We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Drifting Sands Oceanfront Motel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ship Bottom
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Very friendly and courteous staff. Rooms were very clean. Convenient walk for breakfast. Stayed in the ocean view building. Beds were new and comfortable. Beach chairs and umbrellas were available. Beach looked great!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (200)
There are newer reviews for Drifting Sands Oceanfront Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 200 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2013

Our summer weekend visit to this lovely clean ocean front motel has been a repeat on our summer things to do. We love the convenient location and the the courteous staff, the surprise weekend continental breakfast . We go back knowing we won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: So great to be on the beach front in a lovely clean room. We enjoyed our time and thank everyone for...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kathleen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

We love the Drifting Sands. We have stayed here several time, and we will come back every time we visit LBI. The oceanfront rooms have beautiful views. They are clean and spacious. The office was very friendly and helpful. In fact, we left our camera in our room. We were called and the camera was sent back without a charge. Not all places have this type of service.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Buffy65369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

We've been staying at different places on the island for years now but didn't know about this one. We found it after staying two summers ago and made plans to stay last year. It was perfect for all of our needs! We wanted a place where we could cook our own meals and they had a very nice efficiency on the second floor where we could see the ocean from our balcony. The only thing better would be to stay in one of the great rooms they offer even closer to the beach with the beautiful balconies but we want the efficiency. We love the pretty yellow paint on the building. It was clean and the staff was very friendly. We like the location and had so many safe places to ride our bikes.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janice s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

The thing is, I like this place. The people at check in are nice and it's right on the ocean. But... I'd asked for the room where we'd stayed before, which has a pretty ocean/tree view. When we got here last weekend we were given a "complimentary upgrade" to a really noisy room with a view of the ocean and a power pole. We mentioned the noise and the lady said she'd call someone, but it was there that night and we barely slept, like a bowling ball rolling on the roof it persisted. Next time, I will insist upon the room I requested. I'm sure they will fix the issue on the roof eventually. In their defense, Sandy may have been part of the cause, but still, we're paying to relax. We even wanted to stay two more nights, but checked out early because the noise was unbearable. So 5 stars for last year's stay and 2 stars for this year's. But I wouldn't write it off based on this one experience.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clem5977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

Our stay was a free night won at a travel show, so, not much to lose. Very pleasantly surprised that they booked us into a third floor ocean front room. Granted it was at the top of the stairs on the end and maybe (?) smaller than other rooms, but it suited us fine. The view of the beach and ocean from our balcony was beautiful. The view of the ugly utility pole from the side window, not so great, but the evergreen trees planted there should hide that eventually. It was nice to be able to open the windows and sliding door for a great ocean breeze. The naturescape between the motel and the sand had loads of monarch butterflies. Room was a decent size king and the bed, while oddly hard on the edges and soft in the interior was comfortable enough. The furniture had a simple cottage look and was cute. An empty corner in front of the sliding door could use an upholstered chair. There's nothing to sit on besides the bed or 2 hard chairs. A small fridge, microwave and sink came in handy. 4, count 'em, 4 plastic hangers in the large closet and NO in- room safe. Ridiculous coffee service. One small motel sized pot, 2 mugs, 1 packet of coffee and.....that's it. No stirrers, spoon, powdered creamer, napkin, nothing, besides the packet of coffee. Pretty sad. The bathroom was very clean. Amenities included a few packets of toothpaste and a small assortment of lotions and soaps. Nothing special, but useful. Towels were fine. Ecru! Flat screen tv with HBO and a bunch of other cable type channels. AC unit in the wall seemed to be newish and while we didn't need it, it looked to be big enough to do it's job. Slightly stinky smell in the room and bathroom, but I don't think it was associated with mold or crud, just a beachfront kind of thing. Overall, it was nice and appeared clean and I would recommend room 321. I do not know what the usual price is so I can't address value for the money. For free, it was great!! Thanks, Drifting Sands!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank visualgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

The Drifting Sands has it all. Extremely friendly staff, clean rooms, awesome view for a great price.. Perfect location right on the beach and at the center of all long beach island has to offer. Wake up to the beautiful view of the Atlantic Ocean. You cannot get any better than this.
ajp.

Room Tip: ocean front or ocean view is awesome
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anthony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ship Bottom
1.6 mi away
Daddy O Hotel
Daddy O Hotel
#1 of 1 in Long Beach Township
123 reviews
5.3 mi away
Mariner Inn
Mariner Inn
#7 of 12 in Beach Haven
62 reviews
5.7 mi away
Spray Beach Hotel
Spray Beach Hotel
#8 of 12 in Beach Haven
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island
8.2 mi away
Sea Spray Motel
Sea Spray Motel
#9 of 12 in Beach Haven
157 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sea Horse Motel
Sea Horse Motel
#1 of 1 in Long Beach Township
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drifting Sands Oceanfront Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drifting Sands Oceanfront Motel

Address: 119 E 9th St, Ship Bottom, Long Beach Island, NJ 08008-4600
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Long Beach Island > Ship Bottom
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ship Bottom
Price Range: £80 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Drifting Sands Oceanfront Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drifting Sands Oceanfront Hotel Ship Bottom
Drifting Sands Hotel
Drifting Sands Oceanfront Motel Ship Bottom, NJ - Long Beach Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing