We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good view, noisy room” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Drifting Sands Oceanfront Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ship Bottom
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Drifting Sands Oceanfront Motel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ship Bottom
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good view, noisy room”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

The thing is, I like this place. The people at check in are nice and it's right on the ocean. But... I'd asked for the room where we'd stayed before, which has a pretty ocean/tree view. When we got here last weekend we were given a "complimentary upgrade" to a really noisy room with a view of the ocean and a power pole. We mentioned the noise and the lady said she'd call someone, but it was there that night and we barely slept, like a bowling ball rolling on the roof it persisted. Next time, I will insist upon the room I requested. I'm sure they will fix the issue on the roof eventually. In their defense, Sandy may have been part of the cause, but still, we're paying to relax. We even wanted to stay two more nights, but checked out early because the noise was unbearable. So 5 stars for last year's stay and 2 stars for this year's. But I wouldn't write it off based on this one experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clem5977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    42
    27
    12
    19
See reviews for
71
70
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glenside, PA
Level Contributor
85 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2012

Our stay was a free night won at a travel show, so, not much to lose. Very pleasantly surprised that they booked us into a third floor ocean front room. Granted it was at the top of the stairs on the end and maybe (?) smaller than other rooms, but it suited us fine. The view of the beach and ocean from our balcony was beautiful. The view of the ugly utility pole from the side window, not so great, but the evergreen trees planted there should hide that eventually. It was nice to be able to open the windows and sliding door for a great ocean breeze. The naturescape between the motel and the sand had loads of monarch butterflies. Room was a decent size king and the bed, while oddly hard on the edges and soft in the interior was comfortable enough. The furniture had a simple cottage look and was cute. An empty corner in front of the sliding door could use an upholstered chair. There's nothing to sit on besides the bed or 2 hard chairs. A small fridge, microwave and sink came in handy. 4, count 'em, 4 plastic hangers in the large closet and NO in- room safe. Ridiculous coffee service. One small motel sized pot, 2 mugs, 1 packet of coffee and.....that's it. No stirrers, spoon, powdered creamer, napkin, nothing, besides the packet of coffee. Pretty sad. The bathroom was very clean. Amenities included a few packets of toothpaste and a small assortment of lotions and soaps. Nothing special, but useful. Towels were fine. Ecru! Flat screen tv with HBO and a bunch of other cable type channels. AC unit in the wall seemed to be newish and while we didn't need it, it looked to be big enough to do it's job. Slightly stinky smell in the room and bathroom, but I don't think it was associated with mold or crud, just a beachfront kind of thing. Overall, it was nice and appeared clean and I would recommend room 321. I do not know what the usual price is so I can't address value for the money. For free, it was great!! Thanks, Drifting Sands!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank visualgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Branch, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

The Drifting Sands has it all. Extremely friendly staff, clean rooms, awesome view for a great price.. Perfect location right on the beach and at the center of all long beach island has to offer. Wake up to the beautiful view of the Atlantic Ocean. You cannot get any better than this.
ajp.

Room Tip: ocean front or ocean view is awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen County, NJ
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

Our family has stayed at this motel time and time again for one simple reason, it does not get any better than this at the Jersey Shore. I felt the need to post another review after reading some of the negative reviews posted. Let me begin by saying there is no way an ocean front room had an old TV or was dirty. The building itself is a few years old and the equipment in it the same. At least one of the owners is in the office at all times and is always more than accommodating should an issue arise. The price for an ocean front room is comparable to what the other ocean front motels are charging. Each room comes with a jacuzzi, fridge, balcony, breakfast table and chairs, etc. Sorry for those of you who opted for the economy rooms, those rooms are budget rooms and do not offer what the ocean front and ocean view suites have to offer. Regardless of which room you choose, they are all on the ocean and merely a few feet to the beach. There is complimentary coffee, bagels and fruit each morning in the lobby. Forget about having to pack umbrellas and chairs because this motel provides them for a mere $5.00 per day and the cabana boy sets it all up for you on the beach. At night they employ a watchman who patrols the grounds ensuring there is no late night partying so that everyone can sleep peacefully. Perfect location, clean, friendly staff. You cannot ask for more at the Jersey Shore.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sammiblueyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
penllyn
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

We happened upon the Drifting Sands and were pleasantly surprised by the friendliness of the staff, the convenience and the affordable price. We were so satisfied that we returned a second time within one month and plan on many more visits. A great Find!!

Room Tip: Would not recommend first floor ocean front. The rooms in the main building are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank terry p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

We stayed here a week ago. We were recommended this motel by friends who lived in the area. However, they recommended it due to the location and had not seen the rooms.
When I rang to book I was told that the rooms were all the same, the only difference in price was for the views:this is not true.
We were taken to the economy building on our first night and we refused to stay in this room (no electricity, small, very basic and dated looking on to a very shabby building at the back) so they placed us in another room (non oceon view building). This was much improved yet sink was blocked in bathroom. We were then needed to be moved again to another room after 3 nights with my 13 year old son on a folded bed. This room however was significantly better; comfortable, roomy and with a balcony.
Apparently, my mum phoned whilst we were away and was put through to leave a message; we didnt receive it so not sure which room they put her through to! She stated the reception gentleman was not very friendly.
The location is superb. The cleaners are pleasant and the two rooms we agreed to stay in were very clean and comfortable.
However, this is very overpriced; we paid more for this room than we did an excellent hotel in the heart of New York. There does appear little competition in the area so I suppose they can be and we fully understand that they need to make their profit during the summer season.
It must be added that the owner did agree to charge us for the basic rate which we appreciate.
We were told that they were very busy with bookings whilst we were there and that is why we needed to move to a second room and move rather quickly!
My advice would be if you want a motel in this area, you have little choice, the location right by the oceon is great.

Room Tip: Dont go in the economy block!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HELEN C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

The farthest part of the hotel is just a 60 second walk to the beach - no streets to cross or anything. I thought the room was adequate and don't really have any complaints. We went on a Sunday and Monday during high season but I would have thought that those nights would have been a little cheaper. Great beach and plenty of restaurants within walking distance. Some of the entertainment stuff you might have to drive to, but not too far.
Now that I think about it, this might have been those most expensive hotel I have ever stayed in. It is what it is - a respectable family hotel with a fantastic location. Would I go back? Not sure. I love LBI so I think I would shop around a bit first.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ship Bottom
5.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island
22.7 mi away
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
#5 of 50 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15,058 reviews
8.2 mi away
Sea Spray Motel
Sea Spray Motel
#7 of 11 in Beach Haven
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Legacy Vacation Resorts-Brigantine Beach
1.5 mi away
Sea Horse Motel
Sea Horse Motel
#1 of 1 in Long Beach Township
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
21.1 mi away
Dolce Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drifting Sands Oceanfront Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drifting Sands Oceanfront Motel

Property: Drifting Sands Oceanfront Motel
Address: 119 E 9th St, Ship Bottom, Long Beach Island, NJ 08008-4600
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Long Beach Island > Ship Bottom
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ship Bottom
Number of rooms: 100
Also Known As:
Drifting Sands Oceanfront Hotel Ship Bottom
Drifting Sands Hotel
Drifting Sands Oceanfront Motel Ship Bottom, NJ - Long Beach Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing