We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place with great staff PLUS activities?!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sonesta ES Suites Somerset
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Somerset
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2012

stayed here a few times...weekly stays to enjoy the BIG city, rooms are very clean and feel "homey" not like a hotel ....very few suites we have stayed in can actually do this....excellent front desk staff...very friendly and accomodating. Our biggest surprise is the dinners and activities for the guests! We have stayed in RCI timeshares that dont even offer events/get togethers like Staybridge ! They actually have draft beer available for free at the actually delicious lil dinners they put on for the guests....its a great soical meet and greet hour and while my hubby and I arent big drinkers, this is a 1st that someplace GIVES away something they could otherwise make a fortune selling....the property is huge and theres tons of exploring right there....we enjoyed all of our trips here and cant wait to return next year!

Room Tip: great Ruby Tuesdays right next door, look for coupons for buy 1 get 1 free dinners, FABULOUS steaks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael_somerset260, Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Somerset, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2012

Thank you so much for your review of our property! We appreciate all the comments you left us. It is always great to have the large suite style rooms when you are away from home, so that you can be able cook your meals in a full size kitchen and having extra space too! We are pleased to here that you were able to attend our Sundowner dinner and that you enjoyed it so much! As you said, beer, wine, and soda are complimentary during the Sundowner, not to mention the dinner itself. We are happy that we are able to offer those products to our guests at no charge. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (277)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 277 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2012

I have been coming to the Staybridge for the past 8 years for business. This hotel is very accommodating. The staff is always helpful and assists with all your questions and needs. Maria has helped me set up catering, provided conference rooms and materials, provided recommendations for delivery restaurants and much much more. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. The morning hot breakfast is very good and during the week they provide different dinners along with beer and wine. The dinners range from Chinese, BBQ, Italian and Chilidogs. There is always a fresh salad, soft drinks and chips. For the price and what you receive free in meals, it is a really great deal. You can always do your own grocery shopping as the rooms are equipped with full refrigerators, stove and microwave. For families this is ideal

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Greyhoundpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael_somerset260, Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Somerset, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2012

Thank you very much for your review of our hotel! We love that you have been a part of our family for so many years and have been coming back to stay with us year after year whenever you are in town. We are happy to hear that you enjoy our free breakfast and sundowner dinners and we are pleased to be able to offer them to you. Also, as you mentioned having that full kitchen can be great when you need to make meals for yourself and having that extra space is great for families too! Again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Stayed at the hotel on 2 seperate weeks before and after Christmas on business.
The first week the suite was superb, clean, and comfortable. The second week there was limited availability and was assigned handicapped room. The second room was challenging with no room for luggage (difficult on a long-term stay) and not as modern (no dvd player etc)
As is with the case when staying one week or more, housekeeping is not done on a daily basis but there were no available trash cans for disposing of garbage daily, had to ask a maintenance employee who ended up taking it for me.
All that being said, the staff was superb, very friendly and accomodating. Free breakfast buffet is excellent and adds to the value of the pricing. There are many hotels on this stretch of Davidson Ave, but found this to be the most economical for my extended stay.
Having a full kitchen is definitely a plus and glasses, plates, silverware all adequately.
available.
You will need to drive for restaurants but the next door Marriott has a Ruby Tueday's connected to it.

Room Tip: Ground Floor rooms are easier if you have heavier luggage and easy to park in front of your block of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NYCAlarmGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael_somerset260, General Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Somerset, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2012

Thank you so much for the review and thank you for staying with us. I am so sorry to hear that you were disappointed when you stayed with us the second time since you did not get the room you reserved. Please call us directly when you are in the area and we will make sure we accomodate your request. Thank you and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We rented a spacious, two bedroom suite. This was our 2nd trip to this hotel in six months. Our first stay during the summer was very good so we decided to return. There are numerous hotels in this area but this one has the largest suites for the cheapest price. On this trip, the cheap price was reflected in the quality of our stay. Our room was not clean when we arrived. There were disgusting pellets of food (potentially vomit or remnants of a rodent) under the couch. We did not ask to change rooms when we discovered it because our kids were already asleep. The bathrooms were covered with hair on the floor and in the tub (disgusting). At approximately 8:15 in the morning, there was a knock at the door. Housekeeping had arrived and wanted to know when we were leaving! We were shocked because check-out wasn't until 11 AM and it was very early to be knocking on doors. About a half hour later, there was a jiggle of the door handle (this hotel is set up like a motel and the door leads directly to the outside). Our two young kids were terrified. My husband went to the door and there was a man outside with a hotel uniform on asking AGAIN when we would be leaving! It was unbelievable. Wide awake at this point, we ambled down to the free buffet to find that the food had not been replenished at all. There were no bagels left and very few muffins or pastries. This was a 9 AM on a Saturday morning. Overall, not a great stay but one positive is that it was very cheap!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MommyofTwoGirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael_somerset260, Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Somerset, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2012

We are so sorry to hear that you did not have a good stay with us. We printed your comments and showed to our staff so that we can attend to these issues. Since we an older property, clean rooms and customer service are the most important to us. Hope you give us another chance and I just want to let you know that we appreciate the reviews from our clients, good or bad. There's always improvement to be made. We appreciate your business and we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

First of all, I am confident that the high rating reviews are made by members of the hotel. I believed them and booked my 6 night stay only to regret later. Don't make that mistake, go elsewhere.

I booked 6 nights at the Staybridge, hotel directly from the Staybridge hotel's website: www.staybridge.com. Everything went well until we arrived at the hotel. We arrived around 11pm and I had to stand in below freezing weather because no one was available to unlock the lobby door, I rang the bell many times but no one showed up. I waited for more than 5 minutes and finally a lady who was very rude came by and checked me in the rooms. Rooms are very outdated and area does not seem to be secure. The next day when we returned to the room in the evening, house keeping did not come to clean the room. Upon calling the front desk, they told me that this hotel has a special policy of "Light Touch" housekeeping. When I was making reservation, there was no mention of this kind of housekeeping service & I never came across that before. So next day before heading out, I called the front desk and requested house keeping service. When we returned, nothing. No one from house keeping ever showed up. We had 3 kids and two adults in a two bedroom suite and trash started to pile up. Next day I complained to the front desk and they promised me that house keeping will come but no one showed up. We did not get any housekeeping service for the 6 nights we stayed there. Staff was extremely unfriendly. Morning breakfast was gone before breakfast hour ended. Worst Experience Ever. We were extremely dissatisfied. Total waste of money.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel at all costs. Worst experience ever – Don’t believe the high rating reviews
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank sc3030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael_somerset260, Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Somerset, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2012

I am very sorry to hear about the difficulties you had during your stay with us. I have addressed the concerns with housekeeping to make sure that everyone has service everyday that it is requested. I know you that you never heard of the “light touch” housekeeping service and I am sorry that it was not better explained to you. A brand standard for all Staybridge Suites is that we have housekeeping 5 days a week, Monday – Friday, with weekend housekeeping service being done by request only. I would hope that you would come back to us again and we would love the chance to make it up to you by giving you a relaxing stay for you and your family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2011

We were in NJ for Christmas dinner with relatives and spent the night at this fabulous place. Obviously it is new and very well maintained. We loved that the bed was in a separate room from the living area. The kitchen was very well equipped...they even had real wine glasses! All in all a great stay. If I had to stay here for a week on business I would not be unhappy, and very comfortable. The Wolfgang Puck coffee and variety of hot and cold breakfast choices were quite good as well.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lizinvt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael_somerset260, Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Somerset, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2012

Thank you so much for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We find that people traveling with families truly enjoy our hotel set up because of our space, in addition to our amenities. I will be sharing your comments to the entire staff! Thank you and we hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2011

This is a terrific hotel in all aspects. Rooms are beautiful, the price is right and management is a delight to work with. My company had been using the Marriott Fairfield down the road, a filthy and poorly run place but the Staybridge is perfect.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelinman47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael_somerset260, General Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Somerset, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2012

Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We greatly appreciate your business. Since we are an older property, providing clean rooms and exceptional customer service are something we take very seriously. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Somerset hotels
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites Somerset
Homewood Suites Somerset
#1 of 16 in Somerset
544 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#8 of 16 in Somerset
127 reviews
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Somerset
Residence Inn Somerset
#6 of 16 in Somerset
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Somerset
Courtyard Somerset
#7 of 16 in Somerset
204 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Somerset
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Somerset Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta ES Suites Somerset? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta ES Suites Somerset

Address: 260 Davidson Ave, Somerset, NJ 08873-4115
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Somerset
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Somerset
Price Range: £93 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sonesta ES Suites Somerset 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sonesta ES Suites in Somerset NJ is now open! Sonesta ES Suites Somerset is located minutes from New Brunswick, Piscataway and Bridgewater, NJ. This Somerset NJ Hotel is situated directly off RT 287 North and conveniently accessible from I-95, NJ Turnpike and the Garden State Parkway and close to major corporations such as Johnson & Johnson, Aventis, IBM, AT&T and Lucent. Sonesta ES Suites Somerset is minutes from NJ Universities, including Rutgers & Princeton. Come stay with at this Somerset NJ Hotel when visiting Commerce Bank Ballpark, Garden State Exhibition Center, NJ Convention Center, & Bridgewater Mall. New York City is accessible by train, also close to the NJ Shore area. Each suite offer private baths with each bedroom & fully equipped kitchens. All rates include a complimentary full, hot and cold breakfast buffet, as well as our evening reception, Tuesday-Thursday. Free High Speed Internet DSL access available in all suites, convenience store, exercise and complimentary laundry facilities are all available on property. We welcome all guests who are at least 21 years of age to our hotel. We require a valid photo id and major credit card at the time of check-in. Cribs are available, advance request advised. Pet Policy: We accept 1 pet per suite with a one time, $150 non-refundable fee. Certain breeds & weight limits apply. Proof of vaccinations required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sonesta ES Suites Somerset reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Somerset Hotel Somerset
Somerset Staybridge Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing