We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wouldn't stay anywhere else on the Jersey Shore”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ship Bottom
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Drifting Sands Oceanfront Motel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ship Bottom
Certificate of Excellence
Bergen County, NJ
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wouldn't stay anywhere else on the Jersey Shore”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2010

The rooms are brand new, the staff is super friendly and you are right on the ocean. No worries about dragging screaming, sandy kids back from the beach because it is right there, along with a shower to wash off. Rooms are very spacious and come with refrigerators and a mini wet bar. Bathrooms are obsessively clean. They offer bagels, fruit and coffee in the morning. Very quiet at night so the kids can sleep. LBI's top restaurants and nightlife are within walking distance. Nothing like the typical Jersey Shore prom hotels. It was like staying at a 5 star caribbean resort. Thanks Drifting Sands!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sammiblueyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    43
    27
    12
    19
See reviews for
72
71
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2010

We stayed at the Drifiting Sands for a friends wedding. We originally had a room in the back building which was a family suite, two rooms with one bathroom, with the intention of having my parents stay with us to watch our 4 month old daughter. When we arrived and went to the room we were very disappointed with the accomodations. The room was neat but outdated with a very small bathroom. It also overlooked the parking lot. The hot water heater wasn't working in our building when we arrived and we needed to get ready for the wedding so the manager moved us to two separate ocean front rooms at no additional cost. The rooms were fabulous, very comfortable with a great ocean view right behind the dunes. If you stay at this hotel, spring for the ocean front room!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sugarmags71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenafly, New Jersey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2010

I've been on the search for the moderately upscale yet casual jersey shore motel/hotel and it's very elusive. I've tried a few places in pt. pleasant including the White Sands, the Ocean Place in Long Branch and now the Drifting Sands. I booked an Oceanview room (which had a view of the walkway to the ocean) which was very clean and comfortable except for the bed which was rock hard. It is a shame because we ended leaving the 3rd night that we were supposed to stay because my son said he couldn't sleep on the mattress very well. If we go back, I will bring a mattress pad with me.

There is no pool on premises but you are steps from ocean and they have beach lounger chairs and umbrellas for a fee. There are showers to rinse off the sand before you go up to your room. CVS and 7-11 are walking distance for everything you'd need.

Most of the staff was very friendly and helpful including the housekeeper we had and Tom? the maintenance man from Philly. The front desk staff was spotty but most of them were nice.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tenaflymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnegat, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2010

this motel was great! wasnt priced too high & manager was outstanding! very well cleaned &organized! fantastic view and very kid friendly! i would recomend this motel to everyone!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JerseyShore101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nj
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2010

Now that you mention it, one person in our party did have very itchy, red eyes the night we stayed. They also coughed a lot all night long!
Perhaps they do use harsh chemicals for either cleaning or washing the linens. Maybe the managers should take note and keep track of these complaints, so they can either change cleaners or choose other providers etc.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tridil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montclair, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2010

Stayed in the Ocean Front 3rd floor room and it was amazing. The room was extremely clean, had comfortable beds, and the view was breath-taking!! The staff was very friendly and helpful. It is true that you get what you pay for!! We stopped at some of the other motels on the island and this one is by far the newest, nicest, and cleanest that LBI has to offer.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachlover42887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manahawkin, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2010

My husband and I live pretty local and go to the DS motel for little getaway's during the "off season". We have stayed there 5x and will continue to go back. The people that have complained about the older buildings....you get what you pay for! There is a big difference in price between their new and old building and I'm sure ppl just take the older building b/c the price. We have stayed in the ocean front and ocean view. If you are going to stay there, definitely stay in the ocean front building. The view is AMAZING from the 3rd floor. If you book the corner room you will have extra windows which adds to the experience. The ocean view building is nice too. The inside looks just like the ocean front building but the view is from far back. If you are staying for the VIEW....stay in ocean front or you will be disappointed. The service has always been good too. We will be seeing them in April too :)

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachlovin4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ship Bottom
1.6 mi away
Daddy O Hotel
Daddy O Hotel
#1 of 1 in Long Beach Township
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island
23.3 mi away
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
#1 of 50 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Sea Spray Motel
Sea Spray Motel
#7 of 11 in Beach Haven
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sea Horse Motel
Sea Horse Motel
#1 of 1 in Long Beach Township
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
20.2 mi away
Legacy Vacation Resorts-Brigantine Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drifting Sands Oceanfront Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drifting Sands Oceanfront Motel

Property: Drifting Sands Oceanfront Motel
Address: 119 E 9th St, Ship Bottom, Long Beach Island, NJ 08008-4600
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Long Beach Island > Ship Bottom
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ship Bottom
Number of rooms: 100
Also Known As:
Drifting Sands Oceanfront Hotel Ship Bottom
Drifting Sands Hotel
Drifting Sands Oceanfront Motel Ship Bottom, NJ - Long Beach Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing