We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Drifting Sands Oceanfront Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ship Bottom
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Drifting Sands Oceanfront Motel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ship Bottom
Certificate of Excellence
White Plains, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at this motel for a weekend get away. The staff was superb and very helpful. They gave us excellect recommendations for dinner and they gave us plenty of places to pick from. The rooms are perfect for a weekend get away we stayed in the oceanfront buliding which had a beautiful balconies and great views of the ocean. We were actually able to sleep with the sliding door open and hear the ocean which was amazing. This was our first time on long beach island and we will definitely be back and staying at the Drifting Sands

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ariel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    42
    27
    12
    19
See reviews for
71
70
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

TERRIBLE EXPERIENCE. One of the worst places I've ever stayed and incompetent staff/management. We were checked into the wrong room so that was the start of a bad experience. My gf and I had requested a king bed but were given a room with 2 queen beds, this despite the place not being full midweek.

We moved rooms and were put unknowingly above a room where 4 staff members actually live. We were awoken our 1st morning at 7:30am by excessive noise from this room. We spoke to them and management and were promised it would not happen again. But were yet again awoken by this early loud noise the 2nd morning. The management then blamed us for not asking to move rooms, even though they had said they'd take of this and did not offer to switch rooms anyway. The place was not full so why they put us in the worst room is beyond me. Allowing your guests some peace and quiet is sort of a basic level of service that this place has not mastered yet.

Lastly, we tried to discuss this experience but the management especially Pat was unhelpful and rude. The "owner" made no effort to make things right, so clearly has not heard that hospitality is about the guest. Bottom line, this place is the worst. It's old, it smells, its dirty, its loud, there's no customer service at all, they overcharge for crummy rooms $250 and up a night, and then have the gall to charge you $5 for a beach chair, which is then taken away from you at 3pm. The only plus is it's near the beach but I'd rather sleep in my car then spend one more night there.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank mes917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yonkers
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Our ever-growing family goes away every year (for the last several years) to a beach-oriented place that is within reasonable driving distance from Westchester, Putnam & Rockland Counties. We (17 of us this year), returned for the 2nd time to Drifting Sands on LBI for a 4-day stay this past July and to say all of us were dreading having to go home when it was all over, would be an understatement. We stayed in the Oceanside Building, which offered a perfect view of the ocean, with a nice balcony. We were fortunate enough to get rooms that were next door to each other, which was an added benefit. The beach was just downstairs and a quick walk down a path across from the motel...the rooms were immaculate and spacious. The beds were comfortable. The staff was responsive and hospitable. More importantly, the price was right. The motel offers attractive Specials that made it even more worthwhile. We never had to drive far to eat out or shop...and were close enough to walk to many places as well. Couldn't ask for more. I know I speak for my entire family when I say that we all had a wonderful time, we really loved staying here and we cannot wait to go back!...nc

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nc918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ardsley, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

Our first stay at Drifting Sands was a pleasant surprise. We had an ocean front room with a balcony overlooking the sand and the surf. The room was a nice size, comfortable and clean. The beach is beautiful and you can walk to shops and restaurants. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sandy1Ardsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

I have been here before and loved it so we were anxious to get back. I was worried about storm damage and hte possibility of it being less than it was before. NO WORRIES! Everything is perfect. The rooms are clean and the beds are so comfy. The beach looks great and the staff was delightful. We got a great rate and had just the best three nights ever.
I am laughing at the review below from "frank." He has no credibility as far as i am concerned!
You wont be disappointed here.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4goingawayagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hackensack
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

this was a nice place for a short stay of 3 days, if you were going to stay for a week or 2 it might be a little inconvienent. the room was very nice, overlooking the beach and ocean. the staff was very nice, the location was very nice, while they had coffee and bagels in the lobby, I could not make coffee in the room with the coffee and coffee pot they had in the room, and the package of coffee was awfull. the refridgerator was to small to really store anything in it. this might be a great place for collage kids, or a young family, but not older couples.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne NJ
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

My husband and I go evey year. The oceanfront view is wonderful. The place is clean and quiet. They must be selective to be so quiet. The new mattresses are better than ours at home. They are a wonderful secret that we hate to share, but they deserve the review. Located in the center of LBI. Fabulous staff (Pat, Karen and Ellen) Thanks Everyone.
Dianne and Ed DiMella

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dimher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ship Bottom
5.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island
22.7 mi away
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
#5 of 50 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15,081 reviews
8.2 mi away
Sea Spray Motel
Sea Spray Motel
#7 of 11 in Beach Haven
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Legacy Vacation Resorts-Brigantine Beach
1.5 mi away
Sea Horse Motel
Sea Horse Motel
#1 of 1 in Long Beach Township
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
21.1 mi away
Dolce Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drifting Sands Oceanfront Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drifting Sands Oceanfront Motel

Property: Drifting Sands Oceanfront Motel
Address: 119 E 9th St, Ship Bottom, Long Beach Island, NJ 08008-4600
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Long Beach Island > Ship Bottom
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ship Bottom
Number of rooms: 100
Also Known As:
Drifting Sands Oceanfront Hotel Ship Bottom
Drifting Sands Hotel
Drifting Sands Oceanfront Motel Ship Bottom, NJ - Long Beach Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing