We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I expected!! Needs improvement!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sonesta ES Suites Somerset
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Somerset
Certificate of Excellence
Bay Shore, New York, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not what I expected!! Needs improvement!!”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

I was satisfied at my arrival, the lobby was appealing to the eye and the desk clerk was efficient & courteous..Arriving in my room the appearance seemed clean, however....dated and worn....found 2 bugs in the kitchen area and additonal 2 bugs in the closet. I did not find the kitchen area to be as clean as I would have liked it....I had to scrub the coffee maker after finding mold and hair in the water reservoir...I was told there would be limited maid service on Thanksgiving...(none)..I did not see any service done on Fri. either, other than garbage removed, and clean towels?? The guests above me kept me up until 1 am each night due to poor sound proofing..Ratings are inaccurate!! By far "Not Excellent"!!! I am being generous on my rating due to a the adequate size of the room, and a decent breakfast.

Room Tip: "Not on the first floor, heard every noise from the people walking from above"
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Providence-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael_somerset260, Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Somerset, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Thank you for your comments of your recent stay with us. We are sorry to hear that you did not have a completely enjoyable stay with us. We have passed along your notes to our housekeeping team in regards to the issues you had in your suite upon check in. We are sorry about the confusion over our housekeeping service during the holiday and that we didn’t explain the light touch housekeeping service to you, which entails the removal of garbage from your suite, replacement of towels with fresh ones, and replacement of any toiletries or kitchen supplies as needed. We will remind the front desk to be more careful in making guests aware of our housekeeping. We hope that next time you are in the Somerset area you will stay with us again.

Best Regards,

Sonesta ES Suites Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    62
    24
    5
    19
See reviews for
96
18
13
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bahia de Los Angeles, Mexico
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

I only stayed here for a quick overnight on my way back from Thanksgiving. Althought the furnishings and TVs are dated, I found the hotel VERY clean. The breakfast is one of the best I've had for a freebie.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank ctbeachbm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael_somerset260, Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Somerset, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Thank you for your recent review! We are pleased to hear that you had a great time with us and were able to enjoy the free daily breakfast during your stay too! We hope to see you next time you are in the Somerset area!

Best Regards,

Sonesta ES Suites Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky, United States
1 review
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Last week was my first time staying at a Sonesta ES Suites. I was in town for a few days for business. I found the staff to be very pleasant and accommodating. Employees were both personable and professional. The room was very clean and came with a complete kitchen (of which I only used the fridge for beer!) Throw in a good breakfast and optional dinner and you end up having an experience that should cost a lot more than you pay. Even though the facility is still under renovation I was never aware of any noise or mess as a result. I highly recommend this facility to business professionals and families alike.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colby W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael_somerset260, Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Somerset, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you for your review! We are happy to hear that it is your first time with us and you had an excellent stay! Thank you also for your comments about our service, we will pass along them to the staff. As you mentioned, the full kitchen can come in handy if you don’t feel like eating out every night or just to keep the drinks cold! We hope that next time you are in Somerset you will stay with us!

Best Regards,

Sonesta ES Suites Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belleville, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Recently stayed here for 3 nights while visiting for a family wedding and it was everything we expected and more. The additional space (living room) and separate bedrooms were a huge bonus, especially when travelling with a little one. Add to that, the full kitchen and separate bathrooms, makes you wonder why anyone would want to stay anywhere else.

Property and rooms were clean and well maintained, guest services (especially Michael) and house keeping staff were easy to work with and very accommodating.

Loved the complimentary Happy Hour (Tue - Thu) and Hot breakfast (every day) during our stay.

Will definitely stay here again for our next visit to Somerset and happily recommend to others.

Room Tip: If travelling with Kids, get the Trio... Them having a separate bedroom and bathroom is a god send.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael_somerset260, Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Somerset, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you for your recent review! As you mentioned, having a room of that size when traveling with the family can definitely be very convenient, especially having 2 bathrooms! I will inform the staff of your comments as well, we really appreciate them. Also, we are pleased to hear that you were able to enjoy both the breakfast and light dinner! We hope that next time you are in the Somerset area you will choose us again!

Best Regards,

Sonesta ES Suites Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I stayed at this hotel, in central NJ, for three weeks in July & August, and I was impressed with the service and the meals included with the price. This extended stay location provided me with the space and amenities needed to meet my needs. I was especially impressed by the amount of people who stayed at this hotel and the food service provided. Consider this ES hotel when staying in NJ for any reason.

Room Tip: As for a room facing the courtyard away from the pool area. They were doing a complete renovation o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Talany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael_somerset260, Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Somerset, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Thank you for your recent review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! As you mentioned, with the daily breakfast and 3 day a week light dinner all complimentary, it does add value to your stay. We are also pleased to hear that you were able to enjoy our other amenities and we are looking forward to seeing you next time you are in town!

Best Regards,

Sonesta ES Suites Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
92 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We stayed at the somerset Sonesta and couldn't be any happier. Breakfast was great as usual, and the suite was spacious and very comfortable. They're ongoing renovations, however they went above and beyond to make us feel home. This is and will always be our #1 choice whenever we stay in somerset.
They also have a very hospitable team and "Matt" the GM, is a true gentleman.

Thank you,
Adel

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benhakim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael_somerset260, Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Somerset, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Thank you very much for your review of our property! We are very pleased that you returned to stay with us again while in the Somerset area! It is great to know that your experience was just as great as it was last time and we hope to keep improving with our renovations to make your experience even better. We hope to see you again next time.

Best Regards,

Sonesta ES Suites Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keaau, Hawaii
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We recently spent two nights at the Sonesta Suites in Somerset and found it to be a good value for the money. The property is undergoing extensive exterior renovations, but the suite we stayed in was well equipped and very comfortable. The free breakfast was better than we expected (eggs, breakfast meats, pastries, make-your-own-waffles), and the facility also offers free on-site washers and driers.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeaauRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael_somerset260, Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Somerset, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Thank you for your recent review! We are very pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us. It is great that you were able to enjoy the daily complimentary breakfast during your stay. Also, if you stay during the week, we have a complimentary dinner as well from Tuesday to Thursday evenings. We hope that next time you are in the Somerset area you will come see us!

Best Regards,

Sonesta ES Suites Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Somerset hotels
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites Somerset
Homewood Suites Somerset
#3 of 16 in Somerset
4.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Somerset Hotel & Conference Center
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Somerset
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#8 of 16 in Somerset
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Somerset
Residence Inn Somerset
#5 of 16 in Somerset
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.3 mi away
Extended Stay America - Somerset - Franklin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta ES Suites Somerset? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta ES Suites Somerset

Property: Sonesta ES Suites Somerset
Address: 260 Davidson Ave, Somerset, NJ 08873-4115
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Somerset
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Somerset
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sonesta ES Suites Somerset 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sonesta ES Suites in Somerset NJ is now open! Sonesta ES Suites Somerset is located minutes from New Brunswick, Piscataway and Bridgewater, NJ. This Somerset NJ Hotel is situated directly off RT 287 North and conveniently accessible from I-95, NJ Turnpike and the Garden State Parkway and close to major corporations such as Johnson & Johnson, Aventis, IBM, AT&T and Lucent. Sonesta ES Suites Somerset is minutes from NJ Universities, including Rutgers & Princeton. Come stay with at this Somerset NJ Hotel when visiting Commerce Bank Ballpark, Garden State Exhibition Center, NJ Convention Center, & Bridgewater Mall. New York City is accessible by train, also close to the NJ Shore area. Each suite offer private baths with each bedroom & fully equipped kitchens. All rates include a complimentary full, hot and cold breakfast buffet, as well as our evening reception, Tuesday-Thursday. Free High Speed Internet DSL access available in all suites, convenience store, exercise and complimentary laundry facilities are all available on property. We welcome all guests who are at least 21 years of age to our hotel. We require a valid photo id and major credit card at the time of check-in. Cribs are available, advance request advised. Pet Policy: We accept 1 pet per suite with a one time, $150 non-refundable fee. Certain breeds & weight limits apply. Proof of vaccinations required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sonesta ES Suites Somerset reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Somerset Hotel Somerset
Somerset Staybridge Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing