We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Local Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kincaid House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
197 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Great Local Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

We visited Kincaid for a birthday lunch yesterday and our party of 12 were served in the conservatory ( we were the only ones in)
The waitress was helpful and very friendly.
The food was promptly served, hot and delicious .
Over the years we been here for weddings, anniversary parties, first communions and bar meals in the the pub at the back of the building (with its roaring fire!)
A nice local hotel(can't make a comment about the rooms as we've never stayed)
We'll be back , again, and again, and again ........

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank rogertaboyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    45
    11
    6
    5
See reviews for
44
31
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Livingston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

Went to sons wedding held at Kincaid House Hotel stayed Saturday lunch until Monday morning checkout.
Right from arrival until departure found management and staff professional, helpful and friendly feel we could not ask for any better service than that we received in hotel and stables bar.
All details of wedding were handled superbly by Amie and staff, leaving Scot, Laura, family and friends to enjoy the occasion. With all points covered to our great satisfaction and delight.
Many thanks to all management and staff for superb meals and service throughout this fantastic weekend
Would recommend this venue and location for all occasions.
Billy & Maria Millar from Livingston Scotland

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

My husband and I visited Kincaid House last night for a bite to eat, we have been a couple of times before and we will definately be visiting more often. Friendly and efficient service and the food was delicious, I had fish and chips but the batter the fish was done in was so different to any other fish and chips I have tasted and my husband also had a fish dish which was also delicious and very well presented. Nice relaxed atmosphere and reasonable prices.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank estevensonelaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

Had lunch here with friends. Husband realised he was being charged twice for his lunch. He mentioned this to the waitress who assured him she was right.
We phoned when we got home and had checked the prices, initially helpful chap phoned back later to say the till tallied and it wasn't their problem!
How hard would it have been to accept what we said rather than set out to try and prove us wrong?
Not happy and after reading other reviews I see I'm not alone.
Wont be back :(

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BabblingBr00k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KincaidHouse, Owner at Kincaid House Hotel, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
You’re a bit sparing with the detail here.

You didn’t stay in the hotel, you were with a party of around 13 cyclists and support who use us on a fairly regular basis as a pit stop – nice people and I’ve offered sandwiches on the house before. The party had a bite to eat with a single order of starters/snacks/mains being made. The bill of £118.05 (average price per head £9.08 including drinks) was paid in dribs and drabs.

Only one gentleman queried his element of the bill and this was rectified. You phoned 2/3 hours later with much the same query looking for a rebate. We did a double check of the bill and monies received and found no discrepancies or overage and phoned back to let you know, suggesting if you felt you had paid more than your share perhaps you take this up with your group.

This could have been avoided if the party had simply sorted the bill out amongst themselves.

Is it coincidence how, yet again, a refusal to hand out money willy-nilly prompts a poor review?

P.S. The money itself isn’t an issue – the entire bill has been donated to a local children’s hospital.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

Exterior shots look nice. Unfortunately that's just about where it ends. The hotel interior is run down in all public areas that we saw. The welcome was good. The standards of cleanliness in the room and bathroom were poor (Room 7). The carpets were stained,the remote control was dirty the bed was uncomfortable (although the sheets were ok). The bathroom had black mould around the bath, the tumbler at the sink was wiped clean but still had lipstick on it. We complained and to be honest the complaint fell on deaf ears. The manager was not apologetic and did nothing to fix the problem. The breakfast was substandard (cheap ingredients) and swimming in grease. There is no way the room should be sold to a paying guest until the dirty tiles/black mould are cleaned and the carpet in the bedroom is replaced. No wifi (which was advertised as available in all rooms) or mobile phone signal. Very disappointing more so in the way the manager handled us in the morning (we asked to be moved soon after check in so they knew we were not happy with the room) - it was your opportunity to fix things not make us feel more uncomfortable at breakfast by being ignorant and abrupt when you 'served' us.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Scotlands_wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KincaidHouse, Owner at Kincaid House Hotel, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
You stayed with us on 11th September with your wife who posted her review under the pseudonym of scotlady101 on 14th September. Your profiles show a history of double hitting reviews.

No doubt TripAdvisor readers welcome worthwhile, erudite comments. But any duplication - is this not superfluous?

We did acknowledge an issue with grouting which is currently being addressed, but whilst your wife’s review has its positive points, yours crosses a line. To hide behind a pseudonym on a public forum and call the female member of staff you spoke to in the morning (she isn’t the manager and your breakfast was served by a waiter) ‘ignorant and abrupt’ is not only cowardly but abusive and upsetting to the staff member in question.

In current usage, ‘ignorant’ is a derogatory term and as a senior contributor to TripAdvisor you should realise the language you use in your reviews affects those people involved in the workplace – no other industry would tolerate it. If those comments had been made face-to-face, you would quite rightly have been ejected from the premises.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambleside, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

My husband booked a last minute nights stay, as we had to attend a family funeral in Glasgow.
We arrived after 7pm after a long drive and were ready to relax and have some dinner.

We checked in, the girl was very nice and was covering the Bar and Reception. When we reached our room, we were disappointed in the general cleanliness of the room but most especially the bathroom. The tiles and grouting were covered
in black mould, the tumbler at the sink was dirty, with remnants of waxy lipstick and sticky fingers. The bath plug hole still had a grubby piece of plastic lying on top and they white (grey) net curtains had a dead squished insect in the fold.

The room itself was dusty, the beside cabinets and lamps especially so. The good news was that the bed linen was crisp and clean and the bed was well made.

We headed to the bar, ordered a couple of drinks then asked if there was any chance of another room. Unfortunately no other rooms were available. We had found it difficult to get a room in the area, so decided that we had to stay but we would go out for dinner. The bar person/receptionist said she would leave a note on the Managers desk, to let her know we were unhappy.

In the morning, we headed to breakfast after bring wakened by footsteps which seemed to be walking miles... The noise penetrated through the walls. We thought it was another guest but realised at breakfast, we were hearing the footsteps of the staff walking through the restaurant/ bar area to the kitchen. It sounded like someone was wearing tap shoes!

The breakfast buffet was poor, what appeared to be packet Danish and crossaints, poor quality fruit and small selection of cereals. The cooked breakfast was one of the worst I have had, cheap, fatty, greasy bacon and poached egg with an almost raw tomato. The whole plate was swimming with grease. I couldn't eat it.

Our breakfast order was taken by the Manageress, although she didn't introduce herself until we were leaving the breakfast room. She was dressed in casual clothes, wearing cowboy type boots. Very unprofessional appearance and not what I'd expect of someone working in a country house hotel.

As mentioned, the Manageress spoke to us as we were leaving, she seemed uninterested and seemed to have a knowledge and acceptance that the room was not up to standard. It was an easy fix and a sure sign that cleaning standards are not as you would expect. There was no apology offered or any solution as to how they could leave us feeling as though we were listened to and a valued guest.

This could be fabulous... For weddings, family get togetherness.... But it needs a lot of work and time invested.
Would I return.... Sadly, No!

Please listen, it's easy fixes, but it needs care, attention and management... Sadly lacking at the moment.
Good Luck!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank scotlady101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
203 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

My wife and myself use the Kincaid as our local and I have never thought about doing a review. We have been going there for years and the place is great with both the food and standard of service being top notch. We tend to visit the bar on most occasions and the atmosphere is always good. If you are in Milton Of Campsie pay it a visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimcrawley55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milton of Campsie
Smiths Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kirkintilloch
3.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Side
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
#5 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kincaid House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kincaid House Hotel

Property: Kincaid House Hotel
Address: Birdston Road, Milton of Campsie, Milton of Campsie G66 8BZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Dunbartonshire > Milton of Campsie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Milton of Campsie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kincaid House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Book Direct Rooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Agoda, HotelsClick, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kincaid House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing