We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Colonial Inn at Historic Smithville
Ranked #1 of 2 Smithville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 October 2012

Went to Smithville for Irish Festival. What a wonderful experience. From our initial greeting at the Colonical Inn check-in, to our clean, and spacious rooms. We travelled with another couple, and had rooms 106 and 107, that share a common hallway so we could close the outside door and go between our rooms. Both rooms have doors that lead to outside decks. Coffee was served right outside our doors at 7am, and our breakfast baskets (choice of muffin or croisant; juice, and yougurt, was ready at 8am. The Inn is located in the back end of the Village. There is also a small restaurant past the merrygoround, that serves a good breakfast if the basket isn't enough. This was a great place for our central location, which we were doing all wineries in the area. Highly recommend

Room Tip: If travelling with another couple, take rooms 106 and 107.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newjersey1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (242)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 242 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2012

My husband bought me a gift certificate to the Colonial Inn and let me tell you, it is very popular. It is booked months in advance for weekends. That is why we decided to play hooky and stay for a night mid-week. Our reception at the desk was warm, but I felt like the woman was a machine--giving her canned hello, here's what you get, etc. Our room was beautiful and the bathroom, too. It had a steam shower, which fascinated my husband, and I enjoyed a warm bath in the deep tub. The bed was comfortable, but the pillows were hard. I loved that the room looked over the lake. It was the Leeds Room. We were offered tea, coffee and shortbread when we arrived and had a croissant and muffin for breakfast. Our only problem? We wished we could have stayed another night!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glomom81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

My husband & I have stayed at the Colonial Inn numerous times and each time is better than the next. The property is lovely, the rooms are beautiful, each with tasteful, quaint country themes, and the staff are welcoming and wonderful. We can't say enough about Tracy Walsh--not only is she professional, accomodating and helpful, she is truly a delight to deal with. She makes the process of booking rooms so easy! The last time we arrived we were exhausted, and Tracy made sure we had plenty of cookies and cool beverages to take with us to the room (customer service at its best). The shops on the property are really nice (crafts, clothes, jewelry, etc) and the grounds with the view of the lake are beautiful. Most important, the rooms are IMMACULATE. I truly have never been to such a clean property in my life, and the bathrooms (modern and gorgeous). I would highly recommend this Inn to everyone. Whether you choose a room in the main building, a room amongst the stores or in The Barn (we've stayed in them all), you can't go wrong,they are all so "comfy" (anytime of year). Enjoy your stay!!! Stacy & Joe B, Whitestone, NY

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stacy11357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colonialinnkeeper, Manager at The Colonial Inn at Historic Smithville, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2012

Stacy and Joe,
Thank you for taking time to tell others about our Inn and well...thank you for the kind words about me:O). Welcoming people to Smithville is such a passion of mine! I hope that in some little way I can help our guest getaway be just a little bit better! It was so nice to hear that I made a difference. It's great to hear that Smithville is your getaway place for fun and relaxation, can't wait to see you again!
See you in the Village
Your friend at the Colonial Inn,
Tracy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Colonial Inn in mid-September for two nights. About 10 days before our arrival, they called to ask if we wanted to be upgraded...we said yes and stayed in the Leeds room, which had a queen bed and overlooked the "lake", which isn't much on the end where we stayed,
Nonetheless, the room was very nice, comfortable mattress. elegant bathroom and clean. The breakfast is modest...you pick out a danish or croissant, coffee or tea, and juice the night before, then pick it up in the morning. You can eat in their lobby or take it back to your room, which we did...they have a little table in the room for eating.
The room had wi-fi which was nice.
The lodging is in the shoppes at Smithville, a collection of interesting shops, some in old buildings from New Jersey that were transported to Smithville for this purpose. There are also several eateries, including the historic Smithville Inn (didn't eat there) and Fred and Ethel's Lantern Light Restaurant (ate there twice. was OK, not great but perfectly acceptable) Also, the Smithville Bakery has a good breakfast and pastries.
We would go back again....definitely a nice place to stay and the location puts you to within a short drive of Atlantic City, Ocean City and other shore points.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank biggity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We booked The Colonial Inn as we were attending a wedding in Hammonton and needed a night's stay during the busy Labor Day weekend. The Colonial Inn staff was warm and welcoming, the room was incredibly comfortable and my husband and I loved the steam shower. Definitely a relaxing place to make a great escape, and definitely a good value.

Room Tip: We had the Noyes Room which has a great lake view and excellent space. It is right across the hall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mellokello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

This was our first visit to The Colonial inn. It was a wonderful experience. From the minute you walk in the door to the minute you check out you are treated wonderfully. Everyone is so nice. The room was beautiful. It was so cleaned. We had such a great time. The location is right in the middle of a shopping village, which was very nice. It had many stores, restuarants, and bakeries. Once you park your car, you don't have to move it until you go home. In the morning they give you a basket of either muffins or crossiants, and yogurt and coffee. I am looking forwarding to going back again :)

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Our first time at a Bed and Breakfast we were somewhat hesitant, but, this is a really nice place to kick back, relax and enjoy. Inn was clean, staff pleasant and friendly. The shops in the village are small but interesting. Two local restaurants on the property provided excellant dining. I would go back again just to relax, and relax and relax....

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Smithville
5 mi away
Hampton Inn Atlantic City/Absecon
7.9 mi away
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
#5 of 49 in Atlantic City
19,223 reviews
8.3 mi away
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
#1 of 49 in Atlantic City
3,944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Absecon (Atlantic City) Galloway
5 mi away
Crystal Inn & Suites
Crystal Inn & Suites
#10 of 17 in Galloway
54 reviews
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Absecon - Atlantic City Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Colonial Inn at Historic Smithville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colonial Inn at Historic Smithville

Address: 615 E Moss Mill Rd, Smithville, NJ 08205-4804
Region: United States > New Jersey > Smithville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Smithville
Price Range: £98 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Colonial Inn at Historic Smithville 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colonial Inn and the Barn at Smithville are a destination vacation. We are a bed and breakfast located in the middle of a Colonial shopping village with over 70 shops, 7 eateries, a train and carousel and so much more. Once you arrive at this lovely, luxurious inn there is no reason to get back in your car! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Colonial Inn at Historic Smithville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Colonial Inn At Historic Smithville Hotel Smithville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing