We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Won't go back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Secaucus Meadowlands
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Secaucus
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I travel for my work up to 3 weeks out of every month, so I am in hotels across the US.
Working in Union City, NJ, I was booked into this hotel.
It had been a dreadful day of delays trying to get to NJ, so once I arrived I was looking forward to resting in my room.
HOWEVER....I walked into my room only to find dirt and lint all over the floor, so this told me that no one had vacuumed. THEN, I took my luggage towards the bed only to find black pieces of some unknown substance all over the pillow and bed covering.
The room reeked with the smell of cigarette smoke and I am always in a non smoking facility due to allergies, so this was a huge issues as well.
I immediately called the front desk and spoke with Whitman. He came up to my room immediately to assess the issue and told me he would do everything within his power to get me into another room.
Someone was to come up and clean the room immediately, so I went off to find dinner across the street.
I was gone for over an hour and upon my return, I was given keys to another room and was told by another front desk associate that "it was only soot from the air vents". REALLY??? Well, shouldn't those vents be cleaned?? And if is soot, then what is going to stop it from blowing on me as I slept?
There was no way I was going to go back into that room to stay for 3 days!
I went up to get my luggage and guess what?? NO ONE TOUCHED THAT ROOM. It was still filthy.
The only bright shining star in that hotel was a gracious, most professional young man named Whitman.
My guess, if he is smart, he will look to a facility that knows how to keep a clean hotel.

Room Tip: I would not stay here ever again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pam15801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

420 - 426 of 1,102 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014

Contrary to some of the reviews I read on tripadvisor, I found the LaQuinta Inn & Suites Secaucus Meadowlands to be perfectly acceptable and I was pleasantly surprised to see that it wasn't in the run-down condition some stated that it was. It is a beautiful hotel located minutes from the ferry to NYC. Extremely convenient to our needs. The room was spacious and the bed super comfortable. We had a sitting room, as well as bedroom and both rooms had large-screen TVs. We didn't try the complimentary breakfast as we had to catch an early ferry to NYC, but we did visit the bar after a long day of traveling and photographing the NYC skyline and found the bartender to be very friendly and the atmosphere to be that more of friends having a drink at the bar than a room full of strangers. He engaged everyone in conversation and it made us feel right at home. We will definitely book at this hotel the next time we travel to NYC.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank Mercedes04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Awful experience dirty room, no wake up call and whole night without air conditioning. Little to resolve issues just sorry, Wasted my money and points. stained furniture room 719. What is shown on web of rooms must be extremely outdated.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank 562gusg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We paid $217 for a suite. We waited an hr past our check in time to get into our room because housekeeping was short staffed & wasn't getting rooms clean in time. There were several other families waiting for their rooms as well. We didn't even get a sorry for it! Once we finally got to our room the first thing we noticed was the stains on the floor. They were everywhere & large! We had to ask for bedding for the sofa pullout 3 times! We were told twice they would bring them but when they weren't delivered we called a third time & were told WE could come get them. Then when we went to the front counter to get them & told the front end attendant we had asked for them hours ago he told us "well I wasn't here then so there's nothing I can do about it. You'll have to wait at least a half hr until we can get them to you". He was VERY rude about it! There are also no screens on the Windows on the eighth floor! When the Windows are opened fully there is 3 ft opening that any child, pet or adult could very easily fall out of. Very unsafe! There was also broken equipment in the workout room & our toilet kept continuously running. Over all a bad stay & definitely not worth the money!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
1  Thank Heather I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the LaQuinta Inn Secaucus, NJ. The management and staff were accommodating and pleasant; the room was comfortable, but the room furniture need to be updated; the breakfasts were excellent; and transportation the New York City was right outside the main entrance. The carpeting and flat screen televisions were new. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank edmondh880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I recently stayed at the La Quinta in Secaucus, New Jersey and was horribly disappointed at the run down condition of this hotel. I was on the 9th floor which was absolutely disgusting. The carpeting was badly ripped and stained. The mattresses felt like they were 100 years old. Cigarette smoke loomed in the air (I am a non-smoker). The room needed a total scrub down. There would have been a beautiful view of the city had the windows been cleaned. The bathroom was clean but the linens were a disgusting shade of grime.

The first floor lobby ladies' room had water seeping through the tiles of the toilets which I did report to the front desk. The whole hotel needed a good scrubbing and TLC.

The hotel offered a complimentary breakfast but given the condition of the hotel I opted to have my coffee and limited my in-take of food for a better and cleaner place.

Room Tip: I would suggest that you see the room before you pay for it. Make sure the room is exactly what you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peggy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

I had stayed at this hotel several years ago and chose it again for its easy access to Manhattan. The bus stop is right across the street and goes right to the Port Authority.
There is free breakfast which offers a wide selection.
Didn't use the pool so I can't speak about that.
The staff (particularly Angela) is friendly and helpful.
The facility was very clean. The common areas are very nice.

Now for the negative....the rooms haven't been updated in years. The carpets were stained, the furniture worn. A plus was excellent water pressure...a sticking point for me. The good news is that I included my opinion about the outdated rooms in the survey and a hotel rep responded that a renovation is scheduled for later this year. If that happens I would say this is a perfect, reasonably priced choice for accommodations near NYC.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Secaucus hotels
0.2 mi away
Meadowlands River Inn
Meadowlands River Inn
#2 of 15 in Secaucus
735 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Secaucus/Meadowlands
1.1 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Secaucus/Meadowlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Secaucus / Meadowlands
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Secaucus Meadowlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Secaucus Meadowlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Secaucus Meadowlands

Address: 350 Lighting Way, Secaucus, NJ 07094-3622
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Secaucus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Secaucus
Price Range: £78 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Secaucus Meadowlands 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LaQuinta, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Secaucus Meadowlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn & Suites Secaucus Meadowlands Hotel Secaucus
La Quinta Inn And Suites Secaucus Meadowlands
Secaucus La Quinta
La Quinta Secaucus
La Quinta Inn & Suites Secaucus Meadowlands New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing