We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, great option to NY”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Meadowlands River Inn
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Secaucus
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cheap, great option to NY”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Great Option! Only 20 minutes to Manhattan, big room, great free breakfast ! Close to Wall Mart with refrigerator and microwave you will save a lot of money with food!!
For a complete review: http://cruelladebella.blogspot.com/2014/07/dica-de-hotel-meadowlands-river-inn.html

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabriele A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie M, General Manager at Meadowlands River Inn, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. I'm so pleased to hear that we were able to accommodate your needs. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    300
    260
    68
    19
    13
See reviews for
284
158
19
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

This hotel is formerly a Hampton Inn, and was re-branded to Meadowlands River Inn in October of 2013. As such, there are still some things that do need attention – most particularly the signage on the exterior. If one did not know where the hotel was located (I did, as I know the area) it would be very difficult to locate given the current signage. That the hotel is behind a bank of trees does not help! Until the signage improves, look for 300 Harmon Meadow and turn in there. It is the same entrance, and the 300 is very visible.

I encountered excellent staff, well mannered and both interested in service, and willing to please.

The room had no problems save for a slow-flushing toilet which is not uncommon in any hotel.

The elevators were on the slow side, however the hotel was not busy so this was not a serious problem. If there were a convention or large group in the hotel this might be more of an issue.

The only problem was with the pillows in the room (non-feather had been requested because of an allergy); this was attended to immediately and without any indication it was a difficulty; apologies were made for the failure to get this correct initially.

The morning breakfast buffet was adequate and consisted of waffles, scrambled eggs, hard boiled eggs, bacon (one morning) and home-fried potatoes (the second morning), various cereal, breads and other such items (muffins/bagels), juices and fresh fruit. There was a self-serve microwave oven which worked well, and toasters that I did not use (but heard no complaints about). Coffee and tea were both available, and these are available 24 hours a day. The coffee was hot, and the cups were a decent size, rather than tiny ones that many hotels use.

The only serious issue surrounding the breakfast set-up was the seating, which was too limited for the size and capacity of the hotel. This was addressed the second morning by staff opening a meeting room a few paces away. While this worked, the room had a musty, mildew-like smell (probably only noticeable to those of use with mould allergies, as it was not very strong). I expect both the air conditioning filter and the carpeting need to be changed in that room.

Overall, I would give this hotel excellent ratings, and put the few minor issues down to the establishment changing hands. I would return without giving it another thought, and I would recommend the hotel to others. The small flaws will likely be corrected.

Finally, again a note about the staff: I did not encounter anyone, from front desk to maintenance chap riding the elevator, who was not extremely polite and courteous, and who was not in good humour. This says a great deal about management, as when people aren't content it shows. While this is new management, the overall feeling is that things are on the right track. Unless something changes, I would expect this hotel to move forward positively.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RedMtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie M, General Manager at Meadowlands River Inn, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a nice and detailed review. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the suggestions as well. I hope to see you again soon during your next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

This was our first visit to this hotel and we were pleasantly surprised. The location is great - across the street from restaurants, close to WalMart and right across the street from the bus to Manhattan. Breakfast was fine - about what you'd expect. The 24-hour coffee and tea was very much appreciated, although it would have been extra nice to have decaf coffee available at all times as well. The room was clean and tidy with very comfortable beds, which are a welcome thing after a day of walking around Manhattan! Cesar at the front desk was polite, friendly and helpful. Thanks Cesar!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chorney942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie M, General Manager at Meadowlands River Inn, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and were able to take advantage of our amenities. I will be sure to pass along your compliments to Cesar! he is a valued member of our team and I'm pleased to hear that he was able to assist you.
We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

After reading many many reviews for hotels in the area and the NYC area, I chose this hotel. ..it had pretty good reviews and what sealed the deal was free parking and a bus stop to New York right across the street. ..I must say the hotel is not much to look at on the outside but it really was a great choice. ..free hot breakfast, Walmart, Sams and plenty of restaurants in walking distance and it was just a short bus ride to the NYC Port Authority. ..I would definitely stay here again. ..One more plus was the mini fridge and microwave

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Keitra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie M, General Manager at Meadowlands River Inn, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you so much for leaving a 5 star review! I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found our location to be convenient for your shopping, dining, and travelling needs. I'm happy that you enjoyed our breakfast and were able to use the refrigerator and microwave in your room. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Everything is so nice especially for the location. It only takes 20mins to go to time square.
The staff are all very nice! Jennifer who is the front desk really nice and helpful! We also like the sir who help us to make the cake as breakfast and he is really funny and loves his job! I also want to say thanks to every staff who helped me when we were in your hotel! We will come back again! -- Shen Qi

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ShenQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie M, General Manager at Meadowlands River Inn, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a 5 star review. I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay here. I'm happy that our location and service was accommodating for you and I will be sure to pass your compliments along to the entire staff. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Very good hotel and strategically located with all the amenities that a business traveler asks for. The staff is extremely friendly, especially Jennifer from the front desk who made the stay very cosy and comfortable with her ever smiling and helping attitude. She definitely makes the guests feel at home. I give this hotel a 5 star rating.

Room Tip: The higher rooms are better with the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SoumenBanerjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie M, General Manager at Meadowlands River Inn, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you so much for the 5 star review. I'm so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found our location convenient for your needs. We take a lot of pride in our customer service and I'm so happy to hear that we were able to exceed your expectations. I will definitely pass your compliments along to Jennifer. She is a valued member of our team and I'm glad she was able to assist you. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The hotel is generally nice. The staff at the desk was very nice and friendly and answered all of our questions. The room is kind of ordinary but pretty decent. When we entered our room, it had a musty odor but it went away when we started air conditionning. The fridge worked out pretty good contrary to other comments I read. It kept our drinks very cold. The breakfast is O.K. but if you want fruits, you have to arrive early. The bus stop for New York is just on the other side of the street. There are some decent restaurants near the hotel. The maid started making our room before we emptied it completely...That was ordinary. Overall, the place is a nice quality for the price.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank serena68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie M, General Manager at Meadowlands River Inn, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm sorry that we did not exceed your expectations. I hope to see you again during your next visit to the area so we can show you how we strive to exceed our guests' expectations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Secaucus hotels
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Secaucus/Meadowlands
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Secaucus / Meadowlands
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Secaucus Meadowlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Secaucus/Meadowlands
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Secaucus Meadowlands
0.4 mi away
Extended Stay America - Secaucus - New York City Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meadowlands River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meadowlands River Inn

Property: Meadowlands River Inn
Address: 250 Harmon Meadow Blvd, Secaucus, NJ 07094
Region: United States > New Jersey > Secaucus
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Secaucus
#4 Business Hotel in Secaucus
#4 Romantic Hotel in Secaucus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Meadowlands River Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Meadowlands River Inn hotel is conveniently located across the street from the MeadowlandsExpositionCenter, near the New Jersey Turnpike and a few miles from the Meadowlands Sports Complex where you can catch your favorite professional sports teams. When you’re ready to explore the northeast region, our hotel guests enjoy the convenience of being near major corporations, shopping destinations, world class dining and Big Apple attractions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Meadowlands River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Secaucus-Meadowlands Hotel Secaucus
Secaucus Hampton Inn
Meadowlands River Inn Secaucus, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing