We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and dingy.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ship Bottom
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Drifting Sands Oceanfront Motel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ship Bottom
Philadelphia, PA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Overpriced and dingy.”
Reviewed 5 October 2009

We stayed at an oceanfront room at this motel and were very disappointed. We paid over $250, and although the view of the ocean was beautiful and convenient, the room was disgusting. The shower was moldy, the toilet looked like it had not been cleaned, the bathroom ceiling was dripping, and the sheets had a blood stain on them. The only positive was the proximity to everything in town and the ocean.

Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LSMR4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    46
    27
    12
    20
See reviews for
73
72
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 September 2009

While the lobby was presentable and the room was clean, a medicinal and "cheap motel," chemical odor infiltrated the sleeping chamber and permeated all of our belongings. So bad, in fact, that upon our return home, all of our clothes required dry-cleaning, including my tie and backpack.

To be fair, however, I did not complain to the management about our room, and can not be sure that every room at the Drifting Sands Motel will cause chronic dry-eye and excessive blinking to all other occupants.

The towels were surprisingly fluffy.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank malf2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
1 review
Reviewed 30 August 2009

Drifting Sands is a perfect getaway to relax and take in all the amennities it has to offer. This is our second time here and already planning a longer stay next year. We have stayed in the ocean front rooms and this year stayed in the efficiency room, both by far very clean. Next year we may try there oceanview room. Staffing very polite and courteous and helpful! If your a beach goer and like the convience of walking out to the beach not walking blocks to get there. This is the place to be. Looking forward to 2010.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1mittens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2009

The less expensive rooms near the CVS are horrible. At $237.00 a night I would expect a room worth more then $29.00 a night. The first day the room was not made up until 4:00 and only after asking three times. There were no clean towels until after 4:00 as well. Both mornings I needed to buy coffee, a bagel and the paper at the 7/11 for an additional $12.00 because the lobby was not open until ???. But, the worst part of the stay was the attitude of the manager? Gary? (Dark hair and a unshaven dark colored chin and upper lip). He was by far the rudest individual, responsible for service, that I have ever encountered (I'm 64). and while I was not a very happy with the room service and lack of clean towels and I'm sure he knew it, It was his responsibility to defuse my discontent not speck to me with such disrespect. I would never stay at the Drifting Sands Motel again and I will tell everyone interested that they should not stay there either. And, I would hope that a copy of this review gets to the owner of the motel.
Dissatisfied customer,
Robert R. Smalley

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BarefooterFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethlehem
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2009

This hotel is located right at the end of the causeway in Ship Bottom. It is close to everything! We found the hotel, clean, but would have liked to see the sweeper run a little bit more effeciently as there were many crumbs on floor upon check-in. The staff is very nice and helpful. It is located on the beach and for the person with a budget, there are rooms off the beach, but those are smaller and NOT renovated. They are clean, but we did prefer the renovated room which was bright and cheery! The pillows were not very comfortable, but they did suffice for our stay. I am picky when it comes to hotels and I would come back to Drifting Sands as long as I could book a OV or OF room!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mierswe3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanhope, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2009

I just got back from our yearly trip to LBI. This year we tried the Drifting Sands Motel and we have found our little piece of the shore. We stayed in the Ocean frount building. Our room was an ideal size and very clean. The staff was friendly (they even said thank you for staying, unlike the other place we stayed last year). We will be going back in November and again in the summer. Beach passes are free and the beach is just a step away.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ljl74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morris County, NJ
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2009

If you're on the fence about which room to book - don't be! Take the ocean front! The view from the room makes worth the price. The room was clean, the staff was friendly. Nothing special about the room - but it was very clean and comfortable. Being able to walk out right on the beach was the best part- especially with a 4 year old! Oh yes, and hearing the ocean at night.....what's better than that?

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelpups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ship Bottom
1.6 mi away
Daddy O Hotel
Daddy O Hotel
#1 of 1 in Long Beach Township
112 reviews
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island
8.2 mi away
Sea Spray Motel
Sea Spray Motel
#7 of 12 in Beach Haven
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Sea Horse Motel
Sea Horse Motel
#1 of 1 in Long Beach Township
58 reviews
20.2 mi away
Legacy Vacation Resorts-Brigantine Beach
7.0 mi away
Windward at the Beach
Windward at the Beach
#4 of 7 in Beach Haven
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drifting Sands Oceanfront Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drifting Sands Oceanfront Motel

Property: Drifting Sands Oceanfront Motel
Address: 119 E 9th St, Ship Bottom, Long Beach Island, NJ 08008-4600
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Long Beach Island > Ship Bottom
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ship Bottom
Number of rooms: 100
Also Known As:
Drifting Sands Oceanfront Hotel Ship Bottom
Drifting Sands Hotel
Drifting Sands Oceanfront Motel Ship Bottom, NJ - Long Beach Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing