We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Place Secaucus/Meadowlands
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Secaucus
Certificate of Excellence
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We stayed at this hotel a few years back in 201, we were visiting New York City and had booked in a hostel (big mistake) and had plaid for it and decided to leave due to fake pictures and bad service.. We couldn't find a hotel in New York so we came to New Jersey. Thankfully, there was one room left at 3 am in the morning, so we booked it right away! The room was big we were 5 ( 3 sleeping in a King size bed and 2 sleeping on the couch. Very Clean, great service, reasonable price, big rooms. Would go back anytime!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elizabeth e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HPS201, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Place Secaucus/Meadowlands, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Dear elizabeth e,

Thank you for your fantastic review. We often get enthusiatic reviews about the spaciousness of our rooms and our reasonable prices. Combined with our service and location, we have come to be one of the preferred hotels in the greater New York City metropolitan area.

We're glad we were able to accommodate you during your stay here, and we hope that you'll choose to stay with us again during your next stay in our area.

Best Regards,

Elliot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    406
    343
    80
    36
    19
See reviews for
387
191
31
141
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
436 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I recently stayed here when I accompanied my husband on a business trip. The rooms are spacious and clean. The bed was very comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful. All rooms are equipped with free wifi and their connection was really good (some hotels the wifi is so slow). The TV was equipped with all the right inputs and outputs for connecting your laptop or if you're a geek like us - we were able to watch movies from our laptop and display on their large screen TV. Breakfast was plentiful. The location is just perfect - only 25 minutes from Manhattan with a bus right down to take you there or you can drive very easily via the Lincoln tunnel - which is 5 minutes away. Very close to restaurants and shops. They had a bridge connecting the parking lot to the hotel so you don't have to walk out in the cold. Plus a bridge to the adjoining office buildings so my husband never had to step out into the snow - very nice and convenient. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose a room that is far away from the elevators - much quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sanders3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HPS201, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Place Secaucus/Meadowlands, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Sanders3,

We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed our hotel. Yes, there is a pedestrian tunnel connecting our 2nd floor to the office building across the street as well as to the parking garage next door (though our guest parking is actually on the 3rd level of that garage!). The console on the side of our 42" HD TVs is very useful. You can connect a PC, a playstation/Xbox/Wii device or a DVD player with HDMI output. Please do remember to bring the required cables. You can see a User Guide for the plug-in panel on our website under the "Rooms" section: Choose the room type and then look under "Amenities", and follow the link to see a .pdf file of the plug-in panel.

On average, 25 minutes to Manhattan sounds about right, though as you mention, the bus does travel through the Lincoln Tunnel and is at the mercy of traffic. I've known the bus to take as little as 15 minutes to Manhattan, or as long as 90 minutes - all depending on traffic. Weekend traffic is usually fine, but there can be heavy traffic on weekdays between 7am and 10:30am, and then in the afternoon/evening from 3:30pm to 7pm. Many people choose to take our shuttle to the Secaucus Junction Train Station instead. Secaucus Junction is just one stop away from Penn Station in New York City. Our shuttle runs from 7am to 10:45 pm, and it's the best way to go during rush-hour traffic!

We're so glad that we were able to meet and even exceed your expectations. We'll be sure to let our associates know how much you appreciated their service, and we hope you'll be joining us again for your next visit to our area. Your referral is our biggest compliment.

Best Regards,

Elliot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We stayed to this place last weekend and staff was very helpful and coutrious. Propery rooms are specious and clean.All rooms have seperat leaving room. Location is very convienient. So many nice food places at walking distence. New York Transit is every 20 minute from front door that take you to Manhattan so you do not have to drive to New york in busy trafic. Newark airport is also 20 minute drive. Indian Market Jersy City is also 5 miles with all nice food restaurents and shoping.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtravel11_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HPS201, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Place Secaucus/Meadowlands, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Dear worldtravel11_11,

Thank you for sharing the super experience you had at our hotel with the online traveller community. I'll be sure to let our whole team know how much you enjoyed your stay.
We often get enthusiastic feedback about the spaciousness of our rooms, and we're delighted that you enjoyed your room so much. The "living room" you mentioned is what we call our "cozy corner", and there is a semi-division between this area and the bed area of the room. This semi-division does add a subtle feeling of privacy which makes the corner that much cozier. The 42" high-definition television also has a swivel function so that you can watch it from the cozy corner, angle it toward the bed, or set it right in the middle so people in both areas of your room can watch it at the same time.

Not many travelers to our area mention "Little India" in Jersey City, which is a wonderful place to visit for anyone who is a fan of Indian culture and cuisine. Just like Chinatown and Little Italy in Manhattan, Jersey City's Little India is a truly unique place in our area. If you enjoy Indian cuisine, you'll be happy to know that there are two wonderful Indian restaurants here in Secaucus: Mausam and Tadka. During your next visit to our area, feel free to book a ride in our shuttle and we'll be happy to take you to either one (our last shuttle booking time is 10:45pm). Both of these restaurants also do catering or delivery to your room. And if you're in the mood for dessert afterwards, come on down to our 24-hour Bakery Cafe and indulge your sweet tooth!

Best Regards,

Elliot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

Worth every cent, better to stay here than Manhatten and cummute 15mins on the bus to times sq. Save money get a great hotel, food shops in walking distance and the big apple a short bus ride. Staff friendly lots of dine in options.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HPS201, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Place Secaucus/Meadowlands, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Paulkaiwill,

We're so happy that you had such a pleasant experience at our hotel. There are plenty of great dining options within walking distance, and we also have our very own 24/7 Gallery Menu. My personal favorite is the portobello and brie soup with the chicken Caesar salad! As you mentioned, we are only 5 miles from Manhattan. The bus or the train will take you straight to Port Authority or Penn Station respectively. I prefer the train myself, since it's not at the mercy of any possible traffic jams through the Lincoln tunnel. New Jersey Transit's bus 320 is very comfortable, though, and it can be faster than the train in light traffic.

I'll make sure to let our staff know how much you appreciated their hospitality, and we look forward to seeing you in the future! Thank you for writing such a wonderful review. We really do appreciate it!

Best Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

We wanted to spend a couple of days in NY at the beginning of December and when I started looking for hotels in Manhattan I was rather disappointed, the prices were rather salty, to say the least. That's when I considered staying out of the island and catching the tube or the bus into the city. Best decision ever! And at the Hyatt Place we could do just that! There's a bus right outside the hotel that takes you straight to the Port Authority in the heart of the city in 10 to 15 minutes ( off peak times).
The hotel itself is consistent with the quality offered by all Hyatt Place hotels: good beds, spacious rooms, mini fridge and microwave, tasteful decor and all over very clean.
We'll choose this hotel again should we visit NY at another opportunity.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank sandragab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HPS201, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Place Secaucus/Meadowlands, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear sandragab,

First of all, I'd like to thank you for taking time out of your day to write this wonderful and insightful review about our hotel. I'd especially like to thank you for mentioning "off peak times" when mentioning New Jersey Transit's bus 320. While Bus 320 offers a direct shot right into Midtown Manhattan, the bus is still at the mercy of traffic through the Lincoln Tunnel. In general, traffic is only heavy on weekdays from about 7am to 10:30 am, and then from 4pm to 7pm. Aside from those peak-traffic times, though, you can go straight to NYC from the 320 bus stop right outside our back door.
We're thrilled that you discovered our hotel and we hope to see you back for your future stays in our area. We do have the most spacious and reasonably priced hotel rooms in the greater NYC metropolitan area, and we have much more to offer as well. Secaucus, and in particular Harmon Meadows, is rapidly expanding and has much to offer that you simply won't find in Manhattan. Our hotel is part of an expansive and spacious pedestrian plaza where new restaurants are opening all the time. Outlet shopping centers are in our area as well, including the Secaucus Outlets, and the popular Jersey Gardens. A brand new Macy's Outlet Shopping Center is also in the works right here in Secaucus.
The landscape is another huge difference. When it snows, you'll see slushy greyish snow in the busy streets of NYC while the snow in New Jersey makes for a tranquil winter wonderland. And many a local will tell you that the best pizza around is here in New Jersey. When you stay with us, you really do get the best of both worlds.
Thank you again for your enthusiastic review. We're thrilled that we not only met but exceeded your expectations.

Best Regards,

Elliot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cottonwood Heights, Utah
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Great Hotel, with Great access to New York. We stayed to visit New York, and this hotel was great. The bus runs 15 minutes, and your in the heart of New York! Also convenient with great restaurants, and shopping. We used the shuttle a couple of times for dinner, and it was quick and friendly. The staff also were great to us, and our kids. A great hotel for our vacation!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jolpin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HPS201, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Place Secaucus/Meadowlands, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Dear Jolpin,

We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with your family here at Hyatt Place Secaucus in Harmon Meadows. Our guests really do get the best of both worlds, with New York City just a short ride away, and a beautiful and spacious pedestrian plaza just across the street. Harmon Meadows is rapidly expanding and we have a couple of great new restaurants that have just opened up: Red Robin and Buffalo Wild Wings. The pedestrian plaza is a great place for family dining or a nice leisurely stroll after a busy day in New York City.

Many of our guests enjoy taking our shuttle to wonderful local restaurants around the hotel. Some of the more popular ones include Outback Steak House, Carrabba's, Olive Garden, and Trattoria Da Pino. A lot of guests also like to take the shuttle to Secaucus Junction train station to catch the train to New York Penn Station. Guests also use the shuttle to go to local laundromats.

We're greatful for your wonderful review of our hotel, and we look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit to our area.

Best Regards,

Elliot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potomac
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

The lighting in the room is not great. The hotel has a lot of free parking spaces but not convenient for guests. Breakfast is good , can't complain . The bus stop is right in front of hotel. Plenty of bus 320 go to New York city in 10 to 15 minutes .
Guests can have an apple anytime during the day 24/24 . Room is very small and looks out of date , hotel needs to renovate . Overall it is clean . Price is reasonable

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pthang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HPS201, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Place Secaucus/Meadowlands, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Dear pthang,

Thank you for taking time out of your day to share your feedback about our hotel. We take your feedback very seriously, and I can't help but notice that much of what you experienced here was the opposite of what we usually hear from our guests.

As you mentioned, there are plenty of parking spaces at our hotel. Most of these spaces are on the third level of the parking garage next door. There are also handicapped parking spaces on the ground level right by the back door and numerous other spaces on the ground level right outside our front door. From the level-3 parking area, there is a direct connection to our hotel one level down on the second level. This requires guests to go down one flight of stairs, so we recommend that our guests unload their luggage before parking.

We're sorry to hear that your room was not as spacious as you had anticipated. Typically, guests are pleased with the spaciousness of our rooms as we offer some of the most spacious rooms in the greater New York City metropolitan area. Before your next visit, please let us know in advance that you require an extra amount of space and we can pre-assign you to one of our accessible King rooms, a Double room, or even make a double reservation for you to have two connecting King rooms.

I'm also very sorry to hear that the lighting in our room was not to your satisfaction. Was one of the lights not working? A typical room at our hotel should have 8 sources of artificial light: two above the cozy corner, two in the bed area (usually with 3 different brightness settings), one above the bathroom sink, one inside the bathroom, one above the kitchenette, and a lamp on the desk. If all of these lights weren't functioning optimally, please get back to me and let me know any details.

While I'm glad to know that you generally enjoyed your stay here and found it to be acceptable, I also regret that your experience at our hotel was anything less than excellent. While Hyatt Place is just the right fit for the majority of our guests, I feel that you might better appreciate the services at a Grand Hyatt, Hyatt Regency, Andaz, Park Hyatt or other Hyatt property. These properties offer gourmet breakfast options with room service/in-room dining and a valet parking service. These other Hyatt properties also share many of the services that we offer which were mentioned in your review, such as our 24-hour menu and our convenient transportation options to popular destinations such as New York City. In fact, the Hyatt Times Square has recently opened its doors right in the heart of Times Square. Their rooms are on average just about the same size as ours, and they also have suites for extra space.

Please feel free to contact me at the hotel if you would like to further discuss any details about your stay.

Best Regards,

Elliot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Secaucus hotels
0.2 mi away
Meadowlands River Inn
Meadowlands River Inn
#3 of 15 in Secaucus
676 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Secaucus / Meadowlands
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Secaucus Meadowlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Secaucus Meadowlands
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Secaucus Meadowlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Secaucus/Meadowlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Secaucus/Meadowlands

Property: Hyatt Place Secaucus/Meadowlands
Address: 575 Park Plaza Dr, Secaucus, NJ 07094-3655
Region: United States > New Jersey > Secaucus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Secaucus
#3 Romantic Hotel in Secaucus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Secaucus/Meadowlands 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt place Secaucus/Meadowlands is located just 3 miles out of New York City. We are also in close proximity to plenty of shopping malls, local restaurant's and Met life Stadium. The Hyatt Place Secaucus/Meadowlands offers complimentary breakfast every morning. Other amenities of the hotel include a lounge serving Starbucks coffee/wine/beer/distilled spirits. We also have a fitness center available 24 hours a day and complimentary shuttle service to anywhere within a 3 mile radius! The beautifully-appointed guestrooms feature the Hyatt Grand Bed, free wifi, 42" LCD TVs and separate living space to work or relax! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Place Secaucus/Meadowlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Secaucus/Meadowlands Hotel Secaucus
Hyatt Place Secaucus/Meadowlands New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing