We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brought me back to when I was a child”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Colonial Inn at Historic Smithville
Ranked #1 of 2 Smithville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glenolden, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Brought me back to when I was a child”
Reviewed 6 December 2010

My husband and I stayed in the Captain Fitz room the second night of the Christmas Tree Light Show on the lake. We sat at a table by a window for dinner at the nearby, within walking distance of the Smithville Inn so we could take in all of the delightfulness of the light show as well as a delicious dinner. The shops were quaint, everyone was very hospitable. It was our first stay in a Bed and Breakfast and we would definitely do it again. Our room had a view of both sides of the lake to enjoy the lights even more and an old fashioned carousel and our muffins and croissants were still warm and fresh the next morning served in a beautiful little basket. The history around this village was very interesting and the Christmas shops were addicting. Loved hearing the cockle doodle doo of the roosters in the morning.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flossieo56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    40
    15
    5
    3
See reviews for
27
152
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vineland, New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2010

It was our first time staying in Smithville, we had a great time staying there. The room was clean, had a small outdoor porch w/two chairs & the bathroom had a steam shower which was really nice. The breakfast basket in the morning was a nice touch. The staff was really friendly, we would like to thank the owners for their support of the veterans on Veterans Day. It is a plus that all of the shops are a walking distance from the Inn. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phalcon87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2010

always stay here when visiting the area, instead of a big chain on the big highway ... rooms are nice and unique, especially on the pond .... food is fine in the a.m., especially of course those muffins, and the people are great. worth the little bit extra in price every time

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jokeka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne, NJ
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2010

We had our family reunion there. The room was beautiful and clean, and the personnel could not have been nicer or more accommodating. We loved the whole setting, and could not have been more pleased. Highly recommend it for celebration events. We had a wonderful experience from start to finish.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TobyLeeWayne_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2010

Stayed there in October for a wedding. The check in process was easy and extrememly professional and friendly. Our room was big and well decorated. Coming from the DC area I was impressed with the room for a (relatively) inexpensive $140/night. Breakfast basket was nice too.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesonM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ashland, pa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2010

We stayed there because we were going to a wedding at the Smithville Inn. The room was so close we could walk. The room was great ! Everything was perfect. Loved the huge tiled shower ( now I want one at home!) The bed was very comfortable. The basket of muffins was just what we needed. Checkout on Sunday was at 11:00 & that is when the shops opened, so we were able to browse around for the day. The only thing disappointing was having to leave! We would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maryAshland_Pa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colonialinnkeeper, Manager at The Colonial Inn at Historic Smithville, responded to this review, 23 September 2010
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay here at the Colonial Inn. Walking to the wedding just over the bridge makes thing so easy. We so enjoy when the family and friends of a wedding all stay here, we get caught up in the excitement! Thank you for taking the time to post this to trip advisor and we hope to see you again soon, your friends at the Colonial Inn:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2010

We stayed in the barn on a beautiful Saturday evening. Our room was decorated nicely, was large and very clean. We stayed in a room that had a porch outside it which really added to the experience. We sat outside and enjoyed the porch in the evening and in the morning when we brought our breakfast basket back to the room to sit outside and eat. I prefer a hot breakfast when staying at an inn but the muffins and coffee and tea was still very nice. The village it is a part of is alittle hokey but it was still fun to walk around looking at the shops and the tavern we ate at in the center of the village was nice and had good food. We took a cab to AC for a show in the evening kind of pricey $45 each way before tip but still worth it. The other couple we came with loved the inn and were saying they really wanted to come back for another stay.

Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank scojen1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colonialinnkeeper, Owner at The Colonial Inn at Historic Smithville, responded to this review, 23 September 2010
It really sounds like you and your friends had a great little getaway. Thank you for introducing the Colonial Inn to your friends:) and thank you for this wonderful write up on trip advisor. We know it's hard for people to find time to getaway so when they choose to visit us we are flatered, thanks! We can't wait to see you again, this christmas season we will have the free light show on the lake so even if you can't stay with us at the Inn make sure to visit the village. ( the light show is a little hokey too, but we all need a little hoke sometimes !!:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Smithville
17.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island
5.0 mi away
Garden State Inn
Garden State Inn
#3 of 25 in Absecon
432 reviews
5.0 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites Atlantic City North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Absecon - Atlantic City Area
3.2 mi away
Dolce Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club
3.4 mi away
Marriott's Fairway Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Colonial Inn at Historic Smithville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colonial Inn at Historic Smithville

Property: The Colonial Inn at Historic Smithville
Address: 615 E Moss Mill Rd, Smithville, NJ 08205-4804
Region: United States > New Jersey > Smithville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Smithville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Colonial Inn at Historic Smithville 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colonial Inn and the Barn at Smithville are a destination vacation. We are a bed and breakfast located in the middle of a Colonial shopping village with over 70 shops, 7 eateries, a train and carousel and so much more. Once you arrive at this lovely, luxurious inn there is no reason to get back in your car! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Colonial Inn at Historic Smithville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Colonial Inn At Historic Smithville Hotel Smithville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing