We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OUR FAVORITE SPOT IN LBI!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Drifting Sands Oceanfront Motel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ship Bottom
Reviewed 25 July 2013

This is our seventh year that we have returned to the Drifting Sands. We have become so loyal not only because of its fabulous location, spectacular ocean views and pristine cleanliness...but also for it's fabulous staff (Pat, Karen and Ellen...Thank you!)! I also have to applaud the night security guard. There was a rowdy group attending a wedding this weekend and he did a wonderful job handling the situation. My husband and I had a wonderful time this past weekend and we plan to come back in August!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Danielle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 204 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2013

While I was trying to find a word for this Motel the best word I could think of was, STANK. My recent stay in Drifting SCAMS Motel Hell was terrible. First of all the cost for a 1 night stay was ridiculously overpriced (almost $400 a night). My family, friends and I were stalked by a Rogue employee driving a silver Jeep Wrangler who would scream while looking through the window of my balcony. LBI is one of my favorite vacation spots but I will never come here again. Unless you prefer torment, stinky carpets, and low life employees then this is your place. See the picture of the crazy Drifting Scams unidentified low life employees vehicle. Run for your lives!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Frank P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We stayed at the Drifting Sands during the week in July 2013, (buy 2 days get the third free). The 3rd floor room was very clean and our oceanfront room had a spectacular view! The room had all the normal conveniences with a small refrigerator & microwave. You can rent beach lounge chairs & umbrellas too. The staff was very pleasant & helpful. There is a great restaurant within walking distance (Raimondo's and it's BYOB) and several good places for breakfast also within walking distance. I would stay there again. It is great for families and couples. I would have expected this motel to be booked but it was very very quiet there. The entire island was actual very quiet but that is to be expected with the hit it took. I imagine next year things will be back to the normal. My guess is visitors are a bit leery this year. But if you can go this year do it. LBI needs us customers now to visit their merchants and help them up a build back up.

Room Tip: No elevator so keep the stairs in mind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hizingers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Very friendly and courteous staff. Rooms were very clean. Convenient walk for breakfast. Stayed in the ocean view building. Beds were new and comfortable. Beach chairs and umbrellas were available. Beach looked great!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Our summer weekend visit to this lovely clean ocean front motel has been a repeat on our summer things to do. We love the convenient location and the the courteous staff, the surprise weekend continental breakfast . We go back knowing we won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: So great to be on the beach front in a lovely clean room. We enjoyed our time and thank everyone for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kathleen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

We love the Drifting Sands. We have stayed here several time, and we will come back every time we visit LBI. The oceanfront rooms have beautiful views. They are clean and spacious. The office was very friendly and helpful. In fact, we left our camera in our room. We were called and the camera was sent back without a charge. Not all places have this type of service.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Buffy65369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

We've been staying at different places on the island for years now but didn't know about this one. We found it after staying two summers ago and made plans to stay last year. It was perfect for all of our needs! We wanted a place where we could cook our own meals and they had a very nice efficiency on the second floor where we could see the ocean from our balcony. The only thing better would be to stay in one of the great rooms they offer even closer to the beach with the beautiful balconies but we want the efficiency. We love the pretty yellow paint on the building. It was clean and the staff was very friendly. We like the location and had so many safe places to ride our bikes.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janice s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ship Bottom
5.7 mi away
Spray Beach Hotel
Spray Beach Hotel
#6 of 12 in Beach Haven
176 reviews
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island
1.6 mi away
Daddy O Hotel
Daddy O Hotel
#1 of 1 in Long Beach Township
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Mariner Inn
Mariner Inn
#9 of 12 in Beach Haven
62 reviews
20.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Toms River
Comfort Inn Toms River
#4 of 11 in Toms River
201 reviews
20.5 mi away
Seaside Best Rentals
Seaside Best Rentals
#1 of 7 in Seaside Park
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drifting Sands Oceanfront Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drifting Sands Oceanfront Motel

Address: 119 E 9th St, Ship Bottom, Long Beach Island, NJ 08008-4600
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Long Beach Island > Ship Bottom
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ship Bottom
Price Range: £111 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Drifting Sands Oceanfront Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drifting Sands boasts LBI's most convenient location in Ship Bottom, NJ. Our array of accommodations offers everything you need for a romantic weekend getaway or a family, fun-filled vacation. Comfort, friendly service, beach access, and stunning ocean views. make Drifting Sands the best value on Long Beach Island, NJ. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Drifting Sands Oceanfront Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drifting Sands Oceanfront Hotel Ship Bottom
Drifting Sands Hotel
Drifting Sands Oceanfront Motel Ship Bottom, NJ - Long Beach Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing