We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some good some bad”
Review of Clarion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Hotel
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Somerset
Portland, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Some good some bad”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

The workers were very nice. The room overall was good, clean and plenty of towels etc. There was something wrong with the tv - you could only change channels a couple of times before it froze and you could no longer change the channel. It had to be shut off and turned back on to change the channel again. Breakfast was a joke! They did have eggs which were not cooked - very runny - and fried potatoes. Bagels and bread that were old and dry, the toaster did not work well. 1 flavor of yogurt and 2 kinds of cereal. No fruit, no pastries which I have had at other L-Q's. Although it was very clean and comfortable, I would stay somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pacoG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    30
    29
    34
    48
See reviews for
57
21
33
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 24 April 2014

When it comes to welcoming the customer, this location absolutely outdoes all other hotels. The manager and staff were very friendly and ready to help anytime to make my stay as comfortable as possible. They go the extra distance to make sure customers keep returning and have a unique experience. All amenities one could ask for in a hotel are provided and at great value. It is extremely clean and newly furnished

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marzena b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Ringgold, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I had the best of everything at a VERY reasonable price. A very nice king sized bed, pet friendly, handicapped accessible and smoking all in one room - who could ask for anything more! I wish there were more hotels like this around. The room service food was excellent and also reasonably priced. Great access to Rt. 287 in an area where most hotels are very expensive.

Room Tip: We were on the 2nd floor in room 207. The windows opened wide and the breeze felt wonderful at nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 10 April 2014

The staff was very cordial and polite. They welcomed me graciously. The room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable and clean.
Breakfast was included in my stay and was very nice. The staff did everything to accommodate me.
The hotel is conveniently located near Rt. 287 and my office.

Room Tip: If you are staying for a few days, ask for a value rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Hampton, New York
1 review
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I have stayed in most of the other area hotels (Davidson Ave. ) during the past 2 years and I have to say that I will be coming back to Laquinta inn. The front desk staff, particularly the GM L, was very helpful.
The King suite is quite large and the rates in comparison to the other area hotels cannot be matched. The only negative comment is that the coffee makers in the King suite are too small for someone who likes to have more than one cup of coffee they used to have 4 cups coffee but everything else about the hotel was extremely pleasant. I will be contacting the Laquinta inn for all my future stays in Somerset NJ.
Thank you

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaky f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

you will need a 4x4 just to enter the parking lot. outdated rooms. cigarette burns in blankets in non smoking room. Fridge and microwave are a joke. half roll of toilet paper upon check in. elevators not suitable for guests. they look like service elevators and only one of them worked. dog hairs in carpet in room. we had no pets with us. Breakfast is bland and tasteless. fitness room is a Joke. machines missing parts, etc. room service is also a joke. parking is not plentiful or convenient. this place should be shut down, and torn down. not even worthy of 1 star.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank 1sexybodygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emil S, Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
We thank you for your most recent stay at the La Quinta Inn & Suites in Somerset, NJ. We certainly apologize for all of the issues you encountered during your stay and we take these reviews very seriously. We have addressed all your issues with hotel management and ownership and have already improved and fixed all of your concerns. We will look to improve our fitness facility, breakfast items as well as renovate our elevators in short time. The parking lot entrance and all pot holes have been fixed and filled. Thank you for sharing this information with us so we could improve our hotel for the better and for at least giving us the 2 stars. We hope to see you the next time you return to the Somerset region.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Somerset hotels

Somerset, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Whatever could go against this hotel, went in that way. When we arrived right from TV , remote, Heater were non functional. To ask front desk about them, I tried to ring, but to surprise, the phone itself wasn't working...Figured out that one of line was not working and phone was actually switched to non-working line... The non-smoking room was kind of smoking. The lobby and elevators were smoking. To add to it, the comforters and pillows were smelling like Sweat. I was so tired to walk & inform front desk. I could not inform front desk for replacement as phone likes were not working... LQ chain typically serve a variety of breakfast - including range of cereals and flavour yogurt. The choice of cereals here was only 2 - and that too, fully loaded with sugars. Yogurt was totally absent. Only one person working in kitchen, so no surprise that with such a big group in hotel, the service was hampered (looks like this big group was in hotel for quite some time, so hotel should have planned accordingly)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
1 Thank Lalit C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emil S, Assistant G.M. at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the La Quinta Inn Somerset. We appreciate your feedback and apologize for all of the issues you encountered. I assure you this is not our expectations, and will investigate and address your concerns. We hope we can have another chance to show you what our warm La Quinta Inn service is all about here at our hotel.

Sincerely,
Emil S.
Assistant G.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Somerset
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#8 of 16 in Somerset
122 reviews
1.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Somerset Hotel & Conference Center
2.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Somerset
Candlewood Suites Somerset
#9 of 16 in Somerset
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Courtyard Somerset
Courtyard Somerset
#6 of 16 in Somerset
185 reviews
2.0 mi away
Extended Stay America - Somerset - Franklin
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bridgewater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel

Property: Clarion Hotel
Address: 60 Cottontail Ln, Somerset, NJ 08873-1133 (Formerly La Quinta Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Somerset
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Somerset
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Hotel Somerset is conveniently located in Central New Jersey just off Interstate 287, near the Liberty Mutual Headquarters, Somerset Patriots Ballpark and the Garden State Convention Center. Clarion Hotel guests will enjoy our indoor heated pool, dry sauna, exercise facility, the convenience of a self service laundry center or same day dry cleaning. Have lunch or dinner at Hooters directly within the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Clarion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn & Suites Somerset Hotel Somerset
La Quinta Inn And Suites Somerset
Somerset Ramada Inn
Ramada Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing