We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best base hotel for your NYC trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Secaucus
Reviewed 28 July 2010

We have stayed in this hotel twice already, In May 2008 and Aug 2009. The best hotel if you want to visit NYC, close enough to Manhattan. We love the fact that we can drive from Toronto to Secaucus and leave our car in the free hotel parkade for the duration of our stay and take bus each day to visit NYC. Perfect! Bus stop is across the street from the hotel entrance, cheap, efficient and fast. You are in Port Authority in no time, in the middle of all attractions of wonderful NY. Hotel is clean, suites are spacious, beds are comfortable. There are two TV sets in each suite, microwave, fridge and safe. Breakfast is excellent, cooked to order, lots of variety, keeps you going till lunch time, no problem. We did not use the hotel pool, have not been in the hotel during happy hour either. We strongly recommend this hotel. We will come back again, possibly even this year.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monhann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,384)
There are newer reviews for Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,218 - 1,224 of 1,384 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2010

Embassy Suites is a great home base if you are visiting NYC and don't mind traveling by bus into the city. Most days, you are in NYC within 20 minutes at the Port Authority Bus Station - Times Square is around the corner.
Bus #320 is $7.90 return (as'k for return ticket, and try to have exact change as drivers seem to run out of change often!)
Ask the front desk for a bus schedule, and make sure to not miss the last bus back to the hotel or you'll have to pay for a cab. Last bus is around 1am.
Back to the hotel - we found it very clean, and all the employees were very friendly.
Breakfast was amazing, try to get there early, as it can get crazy. I don't remember her name, but the "Omelette lady" is awesome. Omelettes, pancakes are cooked to order.
Or there are scrambled eggs, bacon, home fries, fruit, beverages you can help yourself too.
Pool looked good, but I was too tired by the end of the day to use it.
Two room suite had plenty of room, and we had a small fridge and microwave.
There are 2 computers you can use the internet for in a business room.
There is also a laundry room by the pool area.
Wal-mart is 24 hours and a 10 minute walk away.
We would definitely recommend and return ourselves to the Embassy Suites.
One tip: If you are flying into Newark, you can either pay for a cab to the hotel, or you can do what we did: We took the Airport AirTrain to the Rail Station, and bought a ticket to Secaucus Junction train station ($12.25), then from there we took the 78 bus (which doesn't come often unless it's rush hour). That was $1.50.
Going back to the airport, the EZ ride bus was running, because it was near rush hour, that was free to the Secaucus station.
If you have kids, and a lot of luggage, I wouldn't recommend this, but if you have time, and not much luggage it was fine.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TorontoTravelgirl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2010

great location if you wish to save money on lodging but see NYC. We found easiest to drive our car to secaucus train station. Parking was free at hotel and cost at station was $12. The train to Penn Station only took 10 minutes. Trains run every 10 or so minutes. Very clean and safe location. Families with children would feel very comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jpblooms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2010

We were there for two nights. We stayed there because of the nearness to NYC and the price. Not being familar with the area I asked at the front desk for directions to get to a appointment in NYC at 10:00 AM. I was told to take a bus and what time to catch it to allow me the time to get there. I was still a little confused as to where the bus stop was. The young girl (Jessica?) took me outside and pointed it out to me. A little extra incustomer service! I was surprised at how easy and close by the bus line was. They come about every 15-20 minutes to take you through the Lincoln tunnel to the Port Authority. The omettes in the morning were quite good and all the staff we encountered were friendly.

Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ZAZULibertyUtah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2010

Me, my mom, my dad, and two of our close relatives went to New York for sight seeing. We stayed there for 6 days and 5 nights. The hotel was great and the staff was very helpful on where to find thngs and where to go. We rented a car from Avis and brought our own GPS with us and we never had to take a taxi, bus, or subway to get anywhere. The hotel is in a quiet area and is about 10 minutes away from Manhatten without traffic.

Room - Our room was on the 8th floor of 9 and it had 2 rooms with one King size bed and one pull out sofa bed in the other room. It had two TV's, a small refrigerator, a microwave, and a small bar sink. There is a coffee maker in the room with foam cups, sugar, creamer, and stirring sicks. The king bed is nice and soft but the pullout is a bit firmer. If you like super soft pillows, your in for a treat. They are really soft and deflate imediatly after you put your head down. The bathroom was nice and so was the bath tub. If your in a room on the 7th floor or above you have to have your key card to get up there. Its like exclusive, so you can only get up there if you put your key card in the slot.

Breakfast - If you want to eat you gotta get up early. On weekdays breakfastends at 9:30 sharp. But on weekends it ends at 10. The hot breakfast is great. Eggs, omelets, and pancakes are made to order. You can put anyting in the omelet like cheese, tomatoes, mushrooms, spinach, ham, bacon, and more. They also have hot oatmeal, yogurt, fruit, and cereal. There is a variety of drinks like milk, coffee, and alot of juices. There are also muffins, bagels, and toast.

Pool - Don't even go in there. Before you even get within 5 feet of it, you can smell the chlorine coming through the doors. The pool is extremely small and crowded with teenagers. I'm a swimmer on a competitve team and was hoping to be able to swim while I was away from home but no dice.

Gym - My dad liked to go to the gym in the mornings. The area was small but they managed to fit 3 treadmills, a bike, and a stair machine. There are weights also but not alot of room to use them. If you need water, bring a water bottle and you can fill it up with chilled water from the gym area.

Happy Hour - There is a happy hour between 5 and 7:30. When you check in you get little crds that allowyou to have free drink from the bar. If you want a drink any other time, i think its like two dollars or something like that.

All in all, the hotel is extremely nice and I would definatly stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swimdork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2010

Rooms were spacious, and beds were very comfortable; Staff was friendly and went out of their way to help with questions; breakfast buffet had everything. The whole hotel was very clean and had a fresh air about it. My whole stay was very pleasantly much more than I expected.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorthEastSienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2010

This is a great place to stay . I actually found this place from trip advisor. This hotel is very clean and the breakfast is delicious. My cousin and I caught the bus right across the street to take us into New York.

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CindyK21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Secaucus hotels
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Secaucus/Meadowlands
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Secaucus / Meadowlands
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Secaucus Meadowlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Meadowlands River Inn
Meadowlands River Inn
#2 of 15 in Secaucus
704 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Secaucus Meadowlands
1.4 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Secaucus/Meadowlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands

Address: 455 Plaza Dr, Secaucus, NJ 07094-3631
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Secaucus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Secaucus
Price Range: £119 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands 3.5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embassy Suites Hotel Secaucus - Meadowlands Hotel is located just 4 miles from New York City with easy transportation access outside the hotel. This Secaucs, NJ all-suite hotel is the perfect location for your business or leisure travel. It is centrally located in the Harmon Meadow Plaza in Secaucus, NJ, with easy access to the Meadowlands, the Izod Center, East Rutherford, NJ, Teterboro Airport and Newark Airport(EWR.Book your room stay online direct with the hotel and get our best rate guranteed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Meadowlands
Embassy Suites Secaucus
Secaucus Embassy Suites
Embassy Suites By Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing