We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Of The Best Stays In 103 Nights Of Travel”
Review of Courtyard Somerset

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Somerset
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Somerset
Reviewed 24 April 2013

One Of The Best Stays In 103 Nights Of Travel
Courtyard by Marriott Somerset was one of the best overnight stays in 103 nights of travel last year in 2012. We spent almost one third of the year on the road or on a cruise ship, and this New Jersey motel really stands out. Maybe it seems better by contrast to the La Quinta Somerset where we had reservations on that fateful July 4, 2012. We tried to check into the La Quinta and ran into a smelly, broken down place from which we fled to this gem just up the street. Perhaps it was also great because we had dropped off our pets in a kennel in Pittsburgh. The Marriott's not pet-friendly. But that's about the only bad thing I can say about it. It was perfectly air-conditioned. The room was huge, the beds large. The maids were at our beck and call as was the front desk. At dinner time all we had to do was walk through the lobby into the adjoining Ruby Tuesday's Restaurant, which was the most convenient arrangement possible. What did all this luxury cost? Only $113.85 for a ground floor room for 3, including tax. They had a special holiday discount. They usually cater to businessmen, and they were off for the 4th. Can't I think of anything else even remotely negative about the place? The next morning for breakfast we ate at the Bistro in the lobby. The food wasn't the best. The wait staff was non-existent, and they charged us $37.93 for the privilege. But the rest was so good the place still merits five stars.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are closer to the Bistro and Ruby Tuesday's.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 204 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2013

The entrance sports the new concept of Courtyard properties and the rooms are all renovated in the new Courtyard color schemes. The bed was comfortable and my room had a bonus mini-fridge and microwave. Perfectly fine for business or a short weekend break. Staff were also quite nice. As a Marriott Rewards Platinum member, take it from me, this is no Days Inn like the poster below falsely claims.

Room Tip: Weekend AAA rates are very inexpensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OFTEN_HOMEBOUND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

I stay at this hotel several times each year for work in Bridgewater, NJ. The location is good and the staff is fantastic. Steve, the Manager, remembers your name and always greets with a smile. Restaurant is fine for breakfast with Starbucks. Hotel is Attached to Ruby Tuesdays for other meals or several other restaurants are nearby.

Stayed: March 2013
1  Thank LAMMER13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tlcsomerset, Manager at Courtyard Somerset, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2013

Thank you for rating the value of our hotel great and our service outstanding. We really appreciate that you took the time to share your wonderful experience with both the hotel and our future hotel guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

Summary:

Details:
I spent one night at St patricks saturday. Got the good quality I expect from Courtyard. Clean room, everything worked fine and good and expedite service. If you are visiting Manhattan, it's a bit far from it (~45 mins car assuming highway), so there are other marriot hotels in NJ closer, but a bit more expensive.

Room Tip: Not particular preference. Is on a quiet zone and view from rooms is almost the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank george01752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tlcsomerset, Manager at Courtyard Somerset, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2013

Thank you for rating the value of our hotel great and our service outstanding. We really appreciate that you took the time to share your wonderful experience with both the hotel and our future hotel guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013 via mobile

The hotel should not be a Marriott courtyard. It is dirty and the lobby and rooms need updating. It looks more like a days inn. Very disappointed . The staff was Ok but they can't help that this hotel is long in the teeth.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sdr138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tlcsomerset, Manager at Courtyard Somerset, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2013

I appreciate you staying with us during your time in Somerset, NJ. I will follow up and investigate your concerns. Thanks once again for staying with us in Somerset.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Stayed at the hotel for one night in late February and it was fine. Price was decent at $149 per night. Room was fairly clean and bedding was typical for a Marriott property. Front desk staff was freindly. Breakfast is an extra charge. Wifi was not working very well and was in an out. Not sure if it was my room location or if there was an issue. There is a Ruby Tuesdays right in front of the hotel but if you dont want to go there you have to drive a little to find a place to eat.
Overall, a decent play to stay for a business trip.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buckeyetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

clean, spacious with balcony, microwave, refrigerator. pool and whirlpool-check before going because it is not always open. smells fresh and clean and staff takes care of your needs. ruby tuesday restaurant is attached to eat in or get room service..a morning bistro and a 24 hour market to grab a snack or a needed amenity

Room Tip: choose a higher floor with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crystal160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tlcsomerset, General Manager at Courtyard Somerset, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2013

Thank you for rating the value of our hotel great and our service outstanding. We really appreciate that you took the time to share your wonderful experience with both the hotel and our future hotel guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Somerset hotels
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Somerset Hotel & Conference Center
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#8 of 16 in Somerset
127 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Somerset
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Homewood Suites Somerset
Homewood Suites Somerset
#1 of 16 in Somerset
544 reviews
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn Somerset
Residence Inn Somerset
#6 of 16 in Somerset
112 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Somerset
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Somerset? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Somerset

Address: 250 Davidson Ave, Somerset, NJ 08873-4115
Region: United States > New Jersey > Somerset
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Somerset
Price Range: £75 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Somerset 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Courtyard Somerset reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Somerset Hotel Somerset
Somerset Marriott
Somerset Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing