We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly staff but poor infrastructure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Meadowlands River Inn
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Secaucus
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 March 2014

The rooms were clean. when we went into 1 room the flush was not working, the manager came and tried to fix it, but it was not working. instead of providing alternate room in the first place he tried to fix it but then it didn't work. immediately they gave us new room. even though the flush was working but it is in dire need of repair, even the beds were rocky and was going up and down. saw few places where tiles were broken. breakfast was okie , we didn't have apple juice on that day. not much choice like potatoes or plain eggs for breakfast. the only good thing it was convenient to Downtown NYC. the front desk staff and the manager was really helpful

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hariharan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haresh R, Manager at Meadowlands River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

I am very sorry that you encountred this issue after settling in the room. We always try to fix the room problems before shifting to another, just to avoid that added hassle of the move.
I am glad you were satisfied with the new room. Breakfast items change daily, the items are rotated throughout the month. Like you mentioned in this review, the location is great with the bus to NYC stopping across the street. Multiple restaurants and coffee places and retail shopping within walking distance is an added advantage of staying here. Thank you for your stay and the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (732)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

282 - 288 of 732 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2014

Just returned from spending three nights here. I totally agree with all the previous positive reviewers. This place is a gem. Very clean, staff is friendly and accommodating. Breakfast was excellent, fresh made waffles, eggs, juices, cereals, yogurts, bagels, muffins, etc. all included in the price. Just across the street from an Outback and Carrabbas. The NJ 320 transit bus to Times Square (Bus Terminal) picks up just across the street. Value is so much better than the Courtyard Marriott across the street where we have stayed before. We will be staying here in the future.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Pinhead62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haresh R, Manager at Meadowlands River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Thank you for another great 5 Star review. I am glad you liked everything about this place. I will share your comments with the staff, who will be happy to know that our team made your stay a great one. thank you again and see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

The Meadowlands River Inn is an ok hotel for a stopover. The room was fine, with a good shower. A cab into Penn Station on Manhattan runs about $65, without tip and the 320 bus departs from the stop across the street which costs about $4 return and takes about 30mins. There's not much around the hotel except for a couple of restaurants and more hotels, but Secaucus isn't really a top holiday destination!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JGilleese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haresh R, Manager at Meadowlands River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Secaucus is a nice place to stay and commute to NYC for work or leisure by using public transportation that is across the street. Also across the street from the hotel to the right is about 15 restaurants including coffee shops and fast food. To the left of the hotel is about another set of restaurants including retail shops. Only 2 miles to the Metlife stadium for NFL fans, and for concert attendees. 5 minute walk to the EXPO center for convention attendees. Just a nice place to stay for any reason. Thank you for the 4 star review, we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We have stayed at this hotel twice on a weekend trip to NYC and this is a great place to stay. Extremely clean and comfortable and only a couple minutes from the city. There are plenty of restaurants and shops nearby and it is right by the bus stop. I will stay at this hotel again when we travel to NYC.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank breese21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haresh R, Manager at Meadowlands River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Thank you for the 5 Star review. Clean, comfortable, great value, perfect location bundled with smiles are our daily special . Then we have perfect guests like you, who makes our day by awesome feed back. "Thanks breese21 and the family for staying here again" from the entire team here at Meadowlands River Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

This used to be a Hampton Inn. It still has the nice clean rooms with the very comfortable beds and the complimentary breakfast buffet as it did under the Hampton franchise. It is only one block to the bus stop and the easy 20 minute commute ino Midtown Manhattan. You can also drive into the city in 30 minutes depending on traffic, or you can drive to Weehawken and take a ferry across the Hudson to the free Red and White busses that drop you at various locations around Manhattan. There is a good assortment of restaurants within walking distance.

The rooms are comfortable and spacious at half the price of comparable accommodations in Manhattan and parking is free. It has easy access to I-95 and the NJ turnpike for easy driving to other cities in the Northeast. This is a great bargain place to stay when visiting New York City.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank USAtouristcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haresh R, Manager at Meadowlands River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Thank you for the great review. You said it all. Great Location, Great Price, Great Standards. There is the BUS 320 that drops you off at Times Square. There is the Secaucus Junction train station, a minutes ride to Penn Station New York. There is the bus to Hoboken, and catch the Ferry Ride to Mid or Lower Manhattan. Multiple options to travel right from the hotel. Thank you for staying and writing about your stay. See you soon, again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

My friend and I stayed at the then known as Hampton Inn Secaucus. Rooms were spacious and and very clean. Location was excellent close to the Bus stop and so much to do in the surrounding areas.

With the above said , what made our stay even more excellent was the GREAT and OUTSTANDING SERVICE we received from a lady named Jennifer Grant. From the moment we stepped in to check in she was so friendly and helpful. With our endless questions she remained polite.

We would definitly stay at this hotel again.

Greetings to Jennifer from the 2 ladies that visited from SOUTH AFRICA. Keep up the great workl !!

Regards
Ayesha :)

Room Tip: room 419 was great .. great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ayesha h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haresh R, Manager at Meadowlands River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

"Sawubona" Ms.Ayesha, thank you for the kind review and taking time to write all good things about this hotel. It is clean, nice, and situated at a great location. Jennifer is a great team member who always takes care of all guests in the best possible way. I will share these comments with other team members and recognise her for her outstanding service given to you. Please come back and bring more friends and family next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Our company has a rate at this hotel and so we are obliged to stay here when visiting HQ. The property was until recently a Hampton Inn.

The entire hotel is in dire need up renovation. Old furnishings, dingy, worn carpet, torn bedding and disastrous bathrooms.

If you aren't picky and just want a place to lay your head while you're visiting New York, then I'm sure this hotel would work for you. Not sure their rates relative to others in the area, but if you're talking a $20 difference per night, I would certainly recommending staying elsewhere.

Terrible, basic breakfast is served in the morning. Cheap food. The hot selections aren't worth even trying.

Staff are friendly and as helpful as they can be.

If they just renovated I would change my review. But for now, this is a hole.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haresh R, Manager at Meadowlands River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Dear DAN,
I am very sorry that the hotel did not meet your expectations. I am happy that in spite of the shortcomings you still noticed the good in our staff, thank you. Things have changed in this hotel, mainly the brand name and reward points. What has not changed is the same cleaning staff, same front desk staff, and same breakfast items from the same vendor, and the same free AT&T internet and free parking. I do share the same view with you about the building needing an uplift. Having said that I want to assure you that the cleanliness of the room is above standards because we still use the same guidelines of the previous brand, it is an older building but well kept and run by an extremely friendly helpful staff. I hope you continue to come and stay with us. I want to thank you for taking time to write this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Secaucus hotels
1.3 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Secaucus/Meadowlands
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Secaucus/Meadowlands
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Secaucus / Meadowlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Secaucus Meadowlands
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Secaucus Meadowlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meadowlands River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meadowlands River Inn

Address: 250 Harmon Meadow Blvd, Secaucus, NJ 07094-3620
Region: United States > New Jersey > Secaucus
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Secaucus
#1 Best Value Hotel in Secaucus
#4 Business Hotel in Secaucus
#4 Romantic Hotel in Secaucus
Price Range: £81 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Meadowlands River Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Meadowlands River Inn hotel is ideally located across the street from the Meadowlands Exposition Center, near the New Jersey Turnpike and a few miles from Met Life Stadium where you can catch your favorite professional sports teams. When you’re ready to explore the northeast region, our hotel guests enjoy the convenience of being near major corporations, shopping destinations, world class dining and Big Apple attractions. A short bus ride into NYC and you can enjoy the Big Apple. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Meadowlands River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Secaucus-Meadowlands Hotel Secaucus
Secaucus Hampton Inn
Meadowlands River Inn Secaucus, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing