We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient location AND great PRICE !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Place Secaucus/Meadowlands

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hyatt Place Secaucus/Meadowlands
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Secaucus
Certificate of Excellence
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Convenient location AND great PRICE !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

I stayed 3 night at this hotel. The lobby was like new and staff was friendly when checking inn. They were helpful with the transportation to NY. The best was is to take the NJ TRANSIT BUS .. around 8$ round trip to NY.The bus stop is just across the street from the hotel. The bus drops you at the NY bus terminal. Only a few blocks from times square. The rooms were big and had a big couch to watch tv to relax. The room was like new and the beds were comfy. The breakfest in the morning was good. A lot of selections from breakfast sandwich to fruits, yogurt ..... PERFECT ! 2 minutes from Walmart. Free wifi.THERE IS NO POOL. Very strange for a hotel now...Overall great affordable hotel for visiting NY.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MonctonAcadien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HPS201, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Secaucus/Meadowlands, responded to this review, 8 October 2012
Hello MonctonAcadien,

We appreciate you taking time out to review your stay and share with us your feedback! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experience while with us. In addition, we are happy that you were pleased with our new am kitchen skillet breakfast program. We pride ourselves on our customer service and hope to see you back again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    376
    325
    77
    29
    16
See reviews for
359
183
26
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

My toddler and I stayed here on the way to Newport RI as a halfway point. It was an easy stop off the New Jersey Turnpike and I was very pleased to see that it was in a small business park. There were stores and restaurants and a large movie theater so that we could walk around in the evening. I was expecting an isolated spot right off the highway and was delightfully surprised. Unlike others my GPS got me there no problem. I would suggest stopping and checking in first and then park as the parking brings you into the second floor -- so if you have checked in you can go right to your room.

The hotel was very clean, and the staff very nice. They had the best free breakfast of all the Hyatt Places that I have stayed in -- fresh waffles and 2 types of egg sandwiches. Plus they replenished it before stuff ever got low.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roadwarriormomof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HPS201, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Secaucus/Meadowlands, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
Hello RoadWarriorMom,

We appreciate you taking time out to review your stay and share with us your feedback! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experience while with us. In addition, we are happy that you were pleased with our new am kitchen skillet breakfast program. We pride ourselves on our customer service and hope to see you back again soon. Great name by the way....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

I stayed at the Hyatt Place in Secaucus this past weekend and was not too impressed as I thought I would be. I have stayed at Hyatt Place several times before in other locations and my experience was never quite like this.
I had to change rooms as my first room was smelling like smoke. Then ,the second room had AC problems. i had requested a high floor but when they gave me another i ended up on a middle level.
The breakfast area was set up like a cafeteria and the food was never well stocked. i never got as chance to experience the full breakfast selections. It was always a mess and sticky floors.
Planning to not stay at that location again . Disappointed!
The only PRO to this hotel was the Bus to NYC across the street.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lpoirier73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HPS201, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Secaucus/Meadowlands, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Hello Ipoirier73,

We appreciate you taking time out to review your stay and share with us your feedback! I assure you that I will address your important feedback and concerns with management. We pride ourselves on our customer service and hope to see you back again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, Maine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

Pros: The hotel was fantastic - very clean and quiet. Showers are I guess new and are really nice - there is no tub - just a stand up shower but that is absolutely perfect for most people. The rooms have a very nice sitting area and pull out sofa. The staff was extremely friendly and thoroughly explained how to get to NYC. There is a bus right across the street that runs about every 5 - 10 minutes depending on the time of the day. It makes a couple very quick stops on the way to NYC and then before you know it you are at 8th ave and 41st st. Juts a couple of blocks and you are in Times Square!

Con: The breakfast is good if you get there when it opens but once the crowds start to gather it is like an absolute zoo. While the staff does everything possible to keep up - it is mostly a futile task as product runs out seconds after it is replenished. Sunday was the absolute worst - there had to be 50 people in line at the food stations at times. Everything ran out including the coffee! It is so crowded and poorly designed that when a lot of people are around there is no way to maneuver to the station. we finally gave up and walked to Starbucks. Weekdays were busy too but nothing like Sunday. If you get there early enough, before the crowds, the breakfast is fantastic! It has everything you would want including hot skillet entries. As long as they are available they are great but get there when it opens!

Overall a very nice stay - everyone was extremely helpful and all pitched in to help at the breakfast but as I said - it would have taken a lot more people to keep up with the mob.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler567840502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HPS201, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Secaucus/Meadowlands, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Hello Traveler,

We appreciate you taking time out to review your stay and share with us your feedback! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experience while with us. In addition, we are happy that you were pleased with our new am kitchen skillet breakfast program. I assure you we will be enhancing our lobby area to create a better guest experience during breakfast hours. We pride ourselves on our customer service and hope to see you back again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
86 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

Spent 3 days here in July with wife and 2 young, teenage kids. If you don't have GPS, it may be hard to locate at first. Hotel is located in a suburban business park that contains several other hotels and about a dozen restaruants (Chili's, Red Lobster and Burger King to name a few). We found the location to be very relaxing and actually fairly quiet for what you would expect in the NYC area.

If you're driving, there are only about 12 parking spaces in front of the hotel. We were very luckly and were able to get one when we arrived. We never moved our car afterwards. According to the front desk, the adjacent parking garage can be used by guests for free, but only on the top level which is uncovered. There is a skybridge on the 2nd level which does connect to the hotel from the back.

Our room was the standard 2 beds, separate work area, separate bath from sink that you would find in Hyatt Places. Clean and modern but nothing that would really give you a "wow" feeling. We stayed on a lower floor and had a view of the bland skybridge. I didn't mind since we weren't planning on spending much time in the room anyways. Be advised that the hotel has no pool or hot tub. Breakfast consisted of cereal, pastries and some cooked bagel/omlettes. I personally would have preferred a waffle or pancake maker but they didn't have any.

What makes me rate the hotel so high is location and price. Less than half the cost of a downtown hotel, free parking and plently of suburban amenities which are within walking distance. The hotel also supplies a free shuttle bus if you don't want to walk .

Getting into NYC from here is incredibly simple. If you exit out the back of the hotel, there is a bus stop right across the street. For downtown NYC, take the 320. I think there are only 2 bus routes that stop there and they come about every 15 minutes. There's an automated machine at the stop where you just pick the route and if you want roundtrip tickets or just one way. Put in your credit card or cash and it'll spit out the tickets for you. It was around $4.00 for an adult 1-way ticket to downtown. If you buy a round trip ticket, all the machine does is give you 2 1-way tickets. We usually left the hotel around 10am and the bus was 2/3 empty. It was a modern, greyhound type bus with airconditioning and cloth seats. Just hand the driver a ticket, take a seat and within 15 minutes, you'll be at the Port Authority which is only 1 block from Times Square. Very simple and inexpensive way to get downtown, especially since the Lincoln tunnel cost something like $10 for a car to use and parking downtown can cost as much as a hotel room in the suburbs. Be advised that the terminal gate to return to New Jersey changes with the time. You catch the bus at gate 231 until 10pm then it moves somewhere else. Just something to remember if you're staying late in the city.

Overall, due to the cost and ease of getting downtown, we found the Hyatt to be a perfect location for seeing the city without breaking the bank or causing undue stress with city driving and parking.

Room Tip: Higher rooms on the East side may give you view of the NYC skyline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Redmonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HPS201, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Secaucus/Meadowlands, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Hello RedMonder,

We appreciate you taking time out to review your stay and share with us your feedback! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experience while with us. In addition, we are happy that you were pleased with our new am kitchen skillet breakfast program. We pride ourselves on our customer service and hope to see you back again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
245 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012 via mobile

Secaucus/Meadowlands is the place we usually go for visiting NYC. This time, we checked in the Hyatt. The reception, services and breakfasts are adequate but the place looks dark and a bit run down. The morning breakfast gets crowded quickly with slow access to elevators. The rooms are large but quite noisy with air conditionners running. In general we feel this place average, not the Hyatt experience we expected. For comparison, we believe the Hampton Inn close by, is a much better value.
Bus tickets to Manhattan is now $7.90 return, available through vending machines at the bus stop in front of the hotel.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank CityEnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HPS201, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Secaucus/Meadowlands, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Hello City End,

We appreciate you taking time out to review your stay and share with us your feedback! I assure you that your feedback and concerns will be addressed with our management team. We pride ourselves on our customer service and hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

It was our first trip to NYC and it was really important that we found a place with the amenities we needed. Upon our arrival, we noticed we were in an area where restaurants were close in proximity (a plus). The hotel front desk staff was friendly, courteous and knowledgable of the area. We were processed quickly and given our room. The room layout was great & looked clean! Requests for extra towels, toiletries and pillows were sent up efficiently. It suited our family very well. With two queen beds, plus a dedicated living area to lounge and watch TV, it didn't make you feel cramped at all! That was so important! The location of this hotel is within close proximity to NYC. Public transit is just outside the hotel and the round trip fare was very reasonable. Within minutes, you're in the city. They also have free Wi-Fi! It was nice to have complimentary breakfast available, but for the most part it was just bagels everyday and I felt they could've varied the selection better. All in all, the hotel location and price paid for our week stay was good! I'd stay here again and also recommend it to others :-)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HPS201, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Secaucus/Meadowlands, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Hello Ginad,

We appreciate you taking time out to review your stay and share with us your feedback! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experience while with us. We pride ourselves on our customer service and hope to see you back again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Secaucus hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Secaucus / Meadowlands
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Secaucus Meadowlands
0.3 mi away
Meadowlands River Inn
Meadowlands River Inn
#2 of 15 in Secaucus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Secaucus Meadowlands
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Secaucus Meadowlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Secaucus/Meadowlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Secaucus/Meadowlands

Property: Hyatt Place Secaucus/Meadowlands
Address: 575 Park Plaza Dr, Secaucus, NJ 07094-3655
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Secaucus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Secaucus
#3 Romantic Hotel in Secaucus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Secaucus/Meadowlands 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt place Secaucus/Meadowlands is located just 3 miles out of New York City. We are also in close proximity to plenty of shopping malls, local restaurant's and Met life Stadium. The Hyatt Place Secaucus/Meadowlands offers complimentary breakfast every morning. Other amenities of the hotel include a lounge serving Starbucks coffee/wine/beer/distilled spirits. We also have a fitness center available 24 hours a day and complimentary shuttle service to anywhere within a 3 mile radius! The beautifully-appointed guestrooms feature the Hyatt Grand Bed, free wifi, 42" LCD TVs and separate living space to work or relax! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, LoveHolidays and Odigeo so you can book your Hyatt Place Secaucus/Meadowlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Secaucus/Meadowlands Hotel Secaucus
Hyatt Place Secaucus/Meadowlands New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing