We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not staying here again if I can help it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Somerset-Bridgewater
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Somerset
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
419 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Not staying here again if I can help it”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

They have signs posted that they are renovating, but I saw no work being done. The room was musty smelling, the bedding was dirty, the wallpaper peeling, carpets stained, the staff was busy talking to each other while checking us in and no offers to help move luggage, etc,, there was an old newspaper on the desk by the TV, there was even a sticker on the back of the bathroom door from sunglasses! If you are under 5'6", it is quite a stretch to lean over the sink when brushing your teeth (poor design of sinks), We were told there was no water in the vending on the upper floors, but there is, a sure sign that staff doesn't make the rounds for sure! The breakfast was the one point that gave this two stars instead of one. It was good, fresh, varied and the staff was friendly and helpful. That said, I will not stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulette Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Somerset-Bridgewater, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Dear Paulette Y,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts and comments regarding your stay with us. We take all feedback seriously, and sincerely regret that we were not able to exceed your expectations with our facilities and the service you received. We are continually striving to improve the hospitality we offer and comments from our guests are always welcome.

Thank you for staying with us and we all hope to have an opportunity to welcome you again.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    62
    62
    23
    9
See reviews for
34
25
14
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
72 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Our group tour arranged for us to stay here for two nights. We could never have come to this place on our own if the tour bus did not drive us here. The room is large with two double beds. The room is clean, too. They also serve free ice drinks in the evening and hot coffee in the morning in the lounge, though the coffee is terrible. We have no big complaints and were very comfortable here. But I would not choose this place as a base to explore Manhattan, it is way too far out.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Somerset-Bridgewater, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Dear angsa,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to write a review of our hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your overall experience with us and pleased your room accommodation. Guest satisfaction is important to us and we try our hardest to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. We hope that you will give us another chance to be your host on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

I stayed at the Holiday Inn in Somerset for a recent event. My daughter found trash under one of the beds (an empty Doritos bag and a soft drink beverage cap). The rest of the room seemed minimally clean. Front desk staff were polite, but when I asked whether someone could help me get our luggage to our room (I had undergone surgery a few months ago), I was told such help was unavailable. We did enjoy the breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Somerset-Bridgewater, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Anne F,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. I am happy that our location worked for you and that you enjoyed our food selection. However, please accept our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience the condition of the room and the level of service may have caused you.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Best Regards,

John O
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
71 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

This place has run downhill for the past several years. We WILL be staying elsewhere from now on. Their facilities has degraded from nice to intolerable. Now they have put motion detectors on the rooms' heating/AC units. Which, I understand for cost reduction for power. HOWEVER, now the rooms set with uncirculated air, and no AC, which leaves them very musty, and dank smelling. Love that!?! How about when you lie still at night while sleeping, no motion to keep the unit active, so you wake up in the night to a hot, stinky room. Which as soon as you move, you hear the AC unit start up again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TCarr_1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Somerset-Bridgewater, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear TCarr_1313,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the heating and air conditioning systems prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Somerset hotels

Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
104 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

A Mixed review. Booked through Hotels.com. Always a mistake!! Room was nice, though the location was at least 150' from the one and only elevator. Location easy. The sports lounge a joke for food !! The place was empty. We should have known.

Room Tip: I liked the hotel but the food in the Sports Lounge was the total pits. If you order room service...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlbertAnsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I booked this room at half price for two nights through priceline.com because I had a wedding in the Clinton area and couldn't spring for the $140/night rooms there. I ended up in the disability room on the second floor near the elevator. The A/C in the room worked reasonably well, although it ran nonstop in auto and the air still felt pretty muggy. The room was spacious and clean, if not very attractive. There was no fridge or microwave and the little coffee machine was groty. The TV was okay, but about 1/3 of the channels didn't work.I didn't go in the pool, but it looked nice and there was lots of chairs around it to lounge in. Parking lot is full of potholes, so drive carefully! It's pretty close (w/in 15 minutes) of lots of little restaurants and fast food places, so that's convenient. Service was friendly, no complaints there.

Upshot: At a discount and if you're just looking for a place to sleep and clean up, it's a pretty good value. If you're going to pay full price, look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Try not to be near the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Somerset-Bridgewater, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear S R,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent visit at our hotel and for providing us with your valuable feedback. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your room and the majority of features provided. I apologize that some items are not working in the room. Rest assured that the issues you have raised have been documented and will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for necessary actions.

Once again, thank you for staying and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey Shore, New Jersey
Level Contributor
255 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I never stayed at Holiday Inn before, so I had pretty low expectations. Have to say that I was pleasantly surprised with my stay here. We had to book a room here for my daughter's dance competition down the road and it was the most reasonably priced out of all the other options.

The hotel looked like it was in the middle of some renovations, but it was still very clean and there were no obstructions that prevented you from getting around.

I liked that the hotel had a sports bar in it that served food. It was actually very large, the food was decent and the service was excellent!

Our room was very comfortable and large enough for our needs. Beds were good and everything was very clean.

Let's face it, the place is a Holiday Inn, not the Ritz Carlton, so as long as keep your expectations in check, you should enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Somerset
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Somerset Hotel & Conference Center
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#8 of 16 in Somerset
120 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Somerset
Courtyard Somerset
#7 of 16 in Somerset
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bridgewater
0.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites Somerset
Candlewood Suites Somerset
#9 of 16 in Somerset
88 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Somerset
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Somerset-Bridgewater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Somerset-Bridgewater

Property: Holiday Inn Somerset-Bridgewater
Address: 195 Davidson Ave, Somerset, NJ 08873-4117
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Somerset
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Somerset
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Somerset-Bridgewater 3*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Somerset and Bridgewater s #1 Holiday Inn! When visiting central New Jersey for business or pleasure, the Holiday Inn Somerset-Bridgewater hotel offers a premium location, with services and amenities to make your stay comfortable and convenient. For coffee enthusiasts, we proudly serve Starbucks! Somerset is home to New Jersey s Garden State Exhibit Center, directly across the street from our hotel. The Holiday Inn Somerset-Bridgewater is one of the closest hotels to Rutgers University. Bridgewater, New Brunswick and Piscataway are just minutes away from the hotel, and New York City is easily reached using NJ Transit from the New Brunswick train station. If visiting Johnson & Johnson, MetLife, Aventis, Merck, Sanofi, or other area companies, we ll shuttle you for free to your destination within 5 miles of our hotel. The hotel offers complimentary high-speed wired or wireless Internet access throughout the hotel, a business center, Alexander s Restaurant, Jersey s Sports Bar, a fitness center and outdoor pool. Our experienced staff will ensure that your next meeting, conference, wedding or rehearsal dinner held in our 10,000 sqft of event space is spectacular! Experience the Holiday Inn Somerset-Bridgewater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Somerset-Bridgewater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Somerset-Bridgewater Hotel Somerset
Somerset Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing