We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great staff, clean”
Review of Clarion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clarion Hotel
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Somerset
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great staff, clean”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Room was good, staff was great,. We were with two girls softball teams ,(approx. 35 rooms and stayed 5 nights. Management accommodated all our needs and even set up a pasta and chicken buffet for the girls after there normal serving hours. Best bartender ever, JD, met us first night and knew all of the names on the second night. He made our stay fun, classy guy.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crumdaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    30
    29
    34
    48
See reviews for
58
20
33
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Best advice is to stay away from this Hotel. Very dirty, food is not fit for consumption, ceilings leak, carpets are stained and filthy, bugs in rooms. Staff is arrogant and not responsive to guests complaints.

Room Tip: Find a another Hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missysr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emil S, Asst. General Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. I appreciate you bringing your concerns to our attention as your feedback is valuable for us.

We apologize if your stay was not up to your expectation in some areas of the hotel. I assure you this is not our expectations. I have addressed these issues to the concerned departments and after investigating the issues & rechecking all records, we find nothing about
"Bugs in the room"

We hope we can have another chance to show you what our warm La Quinta service is all about here at our hotel, if your travels bring you back to the area.

Sincerely,

Emil Samuel
Asst. G. Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Somerset hotels

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This hotel is absolutely horrible. Huge sign on front desk states it is a smoke free environment. That was a joke. The entire building reeked of smoke. The food is horrible and cheap, plus we were afraid to eat it after we found something foreign floating in the tea. When we went to our room we seen the ceiling in the bathroom showed there had been a leak. That evening we heard a noise, went into the bathroom to find a waterfall from the ceiling going into our toilet. We called the front desk and they sent a man in an apron with a plunger to help us! To this day we have no clue how he was going to stop a leaking ceiling with a plunger. Another friend of ours had a room in which the inside door handle fell off. Everytime she left the room she had to hold the handle in place to open the door. She also found men's socks drying on the desk chair. Wonder how the cleaning people missed that? The place is smelly, dirty, rundown and managed by rude unprofessional people. La Quinta needs to save their good name and get rid of the people in charge of this hotel. I know I will never stay at another La Quinta unless I see a change in this one.

Room Tip: My tip is to run not walk away from this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CQMENTOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Upon check in we noted a private swim lesson in the hotel pool and cigarette odor through out hotel. Our room had black mold all over the shower tile, mold and mildew covered the cheap white shower curtain. A large hole in the wall (as if a previous guest punched the wall), mold around the AC unit, stains on the window curtain, sticky carpets and WORST of all the made bed with dark red stains top sheet! There is no way possible (unless the maid is legally blind) that housekeeping could make that bed and not see the red stains! I am not an expert on stains or a CSI agent but bright red stains=blood. Why on God's green earth would housekeeping use a badly stained sheet to make a hotel bed? Needless to say we did not try the free breakfast. At check out my husband spoke to the front desk staff to explain why we would not stay there for an additional 4 days and to check us out. Well the front desk clerk did not check us out and later La Qunita charged us for a full 5 day stay!!! We had to contact them, then wait 10 days for the refund. If you enjoy filth, mold, questionable bedding, cigarette smoke/odor, loud music and rowdy guests from the bar attached to the hotel, rude staff and don't mind being over charged.........Then this is the hotel for you!

Room Tip: My tip, stay at a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emil S, Asst. General Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the La Quinta Inn Somerset and thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback.

I apologize for any misunderstanding happend during check out and I reviewed your comments with the staff to help alleviate any future misunderstanding to other guest.
We feel sorry for all of the issues you encountered that I will follow up and investigate it with the concerned staff.

So I hope we can have another chance to show you what our warm La Quinta service is all about here at our hotel, if your travels bring you back to the area.

Sincerely,

Emil Samuel
Asst. G. Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I wish I could leave a worse than terrible review. Rooms were dirty and in disrepair. Bugs on the ceiling. Bathroom was dirty. Ironing board cover was filthy. Told the front desk I was really disappointed in the room they did nothing. The free breakfast was awful. This place should be reported to the New Jersey Board of Health. Will never stay here again, I would advise you to stay away!

Room Tip: Find a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LmC445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emil S, Asst. General Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Guest,
I appreciate you staying with us and would like to thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. I assure you this is not our expectations, and will investigate and address your concerns.
We hope we can have another chance to show you what our warm La Quinta service is all about here at our hotel, if your travels bring you back to the area.

Sincerely,

Emil Samuel
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield Ma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Dirty, unsanitary food conditions, nasty staff. The other 5 star reviews must be made by relatives of the staff because this place is awful!!! Stay away!!! I have reported them in violation of la Quinta standards.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LouNPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emil S, Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for your comments of your recent stay with us. We are sorry to hear that you did not have a completely enjoyable stay with us. We have passed along your note to our Restaurnat & Bar team, in regards to the point you have mentioned.
We are striving to improve our service & exceed our guest expectations therfore, you feedback is valuable for us.

We hope that next time you are in the Somerset area you will stay with us again.

Best Regards,

Emil S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keyport, United States
1 review
Reviewed 2 May 2014

La Quinta Hotels services its' guests in a very professional manner. They are respectful and provide excellent accomodations. Their fitness Center and pool are excellent for unwinding. They have a nice breakfast buffet. I highly recommend them for both leisure and business. They are close to Rutgers University and Bridgewater Mall.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emil S, Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us! We are pleased to hear that you had an excellent stay with us. We are happy that you had our free Continental breakfast and enjoyed your time in our fittness center & pool area during your stay.
We will also pass your compliments along to our staff. Thank you again and we hope to see you in the Somerset area again soon!

Regards,

Emil S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Somerset
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#8 of 16 in Somerset
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
1.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Somerset Hotel & Conference Center
2.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Somerset
Candlewood Suites Somerset
#9 of 16 in Somerset
3.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Homewood Suites Somerset
Homewood Suites Somerset
#3 of 16 in Somerset
4.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bridgewater
1.6 mi away
Courtyard Somerset
Courtyard Somerset
#7 of 16 in Somerset
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel

Property: Clarion Hotel
Address: 60 Cottontail Ln, Somerset, NJ 08873-1133 (Formerly La Quinta Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Somerset
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Somerset
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Hotel Somerset is conveniently located in Central New Jersey just off Interstate 287, near the Liberty Mutual Headquarters, Somerset Patriots Ballpark and the Garden State Convention Center. Clarion Hotel guests will enjoy our indoor heated pool, dry sauna, exercise facility, the convenience of a self service laundry center or same day dry cleaning. Have lunch or dinner at Hooters directly within the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Clarion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn & Suites Somerset Hotel Somerset
La Quinta Inn And Suites Somerset
Somerset Ramada Inn
Ramada Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing