We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Subpar Property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Secaucus
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great Location, Subpar Property”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Originally booked in for two nights while in the New York area with my father.

The good:

- NJ Transit bus (320 Harmon Meadow/Mill Creek) stops right in front of the hotel, with ticket machines where you can purchase a return trip (to and from hotel & Port Authority Bus Terminal in NYC) for less than $8.

- Parking is plentiful in hotel(s) parking garage at no cost.

- Lots of restaurants and shopping in the surrounding area (Harmon Meadow & Mill Creek Mall) within walking distance of the hotel.

The bad:

- We tried three different rooms, and found them all to be unsavory.

The first room had a wet carpet near one of the beds and a terrible smell. It looked like water was leaking (and not just recently) from the bathroom sink area or possibly from pipes running down the (internal) wall structure. The furniture was well past its due date; old tattered and stained. Carpet was old, stained and in desperate need of replacement. The refrigerator was also not working in this room.

The second room also had dirty, old carpeting. Our original room had two double beds, but because they did not have any other available rooms with two beds, we settled for a one king executive suite with a sofa bed. The sofa bed structure in this room was broken, and could not be slept on comfortably. So again, we asked to see another room.

The third room (where we did stay for the night) again had disgusting old and stained carpeting. The furniture was beat up and stained beyond belief, and the bedroom had a strong musty smell that was almost intolerable.

We decided that enough was enough, and checked out the next morning and found more suitable accommodations (Hyatt Place) close by.

My father has travelled for both business and pleasure for over thirty years and has said that he has never seen such a mess offered as viable accommodations. I too have travelled for business and pleasure for close to a decade and have also not seen too many properties such as this. Hilton needs to seriously look at this property and demand that they clean, repair and replace items to upgrade this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ktown_traveller04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinalfrank, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for staying with us at our hotel. I appreciate your candor; we look for reviews to provide insight into our hotel and our guest suite appearance is an area we are actively examining. I welcome any additional comments or suggestions you would like to share.

Best Regards,

Pinal Frank
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    483
    412
    239
    144
    83
See reviews for
638
194
27
323
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seacacus--Meadowlands, United States
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This was probably one of the best stays I have ever had. It was quiet, couldn't hear who was next to you. Just want you need when you are not feeling your best. I didn't get to go to the fitness room as I usually do when I stay, but the overall rest was well worth the stay. The hotel itself was wonderful, in a convenient location with access to quite a few places, just convenient. Highly recommend that you visit this hotel if you are ever in the Meadowlands area of Seacacus, NJ.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinalfrank, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for the feeback from your recent stay. We are happy to have provided you with comfortable accommodations during your stay and we hope you are feeling better. Looking forward to your return to our hotel.

Best Regards,

Pinal Frank
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

this was our 2nd stay at this hotel. we love embassy suites all over. they offer extras at no additional costs. we had 17 people in 5 suites. everything went well. this hotel is right in front of the NJ bus stop to NYC, only 1 stop between there and NYC(route 320). kids ride free on weekends, adults $3.95 each way to and from NYC, seniors $1.80. breakfast is good, rooms are good, hotel is good. we stayed in the presidential suite this time, it was a great room...lots of room, 2 washrooms,2 bedrooms, 3 tv's. its on the top level, so no need to upgrade to a higher level. we also had a view of the NYC skyline. very nice view. if you don't get the room with a view, then you can get really good photos of the skyline from the bus just before the lincoln tunnel (you only have 10 seconds to get them)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonynsof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinalfrank, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for staying at our hotel during your recent visit to the NYC area. We are very pleased you enjoyed our hotel and all we have to offfer. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Best Regards,

Pinal Frank
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewood MD, United States
1 review
Reviewed 3 August 2014

My husband and I were celebrating my birthday and our weddng anniversary. Our overall experience at this hotel was wonderful! In fact, the expression of well wishes for my birthday and anniversary was greatly appreciated. The suite was great!, my husband and I felt well attended too! Breakfast and the managers reception is always a treat!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Carl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinalfrank, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for selecting the Embassy Suites Hotel Secaucus to celebrate your special day. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and the amenities we offer. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Best Regards,

Pinal Frank
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitmore Lake, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Highly recommend this hotel for anyone traveling to this area. We were going to New York City (first time). We were recommended from a friend. A 20 min bus ride into the city right across the street. Free parking, free "top of the Line" breakfast, layout of the room...EXCELLENT! The staff is beyond helpful. AAA+

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Darlynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinalfrank, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for staying at our hotel during your visit to NYC. We are so pleased you enjoyed our hotel and staff. We hope to see you again in the future.

Best Regards,

Pinal Frank
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Have stayed in other embassy suites , this one was the most worn needs some polish , the room Furniture and carpet. Wonderful spot the bus right outside, lots of restaurants nearby , Kohls and Wal Mart walking distance. OK I walk a lot. The morning breakfast was hectic , read the warning signs they don't lie but we are as normal as other families and right in with the rush. The hotel knows they are busiest at this time for breakfast and should accommodate for this . Seating was not an issue food was availability. We enjoyed the hotel but are not putting this one at the top of our Embassy Suites list

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CHASCO6900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinalfrank, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for selecting the Embassy Suites Hotel during your recent visit to the area. We appreciate your feedback and will take your comments into serious consideration. We hope you will give us another try.

Best Regards,

Pinal Frank
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, United States
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We have stayed at other hotels in the area, but this is our favorite by far. Love the roominess of the suites. Quiet hotel, despite the number of people. Clean rooms and linens. Bus stop to right across the street with easy access into NYC. Walking distance to family friendly restaurants. The staff was friendly and helpful. Went out of their way to assist us when we had an issue with our car. We took advantage of their computers and printed attraction tickets at the hotel. This saves time waiting in line in NYC. Will be back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Roger D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinalfrank, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
We know you have many choices of hotels in the area and are very pleased you selected the Embassy Suites Hotel Secaucus. We are especially happy you enjoyed the staff and look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Best Regards,

Pinal Frank
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Secaucus hotels
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Secaucus/Meadowlands
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Secaucus / Meadowlands
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Secaucus Meadowlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Meadowlands River Inn
Meadowlands River Inn
#2 of 15 in Secaucus
699 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Secaucus Meadowlands
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Secaucus Meadowlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands
Address: 455 Plaza Dr, Secaucus, NJ 07094-3631
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Secaucus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Secaucus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands 3.5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embassy Suites Hotel Secaucus - Meadowlands Hotel is located just 4 miles from New York City with easy transportation access outside the hotel. This Secaucs, NJ all-suite hotel is the perfect location for your business or leisure travel. It is centrally located in the Harmon Meadow Plaza in Secaucus, NJ, with easy access to the Meadowlands, the Izod Center, East Rutherford, NJ, Teterboro Airport and Newark Airport(EWR.Book your room stay online direct with the hotel and get our best rate guranteed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Meadowlands
Embassy Suites Secaucus
Secaucus Embassy Suites
Embassy Suites By Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing