We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite as great as others say”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Secaucus Meadowlands
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Secaucus
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
162 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
“Not quite as great as others say”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2005

We were driving our daughter to NYU to start school, pulling a U-Haul trailer. Staying overnight in Manhattan was not an option, not only because of the prices, but mostly because of the parking problem. The Holiday Inn is perfectly located, minutes from the Lincoln Tunnel entrance. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel is part of an office/shopping complex, with restaurants, movies, and shops just outside the door, and free parking.
However, the hotel was undergoing renovations. The main floor restaurant was closed and moved upstairs temporarily. Only one elevator was working. Paint stains were on the hall carpets. Our toilet was broken and could only be flushed by lifting the lid and pulling the chain by hand. We reported it, but no one came to fix it.
The room was nice. The area is very quiet and safe. There are three other hotels within a block.
Not bad at all, but not great.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank YukonRoadKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    143
    44
    24
    20
See reviews for
99
54
22
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
54 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2005

We stayed 4 nights at this hotel in July.
We found it to be a great base to enjoy New York City.
The regular local bus took about 15-20minutes maximum to deliver us to the terminal by Times Square / 42nd Street / Broadway. They run very frequently until about 1.00am! Cost about $2.
Meadowlands was very safe to walk arouind with cinema & restaurants...freom Sizzlers to Outback, all in walking distance. Try to eat at Hamburger in Paradise..it was great.

Very nice and friendly hotel staff. We didn't eat there as the other restaurants took our fancy!

A very affordable alternative to the rip off Manhattan prics.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank SE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2005

My wife and I, along with our 2 1/2 year old daughter, enjoyed the hotel stay of our life at the Holiday Inn Secaucus. We couldn't really afford to stay in the city and decided to stay close enough to commute easily. The bus was great, clean and easy to use and my daughter loved it. We were in and out of the city in less than 25 minutes each way(while all the cars stayed stuck in traffic.)
The staff were extremely friendly every time we walked by. We only stayed for 3 day's but it really felt like we were staying with family. Even the housekeepers always said Hi when we passed. Breakfast was great and not expensive especially when we paid the same amount for just a bagel in NYC.
The service was phenominal and we told everybody about how great they all were. We will only stay at this hotel when we come back again.
One last thing, we upgraded our mini vacation to include valet parking, and it was only $ 8.00 per day! When we were in NYC, we saw some valet charges of up to $ 50.00 per day ! WOW!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2005

I found this to be an excellent place to stay for visiting New York. The hotel is just what you'd expect from a Holiday Inn. It's clean and comfortable. There's a good breakfast available in the hotel $9.99 for a hot buffet. For that you get Scamble Egg, Oatmeal, Hot Fruit-filled pancakes, French Toast, bacon, sausage as well as fresh fruit, cereal, croissants, bagels, yoghurt etc. etc. You can also do without the hot stuff for $7.99. The staff are all friendly and helpful.
The location, in the Hamon Meadows Plaza complex is excellent. It's quiet and it's only a few yards to the bus stop for the 320 bus to the Port Authority in NYC. There never seems to be any longer than 30 minutes to wait for a bus and they run from around 7.30 am until 1.30 am.
There are lots of restaurants in the complex as well as 2 cinemas. We had breakfast at Bagels Plus one morning which was very good and cheap. We ate at the Outback Steakhouse one evening and thouroughly enjoyed it. It cost under $60 dollars for 3 of us.
The area is also safe to walk around in.

Helpful?
20 Thank no1riggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2005

Called Holiday Inn to make a reservation and entered the Twilight Zone! The person answering the phone also was the person taking reservations, so I was put on hold several times. She still couldn't get our reservation information right after about the 4th time correcting her. I finally reserved a room thinking whew! that was difficult and then after receiving my fax confirmation, I found it with errors! I promptly cancelled my reservation!

Stayed June 2005
Helpful?
Thank thetangal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2005

Our family of four wanted to go to Manhattan the week after Christmas, and couldn't find anything available under $300 per night that didn't have a shared bath (no thanks) or terrible reviews (like Hotel Penn). So we opted to stay at the Holiday Inn Secaucus for $130 per night for a room with 2 queen beds. The hotel had free parking and free cookies at the front desk during check-in. The room was sizeable, very clean and had a mini-refrigerator. The only problem was a non-working TV remote; we called the desk and had a new one delivered in a matter of minutes. The staff was helpful, polite and efficient. The hotel has a full-service restaurant, and is within walking distance of several restaurant chains (Pizzeria Uno, Outback Steakhouse). I understand there is a shopping mall and multi-screen theater nearby, although we did not go looking for them so I can't say how convenient they are.

Commuting into Manhattan was relatively painless. A very nice NJ Transit bus (plusher than any public transit bus I've seen) stopped a half-block from the entrance, and even during rush hour the trip was no more than 25 minutes. It deposits you at the Port Authority terminal, which has a subway stop connected to it and is only a few blocks from Times Square. The fare was $2.60 one-way for adults and $1.30 for children. You can buy fare tickets (adult only) at the hotel gift shop, or pay cash.

The down side is that it's not as convenient for mid-day breaks at the hotel, or to drop packages, etc. I've found great rates before in Manhattan (Super 8, Comfort Inn) but if you're going during a peak time and don't have $$$ for a hotel, I'd definitely recommend the Holiday Inn Secaucus.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank jill401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2004

Spent two nights at Holiday Inn Secaucus and would go back. Staff were very friendly and helpful. This hotel is located about 10 minutes from the Lincoln Tunnel in excellent proximity for tourists or business travellers wanting easy access to Manhattan. We were able to take the local bus, with stop located in front of the hotel, into Manhattan which saved us alot of time, money and hassles of driving into the city ourselves. Located in an area with many restaurants and outlet shops within a short walk or drive.

Helpful?
15 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Secaucus hotels
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Secaucus/Meadowlands
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Secaucus / Meadowlands
0.2 mi away
Meadowlands River Inn
Meadowlands River Inn
#2 of 15 in Secaucus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Secaucus Meadowlands
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Secaucus Meadowlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Secaucus Meadowlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Secaucus Meadowlands

Property: Holiday Inn Secaucus Meadowlands
Address: 300 Plaza Dr, Secaucus, NJ 07094-3624
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Secaucus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Secaucus
#5 Business Hotel in Secaucus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Secaucus Meadowlands 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located four miles from Times Square and in the heart of The Plaza at Harmon Meadow, the Holiday Inn(R) Secaucus Meadowlands hotel's staff delivers an unrivaled level of convenience and service. You'll love being within walking distance to the shops and the 28 dining establishments in The Plaza, adjacent to our hotel's location near NYC. The wonders of New York City, Manhattan, Time Square and The Meadowlands Sports Complex are just a short NJ Transit bus ride from the hotel's location. Enjoy PRESS Coffee bar located in the hotel lobby serving all your Starbuck favorites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Secaucus Meadowlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Secaucus Meadowlands Hotel Secaucus
Secaucus Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Secaucus Meadowlands New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing