We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little disappointing...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Secaucus
Lemont, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A little disappointing...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

The hotel itself was overall in descent condition. Our room #929 was a 2 BR/BA suite. The condition of the bedding and dressers were fine. However, the carpet and furniture were disgusting. The sofa itself was not comfortable to sit in. In addition it was so dirty you didn't want to sit on it. Same for the chairs. The heating/cooling system worked, but it never seemed to truly cool down to the temperature it was set at. The refrigerator was the same way. We ended up purchasing a cooler to put our beverages on ice. We ate breakfast every day but one during our stay. The quality was good and we enjoyed the omelet station. However, the drink area was always a disaster. I'm sure it's difficult for your staff to keep up with cleaning it. On Sunday I was told there were no mushrooms for my omelet. On Wednesday, this problem was still not resolved. The soda station also went out on Sunday or Monday and was still not working on Wednesday. For two days there was a bag of potato chips lying on the floor in the corner of the middle elevator. We finally said something to the front desk staff and later that night it was cleaned up.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank lemonster08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinalfrank, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
We are very sorry we were not able to provide you with a satisfactory experience during your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us as it allows us to focus on areas which need improvement. We hope you will consider staying with us the next time you are in the area.

Best Regards,

Pinal Frank
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    433
    394
    221
    131
    67
See reviews for
583
182
23
291
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

We checked-in today and I did an audit of the room before we settled-in. I saw a dirty sock under the bed and a used q-tip by the curtains under the window. Doesn't sound like a suite to me. What do you think? Anyway we have another night here, so hopefully they'll clean it up? I'll keep you posted.

Room Tip: i'll add pictures tomorrow, with my net post.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jason R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Just returned from 3 nights stay at this hotel. We have absolutely nothing bad to say about this place.
It is in a great location for sightseeing and exploring, VERY safe area that two solo ladies felt comfortable walking around even at night. Bus stop literally in front of the hotel. The front desk were excellent with all of our questions and helpful with suggestions. George was great! We used the free shuttle and our driver was friendly and outgoing. No issues with anything, even a request for a late checkout was greeted with a smile and a " sure thing!"
The free breakfast was a great start to the day and saved us a lot of $$ before heading into NY for the day, it had a good selection and everything was plentiful and hot. The Manager's reception was a nice touch with snacks and a free alcoholic beverage each evening.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone. Clean, safe and friendly. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because the furniture in the room is tired and worn.
We were attending an event at Metlife and would definitely recommend! We never came across a single staff member that wasn't friendly and helpful!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne-Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinalfrank, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for staying at our hotel during a recent visit to the NYC area. We are very pleased you enjoyed our hotel and the service provided by our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Best Regards,

Pinal Frank
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

The hot tub was cold and the pool was not warm. The sofa bed was very old and very broken and never repaired. The breakfast was something to be desired on the buffet line. The made to order food was great. The staff was very friendly and everything esle seemed pretty neat. There was a stain on my carpet from who knows what. The rest of the hotel was welll maintained and clean.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
2 Thank 226wendym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinalfrank, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for the feeback from your recent stay at our hotel. We apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. We will address the concerns you stated and hope you will give us another try.

Best Regards,

Pinal Frank
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candiac, Canada
Level Contributor
85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

The front desk did not invent the friendless. We are arrived late at around 1000 PM. When they gave us the room, it smells like if a smoker was in the room. Obviously, went back to front desk and mentioned that we reserved a non-smoking room. They gave us a another room which was lot better but this is not the service that we expect after a long day trip. Well located if you go to NYC and the bus ride is right if front of the hotel! The breakfast is very good but be there early otherwise, it is like traffic in the morning ! They close the breakfast too early which is sad 1000 am. They should be opened till 1030 or 100 am at least for the amount of room they have in the hotel. YvesC

Room Tip: Non-smoker room at the front desk !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvesc17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinalfrank, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you the feedback on your recent stay at our hotel. We really appreciate your input. Our apologies that we did not provide you with the service levels you most certainly deserve. We hope you will give us another try.

Best Regards,

Pinal Frank
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOUSTON
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

We were in the area visiting family. We spent the first two nights of our visit at the nearby La Quinta - which was pretty awful. We booked at this place and it was SOOO much better. We were a family of five, and the suite accommodated us comfortably - two full-size beds, a sleeper sofa, and plenty of room for our inflatable. (The front desk kindly provided us linens for said inflatable, which was nice.) The manager's reception was also a perk - and even though we arrived after it was officially over, the bartender honored our vouchers for our much-needed drinks (after several hours in the car with kids!). Rooms were clean, breakfast buffet offered a great selection of hot and cold items, and kids enjoyed the pool. Staff was also friendly. A great find!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cbornste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinalfrank, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for selecting our hotel during your recent visit to the area. We are pleased to have provided you with comfortable accommodations and friendly service that you so deserve. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Best Regards,

Pinal Frank
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

No personality at the front desk. not rude but luke-warm experience. room smelled like smoke. made me question what I was sleeping in. Not much available in the area at the time room rate was jacked up so high. price did not match quality by no means.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
2 Thank Ralph J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinalfrank, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
I am very sorry we were not able to provide you with the quality of services you deserved during your recent stay with us. Please know that this is not typical of our hotel and staff, and we are sorry we didn’t meet your expectations during your stay. We are always looking for ways to improve our guest experience as your satisfaction is very important to us. We try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. Thank you again for your feedback. We hope you will consider staying with us again soon so we may have the opportunity to make it right.

Best Regards,

Pinal Frank
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Secaucus hotels
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Secaucus/Meadowlands
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Secaucus / Meadowlands
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Secaucus Meadowlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Meadowlands River Inn
Meadowlands River Inn
#2 of 15 in Secaucus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Secaucus Meadowlands
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Secaucus Meadowlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands
Address: 455 Plaza Dr, Secaucus, NJ 07094-3631
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Secaucus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Secaucus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands 3.5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embassy Suites Hotel Secaucus - Meadowlands Hotel is located just 4 miles from New York City with easy transportation access outside the hotel. This Secaucs, NJ all-suite hotel is the perfect location for your business or leisure travel. It is centrally located in the Harmon Meadow Plaza in Secaucus, NJ, with easy access to the Meadowlands, the Izod Center, East Rutherford, NJ, Teterboro Airport and Newark Airport(EWR.Book your room stay online direct with the hotel and get our best rate guranteed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Meadowlands
Embassy Suites Secaucus
Secaucus Embassy Suites
Embassy Suites By Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing