We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant, Hotel and Wedding Venue...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kincaid House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 January 2014

This review is well overdue (by over 6 months) but well worth writing. I am in the fortunate position to be able to review Kincaid House as a restaurant, a hotel and a wedding venue.
We first discovered the hotel when searching for somewhere to get married. It was the first place we looked at and although we felt we should look at others, we never found anywhere else with the same balance of great customer service, amazing food, lovely surroundings and a very reasonable price for exclusive use. We fell in love with the conservatory and loved the fact we could have the ceremony there. It meant we could get married, in the surrounds of the garden but stay warm and dry if it rained (which it did).If I'm being honest, the only thing that put us off slightly, was the heavily patterned carpet in the main function room. As it happened this was pulled out the month before our wedding and replaced with gorgeous wooden flooring! The wedding coordinator, Amie, is fantastic. She never seemed to get bored of our questions and nothing ever seemed like too much trouble. It was no problem to get in special drinks and tailor a meal for those with a host of dietary requirements. The day itself went very smoothly and there are some great places for photos whether the weather is kind or not.

In terms of a hotel, our party filled up the nine bedrooms and all were very happy with them. The breakfast next morning was fantastic and freshly cooked to order. To anyone considering this as a wedding venue but looking for more bedrooms, there are other hotels nearby along with some great self catering accommodation. Be aware too, that a private taxi to Glasgow City Centre is only around £14. Not much, if it's shared between four people.

Now onto the restaurant. Since first discovering Kincaid House, we have eaten there on a number of occasions. You have the option of eating in the conservatory or the Stables Bar which is attached to the hotel. I believe the menu is the same for both. The menu has a great selection on it, including good veggie options, and the food is amazing. We can be quite critical when it comes to eating out but can honestly say we have never had a bad meal here. The conservatory is great for a nice relaxing lunch and quite romantic at night, especially when the fairy lights go on. The Stables is great for the same quality of food but in a more relaxed bar environment. All at a very reasonable price, considering the high quality of the food.

Now what I think makes this place really stand out, and the above would not be possible without, is the staff that work there. They really are a credit to the management; I don't think we have ever come across such consistent, good customer service. Every member of staff we have dealt with has been extremely polite and very helpful. They genuinely seem to want you to have the best possible experience without going over the top. A special mention has to go to Suzanne and Craig but everyone has been great.

This may sound strange, but discovering Kincaid House has been one of the great perks in getting married. We love the fact we can pop back there for a casual meal and it's always the first place we think of when planning something for a special family occasion. I may be going on a bit but I can thoroughly recommend Kincaid House as a restaurant, hotel and wedding venue. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fourleafclover1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2013

We visited Kincaid for a birthday lunch yesterday and our party of 12 were served in the conservatory ( we were the only ones in)
The waitress was helpful and very friendly.
The food was promptly served, hot and delicious .
Over the years we been here for weddings, anniversary parties, first communions and bar meals in the the pub at the back of the building (with its roaring fire!)
A nice local hotel(can't make a comment about the rooms as we've never stayed)
We'll be back , again, and again, and again ........

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank rogertaboyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Went to sons wedding held at Kincaid House Hotel stayed Saturday lunch until Monday morning checkout.
Right from arrival until departure found management and staff professional, helpful and friendly feel we could not ask for any better service than that we received in hotel and stables bar.
All details of wedding were handled superbly by Amie and staff, leaving Scot, Laura, family and friends to enjoy the occasion. With all points covered to our great satisfaction and delight.
Many thanks to all management and staff for superb meals and service throughout this fantastic weekend
Would recommend this venue and location for all occasions.
Billy & Maria Millar from Livingston Scotland

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

My husband and I visited Kincaid House last night for a bite to eat, we have been a couple of times before and we will definately be visiting more often. Friendly and efficient service and the food was delicious, I had fish and chips but the batter the fish was done in was so different to any other fish and chips I have tasted and my husband also had a fish dish which was also delicious and very well presented. Nice relaxed atmosphere and reasonable prices.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank estevensonelaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Had lunch here with friends. Husband realised he was being charged twice for his lunch. He mentioned this to the waitress who assured him she was right.
We phoned when we got home and had checked the prices, initially helpful chap phoned back later to say the till tallied and it wasn't their problem!
How hard would it have been to accept what we said rather than set out to try and prove us wrong?
Not happy and after reading other reviews I see I'm not alone.
Wont be back :(

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BabblingBr00k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KincaidHouse, Owner at Kincaid House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

You’re a bit sparing with the detail here.

You didn’t stay in the hotel, you were with a party of around 13 cyclists and support who use us on a fairly regular basis as a pit stop – nice people and I’ve offered sandwiches on the house before. The party had a bite to eat with a single order of starters/snacks/mains being made. The bill of £118.05 (average price per head £9.08 including drinks) was paid in dribs and drabs.

Only one gentleman queried his element of the bill and this was rectified. You phoned 2/3 hours later with much the same query looking for a rebate. We did a double check of the bill and monies received and found no discrepancies or overage and phoned back to let you know, suggesting if you felt you had paid more than your share perhaps you take this up with your group.

This could have been avoided if the party had simply sorted the bill out amongst themselves.

Is it coincidence how, yet again, a refusal to hand out money willy-nilly prompts a poor review?

P.S. The money itself isn’t an issue – the entire bill has been donated to a local children’s hospital.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Exterior shots look nice. Unfortunately that's just about where it ends. The hotel interior is run down in all public areas that we saw. The welcome was good. The standards of cleanliness in the room and bathroom were poor (Room 7). The carpets were stained,the remote control was dirty the bed was uncomfortable (although the sheets were ok). The bathroom had black mould around the bath, the tumbler at the sink was wiped clean but still had lipstick on it. We complained and to be honest the complaint fell on deaf ears. The manager was not apologetic and did nothing to fix the problem. The breakfast was substandard (cheap ingredients) and swimming in grease. There is no way the room should be sold to a paying guest until the dirty tiles/black mould are cleaned and the carpet in the bedroom is replaced. No wifi (which was advertised as available in all rooms) or mobile phone signal. Very disappointing more so in the way the manager handled us in the morning (we asked to be moved soon after check in so they knew we were not happy with the room) - it was your opportunity to fix things not make us feel more uncomfortable at breakfast by being ignorant and abrupt when you 'served' us.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Scotlands_wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KincaidHouse, Owner at Kincaid House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2013

You stayed with us on 11th September with your wife who posted her review under the pseudonym of scotlady101 on 14th September. Your profiles show a history of double hitting reviews.

No doubt TripAdvisor readers welcome worthwhile, erudite comments. But any duplication - is this not superfluous?

We did acknowledge an issue with grouting which is currently being addressed, but whilst your wife’s review has its positive points, yours crosses a line. To hide behind a pseudonym on a public forum and call the female member of staff you spoke to in the morning (she isn’t the manager and your breakfast was served by a waiter) ‘ignorant and abrupt’ is not only cowardly but abusive and upsetting to the staff member in question.

In current usage, ‘ignorant’ is a derogatory term and as a senior contributor to TripAdvisor you should realise the language you use in your reviews affects those people involved in the workplace – no other industry would tolerate it. If those comments had been made face-to-face, you would quite rightly have been ejected from the premises.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

My husband booked a last minute nights stay, as we had to attend a family funeral in Glasgow.
We arrived after 7pm after a long drive and were ready to relax and have some dinner.

We checked in, the girl was very nice and was covering the Bar and Reception. When we reached our room, we were disappointed in the general cleanliness of the room but most especially the bathroom. The tiles and grouting were covered
in black mould, the tumbler at the sink was dirty, with remnants of waxy lipstick and sticky fingers. The bath plug hole still had a grubby piece of plastic lying on top and they white (grey) net curtains had a dead squished insect in the fold.

The room itself was dusty, the beside cabinets and lamps especially so. The good news was that the bed linen was crisp and clean and the bed was well made.

We headed to the bar, ordered a couple of drinks then asked if there was any chance of another room. Unfortunately no other rooms were available. We had found it difficult to get a room in the area, so decided that we had to stay but we would go out for dinner. The bar person/receptionist said she would leave a note on the Managers desk, to let her know we were unhappy.

In the morning, we headed to breakfast after bring wakened by footsteps which seemed to be walking miles... The noise penetrated through the walls. We thought it was another guest but realised at breakfast, we were hearing the footsteps of the staff walking through the restaurant/ bar area to the kitchen. It sounded like someone was wearing tap shoes!

The breakfast buffet was poor, what appeared to be packet Danish and crossaints, poor quality fruit and small selection of cereals. The cooked breakfast was one of the worst I have had, cheap, fatty, greasy bacon and poached egg with an almost raw tomato. The whole plate was swimming with grease. I couldn't eat it.

Our breakfast order was taken by the Manageress, although she didn't introduce herself until we were leaving the breakfast room. She was dressed in casual clothes, wearing cowboy type boots. Very unprofessional appearance and not what I'd expect of someone working in a country house hotel.

As mentioned, the Manageress spoke to us as we were leaving, she seemed uninterested and seemed to have a knowledge and acceptance that the room was not up to standard. It was an easy fix and a sure sign that cleaning standards are not as you would expect. There was no apology offered or any solution as to how they could leave us feeling as though we were listened to and a valued guest.

This could be fabulous... For weddings, family get togetherness.... But it needs a lot of work and time invested.
Would I return.... Sadly, No!

Please listen, it's easy fixes, but it needs care, attention and management... Sadly lacking at the moment.
Good Luck!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank scotlady101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milton of Campsie
4.5 mi away
Best Western Garfield House Hotel
1.3 mi away
Smiths Hotel
Smiths Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kirkintilloch
135 reviews
1.5 mi away
Glazert Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Boclair House Hotel
Boclair House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bearsden
279 reviews
20.1 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
4.3 mi away
The Coachman Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kincaid House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kincaid House Hotel

Address: Near Kirkintilloch Birdston Road, Milton of Campsie, Kirkintilloch G66 8BZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Dunbartonshire > Kirkintilloch > Milton of Campsie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Milton of Campsie
Price Range: £74 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kincaid House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Expedia, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Kincaid House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing