We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We really enjoyed our two day stay in Smithville” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Colonial Inn at Historic Smithville

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Colonial Inn at Historic Smithville
Ranked #1 of 2 Smithville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We really enjoyed our two day stay in Smithville”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Through AAA we purchased a package which involved a two night stay at The Colonial Inn at Historic Smithville; a Wine Tasting; and a Sample Soap. This package was well worth the money and our room at The Colonial Inn was more like a mini suite. It was in the Barn section and consisted of a living area with dining table; a mini refrigerator and microwave, the bathroom, and bedroom. It was furnished in a colonial style including a sampler from more than 100 years ago. Everything was fine and the people working there were extremely nice. Only a few complaints - having the sink separate from the toilet and shower was a little inconvenient. The air condition was noisy at times although I have noticed this problem at more expensive places. As someone else already commented: the continental breakfast (which you ordered the day before) consisted of orange juice; a hot beverage of your choice; a croissant or large muffin; and yogurt. This was all nicely served in a picnic basket which we picked up in the main office. I would have preferred something a little more special but I realize there are bakeries and places to eat on site. In addition the yogurt would have been healthier if it were Greek Yogurt which has a lot more protein and fewer carbs than the yogurt served. Consequently I only ate half of it. The room or mini suite was clean, well furnished and equipped although a larger bar of soap would be nice. Anyway, I would recommend this as a very good place to stay for a nice long weekend. There are plenty of interesting shops in Smithville although why no regular children's clothing shop, I don't understand.
Our dinner at The Smithville Inn was excellent and the wine mark-up was very fair.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Barn portion of the Inn in Room 308. It was very nice and the mini fridge very use...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FayeDiGi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    39
    15
    4
    3
See reviews for
27
144
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
113 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

We really enjoyed our two-day stay at the Colonial Inn in Smithville. There are 3 options, the Inn itself, the Barn, and some rooms that are situated among the shops. Our lovely room, the Baremore, was in the Inn, and was just delightful. Every morning, we would do down the hall and enter the cute little coffee shop where we received a basket containing a muffin, juice, and yogurt. Coffee, tea and other hot and cold drinks were included as part of the room charge, and were available for free throughout the day. The village is charming and very well maintained, with lots of colorful flowers and nice landscaping throughout. We went to a wildlife refuge that was nearby, and also into Atlantic City. We at dinner at the Smithville Inn which was very nice, and also at the Oyster Creek Restaurant a few miles away on Leeds Point. Overall, a great experience--highly recommend!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beautifuldays2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Canaan, Connecticut
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

We stumbled upon historic Smithville by accident on the way to atlantic City and have stayed here a few times over the last few years. I travel with kids so the only option for us is the barn. It is lovely. Clean and comfortable. Very reasonable room rates too. The Inn is in the middle of very cute little shops and a carousel and some amusements in the hamlet of "Historic Smithville". There isn't too much to do outside of the hamlet. We stayed during Christmas season once and it was very pretty. There was a lot going on such as breakfast with Santa. We also stayed during the October fest once and there was so much going on. The restaurants on premise are also very nice. There are many shops and all have nice gifts. It is a relaxing place. If you are into gambling Atlantic City is 1/2 hour away. Very easy to get to. I am writing the review because I am going to book two night in October right now.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Brook, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013 via mobile

stayed here one night for a wedding the inn was nice and had a home style decor which was nice it was clean however definitely needed to be updated appliances were old and outdated the bed was very squeaky for the price of almost $200 for a saturday night was expecting more, air conditioning worked but not very well did enjoy the oversized shower and spacious bathroom.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank flyers21fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perkasie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

We'd never been to Smithville before and with a 2 for 1 discount through AAA we decided to give it a try. I booked the Carosel Room and we were both quite happy with it. The furnishings were rich yet comfortable and the jacuzzi bath was an added plus. A personailzed continental breakfast basket each morning got us off to a good start. We highly enjoyed our stay and hope to return in the future.

Room Tip: Check the room pics on the website as there are themed rooms available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Noreen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toms River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

We stayed here the end of May for a wedding . We have visited Smithville many times and never knew here was a B&B there. What a pleasant surprise! We stayed at the inn. The room was beautiful,clean with a lovely view of the lake. The room we stayed in was a suite and priced accordingly... We were treated very well. The only negative to our stay was the breakfast or lack of one. B&B's are known for their breakfast . Continental breakfast are fine and don't have to be elaborate but 1 danish or croissant in a basket falls a bit short of that concept. Would have been nicer if it was an assorted of mini treats with some fruit. We probably would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colonialinnkeeper, Manager at The Colonial Inn at Historic Smithville, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
Thank you for staying with us here at the Colonial Inn. We are glad that you enjoyed the village and your room at the Inn. Our breakfast is indeed a muffin or croissant, coffee or tea, juice and yogurt. We opted for this breakfast served in a country basket because of the two restaurants on sight that serve each morning and are walking distance from your room. After reading your review I have considered a change, really all we want to do is please our customers! We do hope to see you again and don't be surprised if a brand new breakfast option is available to you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Secaucus, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

We needed a room to stay in after a family party near by. The price was so reasonable for a Saturday night. There was only availability in The Barn, located on the other end of the parking lot. What a find! We were greeted by the nicest woman upon check in in the main building and quickly received our key and were offered cookies and tea or coffee. Room 304 is on the second floor of The Barn and is spacious, modern rustic, with cathedral ceilings with a very comfortable queen bed and day bed. The bathroom is modern and clean. There is a microwave, coffee maker, nice size refrigerator and closet and small table and two chairs. The room was quiet with a view of the village and was a very nice retreat from an eventful party. The breakfast in a basket was a very nice touch and the man in the cafe who packed it was very nice. We felt very comfortable and will definitely be back!

Room Tip: The rooms are different and a description of each is on the Inn's website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Smithville
7.9 mi away
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
#5 of 50 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15,081 reviews
8.2 mi away
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
#1 of 50 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,606 reviews
5.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Garden State Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites Atlantic City North
5.0 mi away
Country Hearth Inn Atlantic City/Galloway
5.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Atlantic City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Colonial Inn at Historic Smithville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colonial Inn at Historic Smithville

Property: The Colonial Inn at Historic Smithville
Address: 615 E Moss Mill Rd, Smithville, NJ 08205-4804
Region: United States > New Jersey > Smithville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Smithville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Colonial Inn at Historic Smithville 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colonial Inn and the Barn at Smithville are a destination vacation. We are a bed and breakfast located in the middle of a Colonial shopping village with over 70 shops, 7 eateries, a train and carousel and so much more. Once you arrive at this lovely, luxurious inn there is no reason to get back in your car! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Colonial Inn at Historic Smithville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Colonial Inn At Historic Smithville Hotel Smithville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing