. Bedroom fairly cool, living room much warmer. Set at 65d. Restaurant - what restaurant?....more like a cheep foodstand. No room service until the kitchen opens at 530pm. Happy hour---wilted veggies, stale chips & nuts. Breakfast --- horrible. Parking facilities - unsafe, very poor lighting.
Not the Embassy Suites I'm used to. Won't be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinalfrank, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we’re very sorry you were unhappy with our property. We will take your comments under consideration as we continually work to improve our guest experience. We hope you will consider staying with us in the future.

Best Regards,

Pinal Frank
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles Town, West Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

This past Thanksgiving as a special treat, Himself and Yours Truly took our daughter and grandchildren to New York. The itinerary included the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade, Radio City Music Hall’s holiday spectacular, the Top of the Rock, and various other New York attractions. Lodging for six was a requirement and a potential problem. Most New York hotels provide bedding for two, four at max, and prices tend toward expensive for anything resembling quality. We considered finding a short-term apartment rental, but those we wanted were not available. All things considered, the holiday timing of our trip meant that bargains to suit our needs would be few and far between.

Our solution both to preserve sanity and to stay within budget was the Embassy Suites-Meadowlands in Secaucus, New Jersey. As its Web site proclaims, the ES-M is located only 3 miles from Midtown Manhattan. Frequent bus service is available via a shelter (complete with fare machine) located just across a two-lane side street from the hotel entrance. Transportation was thus cheap and handy, delivering passengers to the Port Authority at 8th and 42nd in less than half an hour. From there, Times Square is within easy walking distance and subway connections are on the premises.

As for the hotel itself, the Embassy Suites-Meadowlands is a 3½-star Hilton property offering B&B accommodation. We reserved a premium suite, which consisted of two bedrooms (each with a king bed), two full baths, two fairly substantial closets, a smaller coat closet, and a large common area. We even had an entrance foyer for the suite. The common area included a sizable dining/conference table, a TV lounge with sleeper sofa and comfy chairs, and a kitchenette/study area with a smaller table (which served as a desk) and computer hookups, cupboards and a small sink. We also asked the front desk for a rollaway bed so the boys wouldn’t have to share the sleeper sofa.

On the whole, the suite served us very well. There was enough space to prevent everyone from feeling crowded. Having two bathrooms took the pressure off for morning and evening ablutions, and the king beds were comfortable. One of the two bedrooms even had a great view of the Manhattan skyline. The dining table was large enough to seat us all comfortably for a family Thanksgiving dinner (with credit due to carry-outs from Boston Market and goodies brought from home). Three sizable flat-screen TVs (one in each bedroom and one in the common area) meant there were no squabbles between siblings (or between children and adults) over which movie or sporting event to watch—an important consideration for a timeframe full of crucial athletic contests. We also had free Wi-Fi and two laptop-sized room safes, and onsite outdoor parking was free and self-service.

The kitchenette gave us plenty of dry storage space to accommodate a long holiday weekend. It did not, however, provide a suitable fridge. The mini-fridge was the most mini I have ever encountered—about the size of a large toaster oven. Indeed, the lack of a suitable fridge was the suite’s most serious flaw. Keeping our food cooled was accomplished only by some creative stacking in the fridge and by continually refreshing the ice in the cooler we brought from home. The microwave was also small, but that was less of a problem.

Hotel amenities included an indoor pool, which the children enjoyed; a fitness center, which our daughter used; and a large lounge in the multi-story enclosed atrium. Breakfast was provided as part of the room rate, and what a breakfast it proved to be! The hotel provided a better-than-average (one is tempted say ‘excellent’) buffet that included (but was not limited to) scrambled eggs, sausage and bacon, home fries, pastries, a variety of cereals and juices, yogurt, coffee, and tea. Omelets, fried and poached eggs, French toast, and pancakes were made to order. The only complaints we could offer is that some items ran short for brief periods of time, and the omelet lines were sometimes too long. Evenings featured a brief happy hour with light snacks and complimentary drinks, including soft drinks for the children.

Cafe Four Fifty Five offers a limited menu consisting of American cuisine and a bar serving cocktails, wine, and beer. Guests are served in the atrium and service hours are rather few in the evening. Orders are placed at the bar. Room service is also available. Some of us ate in the café on our first evening, and the food was tasty enough but tended to be somewhat expensive. For the rest of our stay, we limited ourselves to the evening happy hour and a few drinks at the bar. For Thanksgiving, the café provided a respectable Thanksgiving buffet available through most of the day. We chose to make our own arrangements for the big day, but we couldn’t help but notice that the food looked and smelled good.

Housekeeping was good to very good. Maid service came during the day while we were busy elsewhere, and we returned to find our beds made, bins emptied, and new supplies of clean linen and toiletries. This is not a new hotel (built in 1997 and refurbished in 2007), and our furnishings did show some wear. Regardless, nothing was shabby, and upkeep is apparently performed on a routine basis. My eagle eye for grungy buildup in corners found little to complain about—nothing more than a slight suggestion of buildup on the floor tile behind the bathroom doors.

The front desk responded quickly to our few requests. A rollaway bed was unavailable the first night, but one was provided the next day at no charge for the rest of our stay. We needed assistance on two other occasions: our in-room safes were locked and had to be reset, and one of our lamps needed a new light bulb. The front desk sent maintenance personnel promptly, and matters were attended to efficiently.

All this was provided for a cost (after our AARP discount) of about $315 per night, plus tax. Our stay included two weekday and two weekend nights, with the rates slightly higher for the weekend. With a few extra charges for the restaurant and the bar, we left with a total bill of $1433. For a 4-night stay in Greater New York accommodating six people, it was a bargain. More to the point, it was a pleasant, comfortable stay that all of us actually enjoyed. Thanks in no small part to Embassy Suites-Meadowlands, the grandparental special treat was a great success!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on and upper floor and facing Manhattan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoneOnTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinalfrank, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for selecting our family to host your last Thanksgiving family getaway. We are pleased you enjoyed all the services and amenities our hotel has to offer. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Best Regards,

Pinal Frank
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sterling, Virginia
Level Contributor
281 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

I would gladly give the Embassy Suites at Secaucus 5 stars if not for the manager's reception, and this is a kind of cheap reason: Each guest gets one drink coupon. Subsequent drinks are $2 for beer, $3 for wine, and $4 for well drinks. Yeah, I know, cheap, but I've come to expect a different level of amenities.
Our room, 924, had a spectacular view of the NYC skyline. There is a bus stop across the street from the front door, and for $7.90 round trip, you can take a 17 minute bus ride to the Port Authority Bus terminal, which is blocks away from Hells Kitchen, Theater district, Penn Station, etc.
The hotel is well appointed, well maintained, and very conveniently located. Everyone at the front desk were kind and courteous and always willing to help and answer our questions.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JT03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinalfrank, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay at our hotel. We do appreciate your input. NJ State law does not allow us to dispense more than one complimentary alcoholic beverage per adult guest, per night. Since we are bound by this rule, we make discounted drinks available to our guests.

We hope to have the pleasure of your company in the future.

Best Regards,

Pinal Frank
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Secaucus hotels
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Secaucus/Meadowlands
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Secaucus / Meadowlands
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Secaucus Meadowlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Meadowlands River Inn
Meadowlands River Inn
#2 of 15 in Secaucus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Secaucus Meadowlands
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Secaucus Meadowlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands
Address: 455 Plaza Dr, Secaucus, NJ 07094-3631
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Secaucus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Secaucus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands 3.5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embassy Suites Hotel Secaucus - Meadowlands Hotel is located just 4 miles from New York City with easy transportation access outside the hotel. This Secaucs, NJ all-suite hotel is the perfect location for your business or leisure travel. It is centrally located in the Harmon Meadow Plaza in Secaucus, NJ, with easy access to the Meadowlands, the Izod Center, East Rutherford, NJ, Teterboro Airport and Newark Airport(EWR.Book your room stay online direct with the hotel and get our best rate guranteed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Meadowlands
Embassy Suites Secaucus
Secaucus Embassy Suites
Embassy Suites By Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing