We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, friendly, affordable!”
Review of Passport Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Passport Inn
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Somers Point
Saxtons River, Vermont
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean, friendly, affordable!”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

While I was initially leery of such inexpensive accommodations, after reading recent reviews of this motel, I decided to give it a try on a recent overnight to Somers Point. It was fabulous! Clean, clean clean. Friendly owners. Free very fast wifi. Mid-size refrigerator in room. Unbeatable location. Right next to Shore Point Diner, which is the best. A safe and comfortable place to stay, and I am very appreciative to the owners for running such a lovely place!

Room Tip: I asked for a room far away from any smoking rooms -- it was very nice and did not smell at all of s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dublin505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    55
    22
    5
    7
See reviews for
47
32
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The only complaint that I had is the price switcheroo. We were quoted $64 per night (pre-tax) and were charged more than that when we arrived after a very long rainy road trip. Also, we were told that we would get an extra cot, but we all (2 adults and 3 children) fit into 2 beds so I didn't ask for it. In addition, the walls were thin and the man next door was congested plus cigarette smoke floated in through our bathroom window. (I did check thoroughly for critters and came up empty, thankfully, although I wasn't all that concerned judging by the cleaniness of the room). The continental breakfast included muffins, cereal and Gevalia coffee- not fancy but delicious & they made good use of the lobby space. The sink and bathroom area were updated and very clean. The bathtub drain was clogged but that made us feel at home because ours was too. The chairs provided and the little round table were comfortable and practical. My daughter spent a lot of time reading in those chairs Outside of our bathroom window was a tomato garden growing for the Point Diner which is right next door & wonderful too. There is also a beautiful view of the bay and of the Somers Mansion. The family caretakers were friendly and helpful. Nice flat screen TV for watching movies during the rain. We got and end room (#123) and really liked that.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are great & sunny. Bring ear plugs & sleeping mask just in case any time that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seafoam2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This is my "go-to" place when staying in Ocean City, N.J! Passport's beds are comfortable and the rooms are always clean and quiet. As a female traveling alone, I have always felt safe there. The prices are VERY reasonable for it's location. Ocean City beaches are accessible via a healthy 3 mile walk or 6 minute drive across the 9th St. Bridge. (9th St. traverses the main downtown area and will take you towards the northern end of the Boardwalk.) Having a refrigerator (compact, but more than a cube) and a microwave are nice extras for soda, bottled waters and "doggie bags" from several Somers Point restaurants that are within just a few minutes walk of the motel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed at this hotel for four days and it was very clean and quiet.The staff was very friendly and the manger was very nice and helpful. The only one thing that was that our mattress was a little hard but the manger said they are getting ready to replace all of the beds. We are planning on coming down next year and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philadelphia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We just returned from a two night stay at the Passport Inn. Like everyone says, the location cannot be beat, the rooms are newer and pretty clean(don't run your finger across the top of the TV) and the price is good. Would I stay here again-definitely. We drove over the bridge to Longport each day for the beach. There are tons of restaurants around Somers Point, so the nightlife is good. This motel has a lot going for it. A few extra details could make it excellent.
1) We ordered a non smoking room. When we arrived, the window of the room was open. I suspect the owner was trying to air it out for us, but it was a smoking room. You can't mask the smell or hide the burns in the bedspread. At this point, every room should be Non smoking.
2) I agree with another reviewer. A few chairs outside the room would be nice.
3) The pool should be heated. I was in it and it was cold.
4) They need a Do Not Disturb sign for the doors. I had to make my own to keep housekeeping out.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barbdirects
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

All rooms have been redone since our last visit and are exceptionally clean and comfortable. True, the pool is smallish and the parking is tight, but with the Ocean City just across the bridge and several restaurants within walking distance this place can't be beat! Coffee in the room. (Fridge and microwave too) and coffee, juice, Danish, cereal and milk in the lobby for a light breakfast the value just keeps going. Chairs outside the rooms would have been nice to sit and enjoy the breeze at night, but beyond this the Passport Inn is a gem!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jduganh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
schwenksville, pa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Our extended family rented a house in Ocean City so all we really needed were a couple extra beds as we would be spending the days at their place. Hotels in OC were outragiously priced (avg $300/night). We checked Somer's Point and found Passport Inn. At $79/nt peak season, we didn't expect much and just hoped it would be clean. This is not a luxury hotel but to our surprise the room was not only immaculate but had many new updates. New tile bathroom, new rugs, nice size refrig and new microwave. Provided coffee pot, hairdryer, iron and board. We are right across the bridge and 3 min from 9th St beach. We asked for extra towels and pillows and had them within 10 min. Staff very friendly. Although we didn't use it, the pool looked very nice. I would definitely stay here, again. Also, several restaurants, gas, Wawa all within walking distance. Again, not a luxury hotel but much more than we expected!

Room Tip: There are only 22 rooms so they book up quickly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lazoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Somers Point
0.5 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Somers Point
0.2 mi away
Pier 4 Hotel
Pier 4 Hotel
#2 of 7 in Somers Point
109 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ocean Breeze Hotel
Ocean Breeze Hotel
#16 of 32 in Ocean City
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Blue Water Inn
Blue Water Inn
#31 of 32 in Ocean City
72 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ocean 7
Ocean 7
#5 of 32 in Ocean City
298 reviews
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Somers Point
Econo Lodge Somers Point
#4 of 7 in Somers Point
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Passport Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Passport Inn

Property: Passport Inn
Address: 6 Macarthur Blvd, Somers Point, NJ 08244-1776
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Somers Point
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Somers Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Passport Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Passport Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Passport Hotel Somers Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing